We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Villas de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas de Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was our first trip to Santa Fe. We were please that Villas was so close to the downtown plaza area! This made it very easy to visit this great area without worrying about parking spots, etc. This was, by far, the best part of Villas de Santa Fe.

General:
We had a late arrival - after 10:30pm. We knew there was a 24 hour desk, so we didn't anticipate any issues. There weren't any real issues, but the man checking us in was not very helpful with info. For instance, he handed us a map of the property with our unit marked on it and showing us where to park, etc. This was obviously helpful. He did not point out that the back side of that page had all of the info regarding the maid service that was provided, etc. We eventually saw it, but not in time to really use the info. He was not very helpful with info regarding the local market scene and said that most people order Domino's. We thought this was odd.

Room Info:
We had a "standard room" which consisted of a small dining/kitchen/living room area and a separate bedroom/bathroom suite. This layout was fine for us - but had there been more than 2 of us, this would have been pretty cramped. We were surprised that there was no oven. There was a micro, a 2-burner stove, refrigerator and a dishwasher as well as plenty of cookware and table service. We knew that this was a partial kitchen, but we didn't do as much cooking as we might have. We were able to have breakfast and a couple of lunches, etc.
The tvs and dvd player were fine as were most of the other features. Our safe did not work. This was not an issue for us although we did inform the desk so it might get fixed for the next guests.

Service:
We had an 8 day stay, so we received 1 maid service visit. As I mentioned earlier, we had not been aware that we possessed the info telling us that we would receive this based on our check in day. They changed the sheets and towels, emptied the trash and cleaned the bathroom area. Unfortunately we did not receive a replacement floor mat or any replacement garbage bags.

Other Amenities:
We did not use the pool or the hot tub as the weather was fairly cool.
My wife was able to use the laundry machines and they made this easy. There was a nice game room with a pool table.
They have a workout room as well.

In Conclusion:
As I said before, the best thing about this place is the location. It is perfect for visiting town.
We did ask for a later check out which we had heard was not usually granted. We were given it, but didn't use it after all.
We were not charged the mysterious "resort fee" that other guests have complained about.
Basically this is a hotel with a little kitchenette.
We understand it was recently purchased by Diamond Resorts, so I assume there will be some upgrades.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for this detailed and extensive review of your recent stay at the Villas de Santa Fe! We have a constant program of refurbishment and improvement at all our resorts, and we hope you’ll choose to return here in the future for another visit. Until then, we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    101
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
57
134
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lombard, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed a week in the Villas de Santa Fe booked through Global Discovery. I don't believe they are booking there any longer. The only real drawback for us was the kitchen. There is no oven and limited cooking capacity. With an eight day stay we like to cook some of our meals. This was only minimally possible in the efficiency kitchen. The coffee pot was stale, as it is probably not cleaned very well on a regular basis.
Otherwise, the resort was well located very near to the Plaza and many eating establishments. We walked almost everywhere and found the location to be the biggest attraction.
As for the room, and it was a hotel room, we had adequate storage, but not in one place. We had to use the dresser in the living room and the nightstands for some of our clothes.
The refrigerator cycled on and off with a loud humming noise which also interfered with the television reception. The safe in our closet not only did not operate, the door hung open and had to be held shut with a shim, which I made with a packet of red pepper flakes from Dominoes Pizza.
The laundry facility was fine and they do provide detergent, but at $3 per load (wash and dry) it is not economical. At least they provide a basket to carry your laundry across the street to the facility.
We did not use the pool or spas, as the weather was chilly, but they were available. The pool sits just outside of registration, kind of in the open, so not very appealing. We did discover an alternate spa behind building 2, but did not use it. There were also 2 very nice looking barbeque grills there, but it was too chilly to cook or eat outdoors.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. WiFi was free, unlike earlier complaints, and the staff was pleasant. We could have used a little more help when checking in, but perhaps the man was new and tried to stick to a train of thought. He didn't mention the shuttle bus and got flustered when we asked questions during his check in process. Due to the late hour (11pm) of our arrival we didn't press for details, but he knew that midnight was the end of any opportunity to shop for food at the nearby grocery. A little more information on the resort would have been helpful upon check in.
I would recommend this resort to a couple who want to eat most meals out. Cooking on two burners with limited pots is not easy to plan for. The good news it there are many places to eat very nearby. I don't believe this resort is a good choice for children as there is not a lot for them to do.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and did not hear anyone other than the water running in the morning. Othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I recently completed a 1-week stay at Villas de Santa Fe. It is a Diamond Resort timeshare property located conveniently close to the Plaza as well as several markets. The property is well maintained and includes expected amenities. I was particularly pleased with the service provided. We requested softer down pillows to replace the thick foam pillows standard in all rooms, these were provided same day (thanks Jen). We also had trouble with a room fan and a TV remote, Eric fixed these promptly. I think some of the confusion over resort fees pertain to whether you are a Diamond timeshare owner (we are) or a renter. We would stay again, Santa Fe and surrounding areas are beautiful. I highly recommend outings to Bandolier and Taos.

Room Tip: Only four units on the property are two-bedroom, only Room 2102 has a walk-out patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here, and that our team were able to provide you with all the assistance you needed during your visit. We are really pleased that you would like to return here for another visit, and we hope we’ll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just returned from 4 night stay...had 3 units (6 people) in Building One. I was concerned by some negative reviews but my friends arrived early & were completely happy upon arrival. Whew! Off to a great start! They tried to keep our rooms close but since our suite was handicap accessible (no tub), they were happy to move us to the next closest suite. The free shuttle to/from the Plaza at night was great for happy hour / dinner. Easy to walk there during the day. We enjoyed skiing at Ski Santa Fe as well. So much to do, so little time. Hats off to Jenn, Sierra and Regina. Hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Bldg 2 has its own hot tub in case that is important to you. We were very happy with our location on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are delighted that you chose to stay at the Villas de Santa Fe, and that your experiences here exceeded your expectations. We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here for another visit – we’d love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our room was just as advertised on the website. Very nicely appointed bedroom, bathroom has a number of drawers and places to store everything out of sight. Staff let us check in 3 hours early and was very friendly.

As long as the weather is nice, it's walking distance to the Plaza. Had a memorable meal at The Shed and an enjoyable visit to the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum

Only drawback is the walls are not too thick, can hear your neighbor taking a shower, etc. We booked this on a groupon, which was a fantastic bargain. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We are thrilled our front desk team could offer you the convenience of such an early check in, as this courtesy is limited and our check in time is 4:00pm daily. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide the best soundproofing between rooms that we can. We assure you that our resort was built according to construction code, yet regret there are times when boisterous vacationers can defeat the best of our efforts. We trust this has not marred your stay, however, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I've stayed here a number of times. The suites here are very nice - big enough for a family, and certainly bigger than your average hotel room. Rooms are comfortable with a touch of Southwestern Style. I was never charged the mysterious resort fee. Kitchens are adequate and functional and fully stocked with cookware. The location is great, very close to the Plaza (please don't call it the Square; this is New Mexico, not New England). For the price, it's one of the best places in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We are thrilled to hear of your happiness with your recent stay. Our resort is happy to provide guests with spacious accommodations and in-room amenities to create a simple and home-like atmosphere. We are happy you enjoyed our choice in interior design to provide guests with the New Mexico feel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Upon leaving we were charged a $34 resort fee. This was not mentioned anywhere when we booked out reservation. That being our last interaction with the property left a very bad taste in my mouth. I wouldn't stay somewhere that isn't upfront about all costs. Otherwise, we would have been overall quite happy with the experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Santa Fe

Address: 400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas de Santa Fe 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villas de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel De Santa Fe
Resort De Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.