We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villas De Santa Fe bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villas de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Villas de Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Villas De Santa Fe bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We booked online due to the overall good reviews. However we found this hotel to be one of the very worst experiences we have had. Upon arrival we were booked into room 1201, a room immediately off of the parking lot about 5 feet from a 20-minute parking sign and the front of three cars. When we got into the room we discovered a broken bed, as well. We asked whether or not we could change rooms and were told that they were fully booked. The room was strange (no door on the bathroom!) and cars came and went late into the night and early in the morning. We couldn't open the shades so were basically in an overpriced cave. In a property of that size it seemed impossible to us that they couldn't accommodate our request on the 2nd night to change rooms. When I asked this question I was told that because it is a time-share property, the time share guests get the first pick of the rooms. I expected that I was being lied to and checked online both that day as well as the next morning and found that they continued to advertise rooms online as being available. To top it off, the staff and front desk manager were rather rude and not at all accommodating. Luckily we were able to cancel the 2nd night and found a much better property for slightly more money. I would definitely avoid this property.

Room Tip: Do not let them book you into rooms on the ground floor immediately across from the main building wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments. As our valued guest, your satisfaction is one of our primary concerns and we truly regret the displeasure you had on your recent stay and that we did not meet your expectations. While reservations can be booked for same day arrivals (availability permitting), our rental room assignments are made upon the arrival of our guests. At the time of your arrival, the only unit available to assign you to was an ADA accessible unit. The bed in the unit was not broken; however, it had been lowered to the ground for accessibility. If you are booking for same day arrival, we recommend our guests please call our resort directly to make arrangements for a late check-in or to make requests for bedding type, specific room or floor, not guaranteed. Please rest assured our management and front desk team members will do everything within their power to assign our guests a room type meeting their original request whenever possible. We hope this has not marred your experience and you had an otherwise pleasant visit. We do wish to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    107
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
59
138
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I really did like the setup in each room of the Villas de Santa Fe, however, it seemed odd to me that it was nestled in a residential neighborhood. Some of the homes were nice, some dumps, typical Santa Fe. My stay was uneventful and I never got to any of the city sights because I spent the day at the tire store buying new rims and tires. ugh.
The one bedroom I occupied was nicely equipped like a Diamond Resort should be. The weather was very nice in late June. Not too hot.
I plan to go back and stay again, this time i will be sure to get in the artsy shops and museums. There has to be more than the inside of a tire store to see!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Villa de Santa Fe is a very reasonably priced option in SantaFe. The rooms are mostly small suites that have full kitchens. It is located about 12 minutes walking to the main plaza and has access to the major highways. They have a nice pool and 2 hot tubs. The pool is next to a major road so it tends to be a bit noisy. The staff is very helpful. We actually found the hospitality workers in this part of New Mexico to be very friendly.

The only negatives would be the lack of a small bar, no daily maid service and very bad wifi service in the out buildings. We would, however stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have stayed here on two trips in two years, and I just can't find anything to fault! The staff is capable, friendly, and well-versed on Santa Fe's attractions. The condos are attractive, really clean, and just a comfy place to relax between forays into the museums, artisan's shops, restaurants, parks and such. There's a pool, hot tub, reading room, gym, etc. No, it's not an ultra luxury resort, but it is a great base for Santa Fe vacations! We walked easily to the farmer's market, the old square, the G. O'Keeffe museum, the Cathedral, and Sisters of Loretto Chapel.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our room was a living room, kitchen and separate bedroom. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They even transported us outside their normal shuttle boundary so we could pick up a rental car. Tea, coffee, espresso available, at no charge, in the public areas. Wonderful hot tub/spa, which we used nearly every night. There was even an area with a couple of propane grills and outside gathering area for the guests. We didn't take advantage of the grills, but we saw several people that did. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My Groupon shopping paid off! Searched Groupon Getaways for Sante Fe and found this place. Checked reviews and purchased. It is BEAUTIFUL!! Stayed 2 nights but would have loved to stay more. It is a resort style with all the amenities! Rooms were clean, fireplaces, king beds, and kitchen. Loved access to a washer and dryer too. Staff was super sweet also.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILTON
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We loved our room and found it had all we needed. It is not a "resort", but more of a hotel...but with kitchen, dining area, living room and bedroom. The public areas are very nice...loved the availability of free coffee, tea, or hot chocolate 24/7. It is in a good location to the plaza, about a 10 minute walk. Loved being able to use the shuttle although we only took advantage of it once.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Santa Fe

Address: 400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas de Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Villas de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel De Santa Fe
Resort De Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.