We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Villas de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas de Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Breckenridge, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Centrally located near the Santa Fe Plaza. This hotel offered a full kitchen, 2 closets, 2 dressers, a pullout couch and a fun patio. Free parking makes this a great value. My sister and I stayed 3 days and had a wonderful time in spite of the constant rain. Easy location to get to anywhere in Santa Fe.
Would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for 2 beds and you will most likely get the first floor and a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are pleased to read that you would consider staying with us during your next visit to the area and hope that we will not have to wait too long to see you coming back! Until then, however, we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    101
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
57
134
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Customer service in reception area was terrible!!! The beds were the most uncomfortable I've ever slept (or rather laid awake) on. Coffee pot did not work and one of the faucets in the bathroom dripped constantly. We spoke to other guest there who were just as unhappy as we were. I would definitely not return to this property and would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't bother requesting anything - you won't get it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We’re really sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay at the Villas de Santa Fe. We encourage guests to speak to our front desk team if they have any concerns during their stay, as we’ll do everything we can to assist, and we would have been happy to arrange for our maintenance team to look at the issues you’ve described in your review. We strive to provide excellent customer service to all our guests, and we’re extremely sorry that you were disappointed in this regard.

We really regret that you didn’t have a more enjoyable stay here on this occasion, but we sincerely hope that you’ll give the Villas de Santa Fe another chance, and we feel sure that if you do choose to return here for another visit, your experiences will more than exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on a short trip to Santa Fe. This was probably the cleanest property we have stayed in. The location is great...only a 10 min. walk to the Plaza. The staff went out of their way to recommend restaurants and give excellent directions. We will definitely stay in this property again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in room 2109 over the labor day holiday. I go to Santa Fe once a year to relax and unwind. That certainly was not the case this trip. I have never had such a miserable stay! The door to the parking lot is within a few feet of the door to the room. The door slammed closed (I can only assume it is a heavy fire door) until the middle of the night 2:30 a.m. to be exact. At 6:30 a.m. it started again. I made my reservations months in advance, hoping for a restful stay. I expressed my concern at the time of check out and was told by Robin the front desk manager that it was a holiday weekend. In my opinion, Robin needs some refresher training in customer service. I am aware that it was a holiday... and frankly I am not sure what that had to do with a banging door. The property was recommended by a dear friend. I am most anxious to share with him my experience. I am beyond disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 2109 should not be a choice if you would like to ever sleep during your stay. The room was bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are very sorry to read that you have experienced some noise issues whilst at our resort. We assure you that our sole intention is to offer our guest a relaxing, enjoyable break and we are equally disappointed that this was not the case on this occasion. We strongly encourage our members to contact us should they not be satisfied with their room allocation so that we can look into offering them an alternative accommodation. We are sorry if your stay has caused you any dissatisfaction and we assure you that should you decide to give us another chance we would do our best to exceed your expectations. We wish you all the best on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip through New Mexico, and it was perfect for us (2 adults and one 'tween). Our room / suite had one large bedroom with a king-size bed and full bath plus a separate room with a queen size pull-out couch. There was a door between the 2 rooms ensuring full privacy. The room with the couch also had a kitchen area, and was fully stocked with pots, pans, cups, silverware, even a food processor. Being able to prepare your own meals is a great way to save some money while traveling. Remember, this isn't a hotel so maid service is not complimentary - it's more like renting a friend's apartment for a few days.

The location was great for us, we wanted to be within walking distance of the Old Town plaza and this is only 5-10 minutes away. We spent the whole day walking around town, and it was very convenient to be able to get back to the room quickly and on foot if we needed a mid-day siesta.

We were on the third floor and room had a small balcony (a nice option), the other floors don't have them so it's worth asking when checking in if you want one.

Overall a pleasant stay, we'll definitely consider Villas de Santa Fe on our next trip.

Room Tip: As for the third floor - quieter plus an option to have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review in regard to you and your family’s recent stay here at Villas de Santa Fe. We were pleased to read that our accommodations, amenities, and location met, if not exceeded your expectations. As we are primarily a vacation ownership resort, we do provide weekly housekeeping services. Daily housekeeping can be reserved through the front desk for a small fee. If you come back here again, we hope you are able to take advantage of our shuttle service, which many of our guests take advantage of for places that are not within walking distance to the resort. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was on a business trip in Santa Fe and booked a 1-bedroom suite here. The location was what I was most interested in and the amenities seemed fine. I was then shocked to discover that 1) I was expected to make my own bed every day (unless I wanted to pay extra for maid service), 2) it was nearly impossible to find a parking space every evening, as the spaces are so tight and everybody seems to be driving an SUV and 3) I was told that check-out time was 10 AM, which is a first for me. When I mentioned that I had a red-eye flight from Albuquerque that evening, the response was "sorry, no late check-out unless you are a diamond-something member". I found this a tad stiff, since i was paying $200/night. But now I know better and I will never stay there again. This place is really a rip-off and they have no sense of hospitality.

Room Tip: Try some place else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
It is with deep regret to read that your stay here at Villas de Santa Fe Resort did not meet your expectations. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, and offer quality accommodations at an affordable cost to each guest that stays with us, and we were very concerned after reading your review in that we did not meet these expectations. As we are primarily a vacation ownership resort, housekeeping services are provided on a weekly basis. Daily housekeeping services can be requested through the front desk for a nominal fee. The 10 am check out policy is standard for all Diamond Resorts-managed properties. Requests for a later check out (1 hour after) can be requested through the front desk. If this is available (preference is given to Diamond Resorts Loyalty members), then you will be notified when the request is made. Unfortunately, there may be times when we are at or close to full capacity when we regrettably cannot fulfill this request. This information is provided both on our website, as well as our 3rd party rental partners’ websites. Nonetheless, we are truly sorry you were not made aware of these policies before booking your reservation. The type of response provided to you by our front desk staff is not typical for our resort. This will be handled with the front desk staff member in question internally. If you are willing to give us a second chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for first time in July 2013. Good location, near shopping area with grocery stores,gas station and small mall. Many restaurants in walking distance. Not that close to plaza, but convenient location off main streets but still remains quiet. Kitchen a big plus. Nice outdoor area for grilling, jacuzzi. Very family friendly. Lobby has laundry area for use also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Santa Fe

Address: 400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas de Santa Fe 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villas de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel De Santa Fe
Resort De Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.