We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2405 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

so not ever stay here. Save your money, go elsewhere. Terrible service, no one manning the front desk. had a reservation and notified the hotel we would be checking in at 915. When we arrived at 912 we could not check in. Contacted Travelocity and got a refund for a different hotel in town.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    91
    34
    8
    13
See reviews for
68
70
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We think place is tremendous value at less than $46 per night including all taxes Including a good continental breakfast. So good, that we added 2 more nights to a total of 4 nights. Continental breakfast includes cereals, breads, oatmeal, pasties and DIY waffles. All good.
The rooms are a little small, but given the available space they are configured to perfection. Pretty much everything that you need while traveling including a fridge with the exception of a microwave oven (but a shared one can be found in the lobby). A queen size bed is good for us and the room also has a small table and 2 chairs. Very quiet too if you ask for a room at the back.
Marvelous pool heated to about 25 degrees in winter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

we were very pleased with our budget friendly room at Lamplighter Americas FInest Hotel, well located on Cerrillos, closer to town than other hotels on this strip. Many restaurants walking distance from hotel, shopping etc. or short drive. Our room (#115) with 9' beamed ceilings and double queen room, was roomy, larger than most with a different configuration than usual...and well designed, two small refrigerators, nice bathroom, very clean, very quiet except for a few sirens on the weekend evening, warm, ample space for two or three persons. Heated pool, clean, my son complained about the depth as he wanted to tread water, he also complained about small noises in adjacent rooms ...I did not hear this though. Exteriors design look fine and conforms to area southwestern look with designed turquoise doors...nice. We saw one pet on the property, excellent cleanliness of rooms, very nice breakfast area, good food, nice ladies in the breakfast area, fresh fruit, danish and oatmeal, waffles, a lot of sugar no doubt, but you have to balance these things on your own. They offer apples and juice that is non-acidic. No discount for multiple night stays so we booked a day at a time since our travel plans were flexible and weather unpredictable in January. everyone has been very and supportive. best wishes in 2013 Lamplighter! 1/25-1/30/2013

Room Tip: inner room (rather than end rooms) and lower level are warmer in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Overall, this one exceeded my expectations for the price we paid. Our AAA rate got us a rate of around $50 / night. For that money, I expected average at best. What we got was certainly above what I consider an average stay. For starters, the staff were very welcoming and kind. The room was very spacious and had a nice layout. Vaulted wood ceiling on the top floor was quite a surprise. The breakfast was very nice, similar to a hotel chain but of better quality I would say. We got to eat on real plates and bowls with real silverware! The pool looked nice enough, we just didn't have a suit to go in and check it out. Felt very safe and comfortable at this one and great location only 5 minutes from downtown. Give this one a try, I don't think it will let you down!

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room for the high ceiling if you want too. Makes it feel a little different than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dacono
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was unsure of this hotel as I did not research too much before we stayed here. We came on a very cold night. The pool is in a separate building than the hotel room so it was freezing for my boys and the pool steam/fog was so bad we could not see. I was sooooo pleased at the size of the room and it was so clean, very very clean. I would definitely stay there again. Good location and clean! The breakfast was ok, no protein options except 2% milk

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

By far the best of the medium-priced properties I've tried in Santa Fe. Large, clean, quiet room. Good location on Cerrillos Road. The continental breakfast is not quite as nice as last year, but still much better than that at the big chains. One minor complaint was that the internet connection should have been faster. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to not face Cerrillos Road for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Rooms: very clean, I was actually surprised how clean our room was, we stayed in 114. Liked the location of this room because it was on the courtyard and near the pool area. In our room we had a coffeemaker, hairdryer, shampoo, soap and body wash, small refrigerator. Pool towels are provided for you in your room and replenished daily. Great selection of cable TV channels in room. Wi-Fi is free (get password at front desk) and honestly probably the best and fastest free hotel wi-fi I’ve ever used. The only negative in the room was that the heater/a/c unit is kind of loud when it kicks on.
The hotel is located off of one of the main and very busy roads, Cerrillo. However is a great location for accessing anything in the city. About 5 minute drive to the Plaza. There are lots of various restaurants across the street from the hotel along with a Smith’s grocery store. We had pizza delivered to our room one night and Chinese delivered another night from the Asian restaurant across the street (horrible food by the way)!
Continental breakfast: decent. Basic pastries, bagels, cereal, oatmeal, muffins, apples, coffee, orange juice. Enough to fill you up. One thing about the breakfast is that they leave the bagels and pastries out in the open air, which in turn makes them HARD! Request staff to please put a cover over these items.
The pool is HUGE! It is heated, however at night the pool room gets cold because the room is so big and the roof is like thin glass and metal and it lets in cold air and your head gets cold (We visited in mid November & the nights get cold quick in Santa Fe).The first few nights we were there the hot tub was broken, which was a bummer but they did fix it and we were able to use it the last day of our stay. You can’t tell at night but during the day it is noticeable that the pool needs a good cleaning. They have a TON of live plants around the pool (which I liked) however they do drop their leaves in the pool and I think over time it just gets dirty.
We only encountered staff upon check in and check out. They were very friendly and check in was fast an efficient. They do charge your credit card immediately when you check in so be sure to give them the card you want to use. I handed them my debit card thinking they were going to use it as a “holding” card like most hotels and then you pay when you leave, but they charged my card. Wasn’t a big deal but I wasn’t planning on using that card, oh well.
All in all this hotel is a great value for the money!! We paid $57 per night for a room with 2 queen beds (that included our taxes) and we got free wi-fi, a great pool, free breakfast every morning, a nice room and free parking. What more could you ask for? It met all of our needs and saved us a bunch of money. I would definitely stay here again the next time we are in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: As a side note, there is a building in the back of the hotel across from the parking lot that is par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe

Address: 2405 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn Of Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.