We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good on paper” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2405 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Newman, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good on paper”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stayed here because of the good reviews. For its price, it is well located with good facilities. Rooms were clean, staff friendly, it has a pool, wifi, laundry, and a good location. I was disappointed though on some of the details. Breakfast was quite good. My room got really hot and stuffy, and the air con struggled to keep up. The back rooms look out onto a major road. Its probably the kind of place you'd want to have a car to stay in, as its not nice walking around here, its on main roads and lots of big car parks. The pool was heavily chlorinated and not nice to swim in. The wifi was very slow and frequently dropped out. I'd probably pay more and stay somewhere nicer in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing into the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    101
    38
    9
    14
See reviews for
73
74
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tolar, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is an older hotel but don't be fooled. It was clean and quiet. The rooms are very large and the beds very comfortable. Great location and price. This is the place to stay after a day of exploring the Santa Fe area; will stay again next time we are in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Ask for the inside courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is an older motel, but which is well maintained and managed. The room was clean, spacious and contained a well prepared kitchen area, suitable for preparing light meals.

The aircon struggled to maintain a cool temperature and was rather noisy, but did not prevent me sleeping in the quite comfortable bed. The TV was a, by now standard, flat screen LG or Samsung as seems to be the case...

The best thing about this motel is the location, great for getting downtown or escaping to visit places outside the city. Conveniently there are gas stations and supermarkets/stores on the main road. This is a great base for a few days.

The breakfast was standard, ok, nothing special, but edible.

Staff were polite and helpful answering questions and saying good morning.

Room Tip: I stayed in the annex block over the road behind the Indian restaurant which was quiet and had plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Spring, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Good location, clean room, friendly staff, great pool and hot tub, good location, and oh, so affordable. This was a good choice for Santa Fe. After a day of exploring Santa Fe, it was good to see so many good restaurants so close at hand that evening--within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

For a one night stay it is okay. Rooms outdated, but clean. Pool huge. Breakfast horrible. The breakfast room was hot. The biscuits cold. The gravy super watery. Otherwise, okay. Staff slow, but friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Not a new or deluxe accommodation by any means, but the price reflects that. But you will not be disappointed. I was very pleasantly surprised by the attention to detail and cleanliness in the guest rooms and bathrooms, the sparkling indoor pool, and the well-appointed and supplied breakfast area. Also, despite there being several children in adjoining rooms, my room was very quiet, owing, I suppose, to the older building construction. Guess they don't build them like that anymore. The location is just a short drive to Santa Fe's historic Plaza, and for souvenir hunters, the infamous Jackalope is just a stone's throw away. It was darn near perfect for this bargain traveller.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

For this money in this city at this time of year, feeling like I got what I paid for is a victory. Though my room would have benefited from an update, it was clean and functional. The staff was attentive. Breakfast was no great shakes but was free and in a large, clean space. If I'm looking for a place to crash on short notice while on a road trip, I'd stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe

Address: 2405 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn Of Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.