We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Stay in Santa Fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2405 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Brainerd
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Budget Stay in Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This motel is owned by a nice young couple who take pride in it and strive to accomodate you. They found a place where my broken glasses could be fixed. When we asked if we could park outside our room, they moved their own car out of the way. The room was basic but was clean and had comfortable beds and a refrigerator. Breakfast was fine with waffles, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit etc. There was even soy milk for those of us with allergies. An exercise room is available. The real surprise was the large heated pool and jaccuzi located in a huge greenhouse complete with tall tropical plants. In the corner was a table full of seedlings promising a summer floral display. Outside, in a patio garden, lilacs were in bloom. The motel is older but is such a gem. We look forward to straying again.

Room Tip: Request first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    94
    36
    8
    13
See reviews for
68
71
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This motel looks awful from the outside but is excellent when inside.
Rooms are a bit old and walls are thin but it was all clean.
There is a very nice indoor heated pool with a jaccuzi. The pool area is filled with plants and looks very nice.
There also is a recreation room with some fitness equipment and a pingpong table.
Breakfast is excellent. A variety of foods to choose from. You can even make fresh waffles.
Will definitely return if ever in Santa Fe again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor so you don't hear your upstairs neighbours walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Friendly and accommodating staff, comfortable and very convenient to consignment stores and places I had to do business with during my 4 day visit. Very good value for money and I would stay again and recommend to others visiting Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms or behind the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterflow, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Spring break trip found us stopping at around 9 PM for a room. We had 2 queen beds, a fridge and microwave, and a bathroom. Had a bit of a hard time finding a place to plug in my phone for the night, but I managed.

This is an older hotel, but is still in decent shape and has been pretty well maintained. If you're looking for fancy, keep looking.

If you have a chance, check out the pool. Hot tub isn't really anything to scream about... it worked while I was there... and there are beautiful plants all around. It was a beautiful contrast to the usual sterile painted-concrete ambiance of a hotel pool.

The hot breakfast was fine... I had waffles and a muffin.

Good stay. I enjoyed it just fine. I would have rated it a three but for me the pool bumped it to 4.

Room Tip: Ground floor is always nice. Internet is spotty, but there are several signals to connect to so it w...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We traveled over spring break with 2 kids, 11 and 6. Temps were in the 50s and 60s, comfortable to be outside. We booked a kitchenette room that included 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. The room had a stove, oven, microwave, coffeemaker, small fridge, dishes/pans/utensils, table and chairs. There's a TV with cable and a DVD player. Continental breakfast is included so we didn't use the kitchen much but the extra bed and larger room were good to have. The rooms was in a separate building across the street from the rest of the hotel complex so it was quiet. The room was $85/day. This was one of two properties in the SFe area that had an indoor pool and this is closer to downtown.

If you're looking for a posh place, this isn't it but it is clean and the staff is friendly. There is a game room next to the breakfast area so we also played ping pong. Breakfast is toast, cereal, biscuits and gravy, waffles, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, juice, milk and coffee.

The small hot tub worked fine - says capacity is 5 but at least 7 squeezed in - and the pool was warm. Beds were fairly comfortable and the pillows were better than average. For kids: there's a small playground three blocks away, at Declovina and Maclovia. A nice riverfront park (Frenchy's Field) with a playground, labyrinth and 1/3-mile path is 1 mile away - go 2 blocks north of the hotel, left on Osage, then follow that street until it ends.

Runners: It's 5 miles from the hotel to Frenchy's Field, then northwest to downtown. After 2.5 miles on the riverfront trail you run into intersections and traffic, but overall it's a nice route. There's a port-a-john at the riverfront and restrooms at the sports complex 1.5 miles up the river.

Negatives: the wi-fi didn't work consistently in the room and the pool towels are on the small side. We also had to replace our room keys twice because they stopped working. The bathtub hot water tap was loose but it still worked. I consider these minor issues considering the price and amenities. I'd stay here again with kids.

Other area kid-friendly activities we liked: children's museum, hanging out downtown at the square, bug museum at DeVargas Mall, Cowgirl Cafe downtown (small playground in the back!), Frenchy's Field riverfront park.

Room Tip: Get a kitchenette for a little more money and you'll have a larger, quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have stayed at the Lamplighter twice on monthly trips that take me through Santa Fe. I only need a room for the night and this motel fits the bill. Its been clean, quiet and comfortable. Room lighting is adequate. Both visits, the rooms look to have been recently painted and re-carpeted. Check in has been fast with no hassles. And the value is great using the ABVI loyalty card. I haven't tried the breakfast or pool. If your stay is longer than a night or two in Santa Fe, you may be more comfortable in a more upscale hotel or stay downtown to be close to attractions, but for my needs, its been great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Spend a few dollars more and get something newer. How they got a 4 dots on Trip Advisor is a mystery to us. The girl at the front desk called the manager and he said we could check out and he'd refund our money. It was after 8:30.We got back from dinner and went to use the jacuzzi which was why we chose the hotel. It looked like kids had used it for a toilet and I turned the jets on to see and nothing. Manager doesn't care.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe

Address: 2405 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn Of Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.