We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond Resorts could make improvements on this one.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villas de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Villas de Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Diamond Resorts could make improvements on this one.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

We are Diamond Resort time-share owners, but we were less than enthused by our stay at the Villas. Our first impression was that there was very little land and property for this resort and it seemed to be in the middle of downtown in a lower class neighborhood. The parking lots have the narrowest parkling spaces we've ever seen and not a whole lot of them. We easily found the elevator, but found it to be ghetto-style and possibly the last thing to be renovated, if it's even in the plans. Dark and dank! Upon entering our 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite, we found a dirty sock, a bobby pin and some used soap pieces on the floor. My daughter instantly noticed the "art"work on the walls were the same as the ones our Arby's restaurant has in Iowa. Not impressed with Santa Fe being so well-known for its artistry. Our dining room table was dressed with plastic blue placemats and we had no oven, but I should've known that as apparently no ovens are found here at the Villas. We usually like to eat in a few nights, but it's more difficult w/o an oven. The recliner was broken and would not go into an upright position without manual help on the footrest. My husband was disappointed in the fact that the BlueRay player and high-def TV had only a cheap analog cable hooking it together. On the other hand, we had 3 full-sized flat-screened TVs in the suite. The pool was the tiniest we've ever seen anywhere and the only way to get to it was to walk by the reservations desk. Our condiment basket in the kitchen included 2 packets of coffee (one decaf and one regular), but we were charged $1 for each extra packet. On the bright side, we had a quiet stay and there were NO sales reps to pursue us with sales promotions. Santa Fe is a lovely, quaint city with beautiful scenery for miles around. If we were to go back, I'd check out other places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    108
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
59
140
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

Our first time to Santa Fe from Charleston, SC. The rooms were recently updated you can tell - they were working on hallways yet. Close to everything we wanted to see and places to eat. Loved the lobby area - very colorfull and comfortable. We plan to go back again. For us for 7 days gave us space to spread out in lieu of a B & B (one room). Book early to get the two bedroom if you are traveling with another couple. The one bedroom has only one bath inside the bedroom - so those who sleep on the sofa sleeper could not go to the bathroom at night without going in the bedroom where friends would sleep. Great.....

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

We stayed Oct. 3-10 and loved it. Everything in our room seemed new, flat screen, fireplace, thick plush towels, king sized bed. No great views but very quiet here, we were on the 4th floor of building one. Don't try to drive down town, all the parking is by the hour, expensive and hard to find. Take advantage of the free shuttle and really enjoy your visit. There are so many things to see and do in this area, I am already mentally planning to visit again. Beautiful area. Great plus was having a shopping center just a block away with Albertsons, Santa Fe Grill, a theater etc. We were able to pick up a few things for breakfast and had a great stay.

(there was an elevator of course)

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

One of the appeals of staying at Villas de Santa Fe as a tourist is the free shuttle to destinations within a few miles, and being able to call for pick up and be retrieved within 20 minutes.

We got a room that slept 4 expecting a queen bed and a sofa bed. Instead, we got two double beds and a sofa bed. I guess it is all up to interpretation. The room was very clean, and had the usual pots, pans, china, linens, tableware, etc that you would expect. The living room had a flat screen TV with limited HD (Comsat what’s up with that?) The living room also has a fireplace, but where is the valve key? I guess maybe they are hidden until it is cool enough that you really need to use it. Whoever bought the spillage pans for the range top got the wrong size, and the heating elements were both slanted and thus so were the pots or pans. The beds were comfy with good pillows. Our stay was short enough that we opted out of the maid service. There was an unsolved mystery, "What do they mean when they say put the trash bags in the designated area?" Where is this designated area?

The reception lounge has apple and orange juice, hot water for tea with an assortment of tea bags, and both regular and decaf coffee. Owing to the unraveling of the economy, the big screen was stuck on CNN so we could learn about the $700B bail out. The work out area is off the reception lounge and has a mix of free weights and cardio machines.

They have SLOW wireless internet (10 KB/sec) in the reception lounge, period; plus two desktop PCs that you can use for e-mail and web browsing for only 30 minutes per session. No, there is not internet in the rooms. What year is it? Qwest is advertising their 20 Mb/sec fiber service locally. The Villas should be on their customer list.

The modern laundry is also off the reception area, and is very reasonably priced. Bring some detergent in a ziploc bag, and a few dryer softener sheets to really economize.

Just our luck, the day after we arrived, the pool was drained, and two days later a compressor and jack hammer arrived to dig out the drains. Glad I packed two swimming trunks. One of the other buildings has a “back up spa”.

Danger - the banisters into Building 1 are rotted at the bottom. Probably not a good idea to slide down them toward the entrance - you may be the straw that breaks the camel's back.

All-in-all, the Villas is a clean, comfortable, convenient place to stay that needs to modernize its internet access.

  • Liked — Location is convenient
  • Disliked — Internet is antiquated
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

My family and I stayed here during the Annual Indian Market, the location was perfect and very close to the Plaza. We enjoyed the flat screen T.V.'s and the DVD player, the ceiling fans and the coffee maker. The outdoor grill was close to the hot tub where our family could grill and enjoy the hot tub. The concierge person could be there at the resort for longer hours however. He was able to recommend a place for dinner pretty quickly and made reservations without a problem for a party as large as ours (14). My father kept commenting on the beautiful scenary and the nicely decorated rooms. My entire family enjoyed the stay and would stay again in a heartbeat!
-Ardis and Brian/Phoenix,AZ

  • Liked — Location, Flat Screen TV's, room size
  • Disliked — Loved our stay!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

I was pleased to see the updates when we visited in July. My sons loved the large flat screen TVs and the I-Home alarm clock/radios. My husband and I liked the new Serta mattresses.

The staff was very helpful with questions about businesses and locations and events.

The only negative for me was just a minor annoyance. The staff was there promptly at 10 p.m. to close the hot tub. But he was willing to let us have 5 more min. when we asked.

Also, the conciere did not arrive until 4 p.m., but the front desk staff were helpful in answering questions when the conciere was not available.

  • Liked — Location and amenities
  • Disliked — prompt pool/hot tub closings
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

The resort was clean and the staff were on it. The best part it was walking distance to the Plaza and the Museums .

  • Liked — Walking Distance to Plaza
  • Disliked — Not enough windows
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Santa Fe

Address: 400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas de Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villas de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel De Santa Fe
Resort De Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.