We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villas de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Villas de Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Tucson
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
“Comfy and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Located a couple of blocks from De Vargas shopping center and within walking distance of the Santa Fe main plaza (river walk, the capitol building, Canyon Road art gallery walk, etc), we did not have to start the car up during our whole week there. This was an ideal setting for us.

This is a Diamond Resorts property and, to our surprise, timeshare/vacation ownership high pressure presentations were not something this resort does; our stay was especially pleasant because of this. Instead, the resort staff was pleasant, helpful, courteous, and the facility was small-scale and comfortable.

The attractive light brown buildings were trimmed in the Santa Fe turquoise color so popular here. This vacation property never felt congested and there was plenty of parking. It is popular with travelers from California, Arizona, and Colorado but there were many license plates from Kansas, Louisiana, Florida, and Illinois (other far away states, too).

The property itself consists of a main office and 2 buildings (a small street separates the buildings). The in-ground hydro-spa and 2 barbeques, as well as outdoor tables and chairs, lounge chairs are all located on the enclosed grounds adjacent to the 3-floor building across the street from the office. The in-ground spa is limited to those age 18 and older. To use the barbeques,, a trip through the building's hallway is necessary (kind of inconvenient). Resort staff says this is the only way to access these amenities.

A small pool is adjacent to the main office building. That building houses a pool table in a separate room, a laundry room ($1.50 each wash and dry), a small fitness room, computers in the lobby area, coffee in the morning, and newspaper machine outside by the front door.

The room itself, although on the small-ish side, certainly was adequate and nicely done. Furnishings, artwork, cabinetry, carpeting, window coverings were all higher-end and quite attractive. A comfortable bed and quiet evenings made for a very pleasant week. A little deck off the living room was big enough for the 2 chairs. Thee is an elevator.

The kitchenette has 2 burners (no oven), microwave, toaster, blender, etc. (all was there). Kitchen utensils consisted of a pot and a fry pan. As we were on a long road trip, we packed along a slightly bigger fry pan (just in case) and that made a big difference.

We spoke with another guest who said he exchanged in through Interval International and he was in the building with access to the spa, barbeques, tables and chairs, lounges, etc. Everyone one in that building has mid-week tidy service.

We came in through Platinum Interchange and were assigned a room on one of the 2 (of 4) floors in the other building. These floors (3 and 4) are where the RCI and Platinum Interchange people are housed. An info sheet tells you that both of these floors do not get mid-week tidy service unless they pay an additional $40. The up-side is, no one comes to your room and the down-side is you empty your own trash, and we also washed our own towels as needed. If you need supplies (tissue paper, etc.) the office will give them to you.

A very short walk away, De Vargas shopping center filled all our needs: Albertson's and Sprout's grocery stores, Ross, Subway, Panda Express, Starbucks, loads of restaurants, man interesting shops, and even a Humane Society store (Barkin Boutique) with a wide range of things, including amazing art work by a local artist at greatly reduced prices (he volunteers his art for the "cause").

Late afternoon, head up Bishop's Lodge Road to Artist Road (check it on the map) and locate the Fort Marcy Compound (large condo complex, really large!). Off the road is a wonderful place to hike and walk down the stairs down close to the main plaza. The sunset views are truly amazing! It is a refined walk on paved paths and steps (no hiking through scrub brush) and very popular. It is a city facility.

This area is so very walkable and we could not have been happier with our choice of places to stay. We already made our return reservation for next year. We'll be back! You betcha!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool will be quieter. Upper floors minimize the footsteps you'll hear over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    108
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
59
140
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

This resorts a great place to stay. The facilities are well kept up, and the 1 bedroom unit we had worked well for the two of us. While it was advertised as only a partial kitchen, it had full size fridge, dishwasher, stove, micro, and full kitchen service. The staff were always very friendly and helpful. Free coffee and tea anytime, and even had cookies and other things a couple of times during our weeks stay. The best part of this resort though is its location. A 5-10 minute walk to Santa Fe plaza through nice streets and areas makes this a great place to stay!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Leaving tomorrow after two night stay with my kids. Used Diamond Resort points. Checkin was quick and painless...Danny was excellent. One bedroom suite on 4th floor. Already had the roll away that I had requested online. Room is lovely and exceptionally clean. Great bathroom. Comfortable bed and pull out couch. Didn't use the kitchen but it had everything you might need. No maid service but there never is daily service at DIamind resorts...which is fine. Excellent air conditioning. Pool was small but clean and adequate. Very nice pool towels. The fitness center has two treadmills, a bike, an elliptical, some weight machines, free weights and floor mats...more than sufficient. Lobby is well appointed. The Villas are close to town. We chose to drive but could have walked or taken the shuttle. Very close to excellent restaurants and a Starbucks. I highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We just checked-in. All is great, the room, the friendly staff, free local shuttle, nice linens and everything is in place for a comfortable stay. Looking forward to a week here and will update if necessary. We are happy campers.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The best part of our stay was the excellent shuttle service. Customer service at its best. Rooms were very nice and comfortable. Monsoon season kept us out of the pool most of our vacation. We went for the International Folk Art Market, which was awesome!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We recently spent a week at the Villas de Santa Fe and really enjoyed it. We loved having the kitchen which had granite counter tops, stainless appliances and was stocked with everything we needed to make breakfast and lunch. The bathroom is large with a separate vanity area which is nice when sharing the one bath. The room was nice and clean and the bed was comfortable. Great closets in the unit as well.
We had a small balcony, which I would only stay in this type of room, and loved to open the door to enjoy the breeze. The bedroom was spacious with 2-queen beds, large closet and safe. The windows only open a few inches though,making it hard to enjoy the evening air.
We went to the pool once, it was nice enough....nothing special.
We did have some people above us who could not control their children and they ran around until around 11pm...so if possible ask for a top floor. We did call the front desk to complain however, it did not seem to make a difference.
The location is great if you have a car to get to the plaza etc. It is walkable but a bit of a distance.
We would stay here again, you can't beat the price in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We booked online due to the overall good reviews. However we found this hotel to be one of the very worst experiences we have had. Upon arrival we were booked into room 1201, a room immediately off of the parking lot about 5 feet from a 20-minute parking sign and the front of three cars. When we got into the room we discovered a broken bed, as well. We asked whether or not we could change rooms and were told that they were fully booked. The room was strange (no door on the bathroom!) and cars came and went late into the night and early in the morning. We couldn't open the shades so were basically in an overpriced cave. In a property of that size it seemed impossible to us that they couldn't accommodate our request on the 2nd night to change rooms. When I asked this question I was told that because it is a time-share property, the time share guests get the first pick of the rooms. I expected that I was being lied to and checked online both that day as well as the next morning and found that they continued to advertise rooms online as being available. To top it off, the staff and front desk manager were rather rude and not at all accommodating. Luckily we were able to cancel the 2nd night and found a much better property for slightly more money. I would definitely avoid this property.

Room Tip: Do not let them book you into rooms on the ground floor immediately across from the main building wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments. As our valued guest, your satisfaction is one of our primary concerns and we truly regret the displeasure you had on your recent stay and that we did not meet your expectations. While reservations can be booked for same day arrivals (availability permitting), our rental room assignments are made upon the arrival of our guests. At the time of your arrival, the only unit available to assign you to was an ADA accessible unit. The bed in the unit was not broken; however, it had been lowered to the ground for accessibility. If you are booking for same day arrival, we recommend our guests please call our resort directly to make arrangements for a late check-in or to make requests for bedding type, specific room or floor, not guaranteed. Please rest assured our management and front desk team members will do everything within their power to assign our guests a room type meeting their original request whenever possible. We hope this has not marred your experience and you had an otherwise pleasant visit. We do wish to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Santa Fe

Address: 400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas de Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villas de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel De Santa Fe
Resort De Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.