We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Fe, NM in the fall is the perfect time to visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Villas de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villas de Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Boulder, CO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Santa Fe, NM in the fall is the perfect time to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

It is always a pleasure to stay at the charming Villas de Santa Fe which is a time share with 1 and 2 bedroom units. Only 6 blocks from the Plaza, it is an easy, pleasant walk to all the activities, dining, and shopping in Santa Fe. I always recommend Villas to my friends if they are planning to visit Santa Fe.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    103
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
57
135
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

This hotel was a great alternative to pricier options closer to the plaza. Villas de Santa Fe is only a 5 or 6 block walk to the plaza, which is far enough away to get a better value, but also close enough to all the action. The best part of our stay was our room--we had a small kitchen and living room space, as well as a small balcony. We didn't take advantage of the pool or hot tub because we spent all our time out exploring Santa Fe but I imagine this place is great for families and relaxing. This place is run much like a condo/time-share, so people should know that if you are staying less than 4 days, you won't get any maid service. Parking is free and abundant. There is a supermarket only a 2 min. drive away. Great stay for families or extended visit. Another reviewer remarked that it's in a bad neighborhood. I disagree. We felt safe. But the street leading from the plaza to the hotel is very dark and there is some type of rehab going on with a school, making it look like an abandoned building, so I could see how people felt it was a bit seedy. We booked because we got an amazing deal on expedia ($115 per night). For the price we paid, this place was fantastic value and slightly exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

My wife and I loved the location of the hotel as it was a 5 to 10 minute walk to the plaza and the hot tub for our building was great, especially after hiking the Atylaya trail. The staff was great the room was clean and had everything we needed. I would stay here again if we visit Santa Fe again. My negative comment about the hotel was having to pay for internet, but there are numerous wifi spots around. My favorite wifi/ breakfast spot was the Santa Fe Baking Co, but I was there for food not wifi. The hotel is a timeshare but not a single time were we bothered by anyone trying to sell. The resort also has a shuttle service that will pick you up if your to tired to walk back to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

First this is the first timeshare resort that didn't feel like a timeshare. There was no evidence of timeshares-no booths, no signs indicating it was part of the diamond resorts. No activities at all although their Sampler brochure says that they have "organized activites". They also say they have fireplaces, in the lobby yes but not if you are put in the second of their 2 buildings. Also, the rooms are 100 ft smaller in this buidling. We had asked before we came if they had two types of rooms and they said all the rooms are alike. They LIED! This is the second time diamond resorts as pulled a bait and switch. Last year in sedona they said they had no renovated roomsavailable and we were put in a unit that looked like it was from the 80's. When we had cleaning problems mid week they had us in a beautiful renovated room in 15 minutes..
This facility has the feel of a condo complex that failed, diamond resorts bought it and made it into a timeshare. There are no safes, no ovens, lots of closets(what do you need this for for short term stays?)
It was clean, the staff very helpful, close to the Plaza in Santa FE, The walk there was passed mostly buildings being renovated (fencing and broken windows) and vacant and homes for sale. It feels safe but there isn't anyone there and the vacant buildings didn't help
They have a shuttle bus that will take you places but no one offered to pick us up nor gave us a way of contacting them to get back.
They give you juice and coffee in the main building.
The second building only has a hot tub next to the grills. To swim you have to cross the street to the main building for the pool and a hot tub that maybe fits 6 people . Again it feels like an apartment complex.
They have blu ray players in the room but they aren't attached with hdmi cables so the picture is terrib le. They have nice flat screen TV's that are attached with coaxial cables so the picture is terrible. They have 2 cable stations.
The balcony is for 2 but if you are tall there isn't enough room to sit comfortably since the area is very tiny.
This is a nice "apartment" but hardly a resort.
There are no places to eat for about a 5 block radius so you need a car.
You are near the Albertson market and the movie theater but Trader Joes Market is a little further but worth it.
Great food at El Farol on Canyon Road. Walking distance to the O'Keeffee and HISTORY Museum(they have a great historical guided walking tour at 10;15 most mornings.)
We usually stay at Marriott timeshares or hotels and this resort isn't anywhere in their league..
Internet service is $7 a day and they didn't even post the news or weather that hotels and timeshare everywhere else do.
Bed was comfortable and so was the shower.
We came here for an art festival but it was cancelled. We went to the Opera, a show at the El Farol, drove to Taos to the working pueblo and to Ghost ranch where Georgia o'keeffe lived and painted.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

The front desk staff was very helpful upon arrival. Free shuttle to within 3 miles of the hotel. Free coffee and juice in lobby. 1 bedroom hotel room was perfect for our family of 4 with 2 teenage boys. The hotel room has a small kitchen and living room with a flat screen TV for the boys, while we had our own separate bedroom. Pool area was small but adequate considering most the hotels in the plaza did not have a swimming pool. It was a short walk about 3-4 blocks to the plaza. Plenty of room for parking which is very pricey around the plaza. Overall I would recommend this hotel to families.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

We are Diamond Resort time-share owners, but we were less than enthused by our stay at the Villas. Our first impression was that there was very little land and property for this resort and it seemed to be in the middle of downtown in a lower class neighborhood. The parking lots have the narrowest parkling spaces we've ever seen and not a whole lot of them. We easily found the elevator, but found it to be ghetto-style and possibly the last thing to be renovated, if it's even in the plans. Dark and dank! Upon entering our 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite, we found a dirty sock, a bobby pin and some used soap pieces on the floor. My daughter instantly noticed the "art"work on the walls were the same as the ones our Arby's restaurant has in Iowa. Not impressed with Santa Fe being so well-known for its artistry. Our dining room table was dressed with plastic blue placemats and we had no oven, but I should've known that as apparently no ovens are found here at the Villas. We usually like to eat in a few nights, but it's more difficult w/o an oven. The recliner was broken and would not go into an upright position without manual help on the footrest. My husband was disappointed in the fact that the BlueRay player and high-def TV had only a cheap analog cable hooking it together. On the other hand, we had 3 full-sized flat-screened TVs in the suite. The pool was the tiniest we've ever seen anywhere and the only way to get to it was to walk by the reservations desk. Our condiment basket in the kitchen included 2 packets of coffee (one decaf and one regular), but we were charged $1 for each extra packet. On the bright side, we had a quiet stay and there were NO sales reps to pursue us with sales promotions. Santa Fe is a lovely, quaint city with beautiful scenery for miles around. If we were to go back, I'd check out other places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

Our first time to Santa Fe from Charleston, SC. The rooms were recently updated you can tell - they were working on hallways yet. Close to everything we wanted to see and places to eat. Loved the lobby area - very colorfull and comfortable. We plan to go back again. For us for 7 days gave us space to spread out in lieu of a B & B (one room). Book early to get the two bedroom if you are traveling with another couple. The one bedroom has only one bath inside the bedroom - so those who sleep on the sofa sleeper could not go to the bathroom at night without going in the bedroom where friends would sleep. Great.....

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Santa Fe

Address: 400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas de Santa Fe 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villas de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel De Santa Fe
Resort De Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.