We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villas de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Villas de Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Amazing Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed him the one bedroom unit for five nights. The price was about the same as a 3 star hotel,but had so much more. The suite had a full kitchen, giving the option to eat in or out. The living room was nicely appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The check in building has free coffee, laundry facilities, pool table, a library and exercise room. Service was friendly and competent. Since this is a time share type of unit, you don't get daily housekeeping unless you pay extra which was fine by us. Also the villas are a reasonable walk from the downtown plaza and also from a large shopping mall which appears to have theatres. All in all, a deal of the century.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from an outside door. There is lots of traffic and these doors are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    104
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
58
137
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

First of all, the rooms were great. However, at check-in they put a $100 deposit on my credit card to cover whatever. I haven't had this happen in 10+ years. Then they told me I had to pay for wifi, or I could come over to their computer room for free internet. Even Motel 6 and McDonald's have free wifi. Ridiculous. Add in the rudeness of the front desk clerk and I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, no matter how nice the rooms are.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We are really sorry for the impression of the resort that you have gained on this occasion. We apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced, especially with regards to the Wi-Fi connection. As you may know a large resort’s guests require a 24/7 internet access which necessitates a larger bandwidth than, for example, a coffee shop and this regretfully comes at a cost. At a timeshare resort, each HOA Board must approve the cost of providing this service to be included in the charges. Having said that, we do receive a lot of feedback with regards to Wi-Fi costs and we are in discussion with our Homeowner’s Association to see if this can be covered for guests in the future. We feel sure that if you do choose to stay here again, your experience will be very different, and we really hope that you’ll give us another try. We do wish you all the best on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Centrally located near the Santa Fe Plaza. This hotel offered a full kitchen, 2 closets, 2 dressers, a pullout couch and a fun patio. Free parking makes this a great value. My sister and I stayed 3 days and had a wonderful time in spite of the constant rain. Easy location to get to anywhere in Santa Fe.
Would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for 2 beds and you will most likely get the first floor and a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are pleased to read that you would consider staying with us during your next visit to the area and hope that we will not have to wait too long to see you coming back! Until then, however, we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Customer service in reception area was terrible!!! The beds were the most uncomfortable I've ever slept (or rather laid awake) on. Coffee pot did not work and one of the faucets in the bathroom dripped constantly. We spoke to other guest there who were just as unhappy as we were. I would definitely not return to this property and would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't bother requesting anything - you won't get it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We’re really sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay at the Villas de Santa Fe. We encourage guests to speak to our front desk team if they have any concerns during their stay, as we’ll do everything we can to assist, and we would have been happy to arrange for our maintenance team to look at the issues you’ve described in your review. We strive to provide excellent customer service to all our guests, and we’re extremely sorry that you were disappointed in this regard.

We really regret that you didn’t have a more enjoyable stay here on this occasion, but we sincerely hope that you’ll give the Villas de Santa Fe another chance, and we feel sure that if you do choose to return here for another visit, your experiences will more than exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on a short trip to Santa Fe. This was probably the cleanest property we have stayed in. The location is great...only a 10 min. walk to the Plaza. The staff went out of their way to recommend restaurants and give excellent directions. We will definitely stay in this property again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in room 2109 over the labor day holiday. I go to Santa Fe once a year to relax and unwind. That certainly was not the case this trip. I have never had such a miserable stay! The door to the parking lot is within a few feet of the door to the room. The door slammed closed (I can only assume it is a heavy fire door) until the middle of the night 2:30 a.m. to be exact. At 6:30 a.m. it started again. I made my reservations months in advance, hoping for a restful stay. I expressed my concern at the time of check out and was told by Robin the front desk manager that it was a holiday weekend. In my opinion, Robin needs some refresher training in customer service. I am aware that it was a holiday... and frankly I am not sure what that had to do with a banging door. The property was recommended by a dear friend. I am most anxious to share with him my experience. I am beyond disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 2109 should not be a choice if you would like to ever sleep during your stay. The room was bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are very sorry to read that you have experienced some noise issues whilst at our resort. We assure you that our sole intention is to offer our guest a relaxing, enjoyable break and we are equally disappointed that this was not the case on this occasion. We strongly encourage our members to contact us should they not be satisfied with their room allocation so that we can look into offering them an alternative accommodation. We are sorry if your stay has caused you any dissatisfaction and we assure you that should you decide to give us another chance we would do our best to exceed your expectations. We wish you all the best on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip through New Mexico, and it was perfect for us (2 adults and one 'tween). Our room / suite had one large bedroom with a king-size bed and full bath plus a separate room with a queen size pull-out couch. There was a door between the 2 rooms ensuring full privacy. The room with the couch also had a kitchen area, and was fully stocked with pots, pans, cups, silverware, even a food processor. Being able to prepare your own meals is a great way to save some money while traveling. Remember, this isn't a hotel so maid service is not complimentary - it's more like renting a friend's apartment for a few days.

The location was great for us, we wanted to be within walking distance of the Old Town plaza and this is only 5-10 minutes away. We spent the whole day walking around town, and it was very convenient to be able to get back to the room quickly and on foot if we needed a mid-day siesta.

We were on the third floor and room had a small balcony (a nice option), the other floors don't have them so it's worth asking when checking in if you want one.

Overall a pleasant stay, we'll definitely consider Villas de Santa Fe on our next trip.

Room Tip: As for the third floor - quieter plus an option to have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review in regard to you and your family’s recent stay here at Villas de Santa Fe. We were pleased to read that our accommodations, amenities, and location met, if not exceeded your expectations. As we are primarily a vacation ownership resort, we do provide weekly housekeeping services. Daily housekeeping can be reserved through the front desk for a small fee. If you come back here again, we hope you are able to take advantage of our shuttle service, which many of our guests take advantage of for places that are not within walking distance to the resort. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Santa Fe

Address: 400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#27 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas de Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Villas de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel De Santa Fe
Resort De Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.