We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room & stay (except for guests above us)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3650 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87507   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Crowley, TX
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Nice room & stay (except for guests above us)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and our 33-year-old daughter recently spent 2 nights this past week at the Best Western Plus Inn. The room (suite) we stayed in was nice --it had 3 beds (two in one room; and a King in the separate room.) However, there a door was not there to "divide" the two rooms - it was all "open". I would recommend to Best Western to put at least a "folding" type door between the two to really separate the rooms. There was a balcony off the King room.. The fan - a/c-heater was in the room with the king bed in it (so it was hard to get air into the room with 2 beds in it and was uncomfortable for the person in the King room for the setting to try to heat each room..) The bathroom was rather small, but manageable. There was a separate sink, microwave/frig area - which was nice to have. It was pretty clean, although one fo the pillows did have what appeared to be a "fresh" stain of some sort on it; and the coverlet on my bed had what appeared to be a small blood stain on it (it was covered by the decorative blanket so may not have been noticed by the cleaning staff.) Quite a bit of light shone underneath the door and through the blinds on the sliding glass/balcony door. The biggest complaint though was that the guests above us had young children (which sounded like a herd of elephants running above us at times and they were actually vibrating our room.) I didn't bother calling the front desk though - as it was generally past 8:00 a.m. when the noise was the worst (we were just trying to sleep in). I requested the top floor (for that very reason), but our type of room with 3 beds must not have been available on the 3rd floor. You could also hear doors slamming on our floor; and the elevators, ice machine, etc. The price was decent though; and the staff was wonderful. Overall, I would recommend the Best Western (although I will not stay again unless they can definitely put me on the top floor). The breakfast was adequate (cereals, juices, bagels, pastries, toast, etc.) - although I recommend that you get there as early as possible for decent selections.

Room Tip: ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    135
    63
    24
    9
See reviews for
108
171
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We really enjoyed this hotel. Both the room and the lobby were very comfortable, extremely clean and nicely decorated. Front desk staff were friendly and very helpful, especially in terms of assisting us with planning our visit to the Santa Fe Plaza district. Breakfast was good. We didn't get a chance to use the pool but it looked very nice. The location was very convenient as we could easily walk to either restaurants or shopping. I definitely plan to stay here again on my next trip to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Hotel was just okay--we expected more of a Best Western Plus. We didn't realize how far away we'd be from the parts of Santa Fe that we planned to visit--our fault for not checking things out better. Breakfast was below average. Not a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We haven't stayed at many Best Western hotels in our travels the last few years because the properties have been kind of hit and miss. As we were choosing our room for the night this property's sign stating "Pets Stay Free" and the fact that it was a Best Western "Plus" led us to try it for the night. It was about $18 less than the room at our preferred chain next door. No problem on check-in with one large dog and a smaller one (admittedly both better behaved than most humans). The clerk was friendly and gave us a "quiet" top-floor room away from any road noise as requested. The room was spacious and seemed clean. The king bed was reasonably new and comfortable enough, there was a functional little "wet bar" with small microwave and fridge and a decent size desk. Our only minor complaint was the bathroom was small with no counter space to put your toiletries, and the shower head was kind of funky. There was really no great area to take your dogs to relieve themselves except a small strip of mulch & dirt between the property and some commercial buildings next door, but it was adequate for the job. For a hotel that advertises itself as pet-friendly it might be a nice touch to designate an area and put some poop bags there. The other thing that struck us as odd was they still had incandescent bulbs everywhere, and high wattage ones at that. 400 watts above the sink in the little bathroom as not only bright as heck but hot! And despite the upgrades to the decor and furniture they still had a big tube TV in the room. But back to the positive... Breakfast was typical and went from 6-10am and they didn't have Fox News on in the breakfast area. Check-out was again friendly and quick. We would stay here again. Good to see Best Western upgrading their properties and competing with the other chains.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed here with some girlfriends and it's an ok hotel. Rooms were clean and beds were comfy, but the rooms seem really dark due to the wallpaper and carpet choices. Breakfast is below average (although the cinnamon rolls are pretty good), and the breakfast room is very crowded due to having just a few tables. No fridge in room. We had no problems here, but I will probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

First, the positives:

The room and bathroom were clean and well appointed (plenty of towels, pillows, etc). The decor was warm and inviting. The staff was friendly and helpful (we asked for a good restaurant nearby). The bed was comfy and the a/c worked well. There was plenty of hot water and it didn't suddenly change temperature like at many other hotels. The breakfast buffet food was tasty (hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, waffles, toast, etc) and well-stocked. I slept really well for being in a hotel. FREE WIFI!

The negatives:

As some other reviewers have mentioned, the doors slam loudly unless you shut them carefully. So, not everyone does that and there are loud door slams from time to time. Luckily, they either didn't happen overnight or I was too tired to notice because it didn't wake me up. The only time I noticed was while awake.

My husband and I had spent the day before in Mesa Verde, so after hiking and a long drive, we really wanted to get in the hot tub. The hot tub was only lukewarm (despite the sign outside that read "our hot tub is 104 degrees"), the jets didn't impress, and the water was murky and seemed unclean.

The blinds on the window in our room (room number 104) were wooden slats (not the normal light blocking curtains in most hotels). One side shut just fine, but the other had slats that would not shut. It ended up taking about 9 sheets of paper, folded into little squares and shoved between the slats, to keep them shut. Even after that, once the a/c kicked on overnight, two slats fell open.

This was the first hotel I've been to in at least 5 years that still has tube televisions in the room. Ok, it's not that big of a deal to me ... I'm not that picky. However, the tv sits so low that you have to sit up in bed to watch (can't watch lying down). It wasn't a problem for me because I don't like to watch tv in bed, but my hubby does and this small thing really started to irritate him, so FYI.

Room Tip: There is a book of sample menus from local restaurants in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I usually love Best Westerns but this one was nasty. When we arrived, we could not check in early - the receptionist flatly refused it without thinking or checking. Then when we did check in and dragged 3 suitcases and bags up to a third floor - we found the key did not work so another trip down and up. The bed was comfortable but we had to keep air conditioner off as it had strong smell of scummy water or drain and I was afraid this means it might have nasty bacteria in it. I never smelt anything like it, disgusting :(
Our bath had brown water in it and I had to ask for this to be cleaned. It was leaking from somewhere within the bath fittings.

Staff not great. I changed the room I booked from queen to a king bed. At 7.30 in the morning we were called on the room phone to ask if we were in that room - despite having do not disturb on the door. I later pointed this out to the receptionist, that I wanted to sleep but she didn't seem even apologetic and just said housekeeping needed to know which room we were in. If that was so, could they not walk down the hall and check the sign on the door before ringing. It seems that if they are up and about, sleep of the guests means little to them.

The hallways smelt of dust and dirt and sweat, area around the lift of smelly socks. very stuffy too. really not Best Western standard - I have always stayed at clean ones and this shocked me.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe

Address: 3650 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#27 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BW Inn of Santa Fe has completed a $1.5 million dollar renovation of it's exterior, public areas, and all 95 rooms. Our new decor has a southwestern flair w/ all three floors rooms having a different color scheme. We are also a 100% non-smoking facility. We have 16 suites including 2 family suites and some with balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.