We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villas de Santa Fe - A Good Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villas de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Villas de Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Stratford CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Villas de Santa Fe - A Good Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We arrived for a five day stay on Saturday after an early bird flight from JFK. All we wanted was to get into the room and relax. We arrived at 2:00 PM. We checked with the desk and our room was ready! Usual check in time is 4:00PM.

The front desk staff was very good, cordial, friendly, and extremely helpful. The resort offers free shuttle service to the 'The Plaza".

The one bedroom unit was excellent, the linens were very good quality, towels were heavy weight. The room was nicely decorated to promote local culture and art.

The resort is centrally located in a residental area. Our room overlooked the the heated hot tub.

Anything we needed was just a phone call away. The resort was a great deal.

We spent most of our time traveling to National Parks including the Pecos National Monument, Santa Fe Historic Trail, Fort Union National Monumnet, Tent Rocks, and Petrogylphs National Park -- photographing as much as possible.

We also visited the Rio Grande Zoo in Albuquerque, and the Sandia Peak Tramway with its great views. The Sandia Casino was a nice side trip for lunch.

If you like hot chile then visit the Horseman's Haven located on Cerrilllos Rd. Great New Mexican cuisine. If your journey takes you to Chimayo, visit the Rancho de Chimayo, which opens for lunch at 11:30 am. Good place to eat after visting the Santuario De Chimayo Mission.

We had a great time on our trip to New Mexico.

  • Liked — The room was clean comfortable nice accommodations
  • Disliked — Club House location .
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    107
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
59
138
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spring, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

Villas de Santa Fe was recommended to us by a friend and we were very impressed. The accomodations were spacious, clean and really nice - much better than staying in a hotel. The location was really convenient to everything, and the free shuttle was great to avoid having to park downtown. We stayed in a one bedroom, and the value we got for what we paid was excellent. If we ever go back to Santa Fe, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Room size, Cleanliness, convenience
  • Disliked — No internet access in rooms only in lobby
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

Villas de Santa Fe was a very nice place to stay. We stayed six nights in a one bedroom unit. The furniture and the carpet was all new. The bed was comfortable as well. The bathroom was a little small and could have used a little work. The lobby was great, check in and out were a breeze. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. I had to get different directions everyday. They also volunteered to print out our boarding passes the day we checked out. Did not use the hot tub because it wasn't as hot as I liked, but the kids loved it. Pool table and computers were close to the lobby as was the laundry. Everything was very, very clean. Not as big as the units in Sedona, but still comfortable. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
369 helpful votes 369 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

After reading negative comments from both Trip Advisor and from the huge guest book in the entrance, I was almost ready to dismiss the property with a 3-circle rating. After all, there are stains on the carpets in the units, hallways, and even in the lobby area. And yes, upholstery needs firming, dining chairs need to be recovered and bedding should be improved (pillows and sheets). But many of us are staying at half the rates of major hotels in town. Front desk and grounds workers are very friendly and helpful. There is always someone at the desk should any problems arise. Since our last visit four years ago, numerous changes have taken place. Gone is the room where sales representatives would entice guests into buying time shares. Instead, there is a small workout room with enough equipment to satisfy most guests. Near the front desk is a business center offering free internet access. Hot drinks and orange juice are always available in the lobby. Fortunately, the free shuttle into town is still available from 7 am to 10 pm. As many contributors have noted, the location is indeed very good, just 5 blocks from the plaza and two long blocks from the De Vargas shopping center. Can you imagine what this place would be like if attention were paid to the building upkeep?

  • Liked — The friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — The carpet stains and check-in lady
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

This property is badly in need of upgrading and a functioning maintenance plan. The locals come in and freely use the pool. The manager is a young fellow who doesn't really manage but allows the property to age more rapidly than it should. But then Sunterra may be having cash flow problems. But you simply can't beat the price $135 USD per night for 650 sq.ft and a five minute walk to the Plaza.

  • Disliked — It's five minutes from the Plaza
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitman, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

My husband and I spent a week here at the end of July. We really enjoyed it. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit and had plenty of room. The kitchen is small but adequate. Our building seemed to be full but we weren't disturbed by noise from other guests. Check-in was smooth and we really enjoyed the always available hot chocolate, coffee and juice in the lobby area. It is very close to the Plaza -- just a 5-10 minute walk. We would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Proximity to downtown
  • Disliked — Shower head in the bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

A spacious clean one bedroom suite with living room and well equipped kitchen. It is a pleasant 5 minute walk from the center of town. The ammenities are minimal (small pool and hot tub) but this is a bargin by Santa Fe standards.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Santa Fe

Address: 400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas de Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villas de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel De Santa Fe
Resort De Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.