We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy surprise and very good deal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3650 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87507   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Vermont
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“A happy surprise and very good deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We didn't really expect much from this hotel considering how inexpensive it was but we were happily surprised! We had originally booked a double and called ahead to request a mini-fridge because some of the Trip Advisor reviews mentioned not all the rooms have them. When we arrived we saw it and it was fine and the mini fridge was there but since we were staying for five nights we thought a bit more space would be nice so we inquired about upgrading to a suite. The additional cost was quite modest and it turned out to be well worth it. The suite we stayed in had a balcony with a table and four chairs, king size bed, two tvs, a desk, an armchair coffee table, and couch with a pull out twin bed, and a kitchenette counter with a sink, a little fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The hotel is on a busy road but we still enjoyed the sunsets from the balcony. The children enjoyed the pool although the hot tub could use a good scrubbing. The staff members were exceptionally nice and very helpful. The free breakfast was fine and offered a variety of choices. The decor was southwestern-ish which probably seems kitschy if you are some the Southwest but being from VT we thought it was fun. Overall this was a terrific value and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: 2 & 3rd floors seem much quieter than the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    135
    63
    24
    9
See reviews for
108
171
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This trip was to attend a conference at St John's College, several miles away. The hotel is on busy Cerillos Road, a busy street of strip malls, but there was little street noise in our room at the back. The queen-size bed was comfortable. The hotel-provided breakfast is fine -- bagels, toast, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, juices -- everything but meat. The staff at the front desk is helpful -- we had to change rooms because of a bad odor, and there was no problem. Overall, a decent stay. Several miles to stay, so you need a car, but much less expensive that hotels nearer to the famous Plaza.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

But it was very disappointing. My daughter and I planned a last-minute trip to Santa Fe, so of course it was difficult to find a reasonably-priced place to stay. The room itself was very nice, with comfortable beds, nice linens, and plenty of room. But as others have mentioned, the extremely loud air conditioner was a big minus. The shuddering boom every time the compressor went on or off made sleep very difficult.

The other incredibly annoying thing was the slamming doors. Unless you hold the doors carefully until they are closed, they slam loudly. I've never experienced such a cacophony of slamming doors anywhere. From the time the first guest arises in the morning, there is no way to sleep. Surely it would be possible to install pneumatic door closers that would solve the problem.

The cleanliness of our bathroom was a bit disappointing. There was no visible dirt, but it smelled as though someone had used the same dirty mop over and over on the floor.

There were some pluses -- friendly staff, decent continental breakfast (it wasn't the hotel's fault that we were there at the same time as a particularly obnoxious little brat who literally ran everyone out of the breakfast room), nice pool, lovely landscaping, etc. But we will probably not return. The noisy AC and doors made getting a good night's sleep impossible.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el paso, tx
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Older place, no real frills. Beds are comfortable. One of the quieter hotels we've stayed in. Breakfast is fair. Swimming pool is awsome. The price is reasonable, cheaper if you catch it during off-peak. T.V.'s are outdated, picture grainy. The suites are dark in one area and have the outside security lights glaring in the other area. Those lights make it impossible to sit on the balcony and enjoy the evening. Front desk personnel could be friendlier (a smile wouldn't kill them).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This hotel has only one plus.
The swimming pool.
The stay was terrible.
Right across the washing machines wich makes lots of noises whole night.
Please in Holliday inn you can wash till 12am.
Neigbours with a barking dog what keeps you from sleep after the wasmachine stopped.
No REFRIGARATOR to keep your drinks cool.
Terrible space for breakfeast.
Very undfriendly staffmanager in the evening.
Tripped about the broken cement and cracked my knee.
There was no plus in this hotel.We asked where the plus was for.
After complaining about the nois the manager from the hotel give us a suite upstairs.
This one was very big and beautiful with a fridge.
So the next night we sleeped well and feel happy again.
The manager promised to provided all rooms next year with fridge.
So they try to work at a better hotel.
If you go book the suite.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights. It seems to be a newer facility but I've stayed in much cleaner places. There were black hairs on the pillow (not mine), hairs in the bathroom sink and an empty Bud beer carton stuck under the kitchen sink. The breakfast was poor (STALE bagels) but the good news . . the wifi is fast. Whoever owns this place needs to wake up. Bad housekeepers can sink a hotel's reputation now that people can easily see reviews on websites such as Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

You know, they say you can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear - but this place proves you could come pretty close if you really made the effort.

I usually avoid Best Westerns because they're so unpredictable. Some are diligently cared-for like the family-run, roadside, motels of yesteryear and some are tired and worn former Holiday Inns and Sheratons that have seen better days. This property has elements of both; I'm trying to recall what it used to be but my memory fails me.

Located about midway down the Cerrillos strip, this place isn't close to the charming center of Santa Fe, nor convenient to the outlet mall at the south end of town - but it's right in there in the mix of fast food joints, convenience stores, car lots, strip centers, and other lodging establishments that line either-side of this street. A room that would cost $70 in Albuquerque fifty miles south will set you back $125 in Santa Fe, and I don't know why. I can't believe new hotels and motels aren't springing-up all over the place to take advantage of the outsized rents - but they're not.

As the hotel's management has repeatedly written, this place has seen some recent and extensive renovations - and for the most part it shows. The southwestern motif is very apparent. We checked-in to a usually-quiet, third-floor, two-room suite - and after we figured-out how to turn some lights on (it took a while, lamps were un-plugged or missing bulbs), we discovered the rooms were appointed with nice features (sofa, wet bar, microwave and refrigerator, two flat-screen TV's, a nice work area and desk chair, a gorgeous Mexican-style sink set into a nice tile countertop, a comfy bed, a whirlpool tub, and a little patio that looked-out onto a parking lot and an abandoned gas-station site). Soon enough, though, we began to see where corners had been cut. The PTAC units were obviously holdovers and the one in our bedroom shuddered and groaned when the compressor kicked-in. The whirlpool tub, on closer inspection (my wife was going to take a relaxing soak, but thought better of it), was one of those fiber-glass or styrene "remodeler" units - and the one in our room was cracked where the sides met the bottom about half the way around. Whether water could leak out I don't know, but in the midst of so many nice amenities this tub stuck-out like a sore thumb. The outside of the door into our room was damaged by years of being slammed closed against the locking-bar, and the faucet serving the pretty sink was offset so far that it was difficult to wash your face or hands and get more water in the sink than on the tile countertop! It's funny the things that were judged "good enough" - that just really weren't.

The "Continental" breakfast the next morning was underwhelming, although it was obvious the offerings had been over-run by youngsters - and not yet restocked. What I thought was a cinnamon roll turned-out to be cut from a package of those ninety-nine cent grocery-store fruit-stuff-in-the-center-and-slathered-over-with-glaze rolls, the OJ was just water but the cranberry was fine, and the community waffle iron with all the machinations involved and the children's hands and fingers everywhere just made me shudder.

We checked-out a few minutes later, reported the noisy PTAC unit and the cracked-tub to a cheerful gal who dutifully made note of the items on the back of an envelope, and left wondering if we'd gotten our money's-worth. In Santa Fe it's hard to do. The devil's in the details and here, some were nice - and others not so much.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite. The modest up-charge is worth it in stretch-out room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe

Address: 3650 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#27 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BW Inn of Santa Fe has completed a $1.5 million dollar renovation of it's exterior, public areas, and all 95 rooms. Our new decor has a southwestern flair w/ all three floors rooms having a different color scheme. We are also a 100% non-smoking facility. We have 16 suites including 2 family suites and some with balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.