We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Downtown Santa Fe, No Car Needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villas de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Villas de Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Close to Downtown Santa Fe, No Car Needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The biggest plus is the one mile walk to downtown Santa Fe. We parked our car and only used it to explore the country side.

The rooms are older but fairly clean.

Couple of issues, no free wifi and one kitchen burner did not work (we like to cook meals as well).

Staff was friendly and knew about Santa Fe. Compared to the other more expensive places in Santa Fe, it was a good deal.

Room Tip: In the summer chose the rooms which face north for less in face sun and the opposite for winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    104
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
57
136
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
central pa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the Villas De Santa Fe for a week in late September. When we arrived our check-in was completed in a matter of a few minutes. We were in Building #2 on the second floor. There were plenty of parking spaces and there was a luggage cart near the elevator which we did not use since we each one suitcase. The condo was compact but it had everything we needed. One room with a small table adequate for the two of us, a galley kitchen with a medium size refrigerator, two burner stove, dishwasher and microwave. It did not have an oven but we had no use for one with all the great restaurants nearby. I was surprised at the large size of the bedroom with its kingsize bed and two large closets. There were also two TV's. There was a sink/vanity right outside the bathroom which had a tub/shower combination. The furnishings looked new and the apartment was very clean. We did have maid service three days after we arrived but the rest of the time we made our beds and cleaned the kitchen which was no big deal.

The lobby was beautiful with a large fireplace which must be beautiful in the winter. The weather while we were there was perfect, 70;s in the day and 50's at night, just right for all the walking we did. One of the best features of the resort was the free shuttle service which we used often. The first day we walked to the plaza and it was about a 15 minute walk. After that we just went to the lobby and asked for the shuttle and never waited more than 5 minutes. The shuttle would take you where you wanted to go and then you called them for pickup when you wanted to return. We had a car so we also drove around Santa Fe and the outlaying areas. My husband and I both admit that Santa Fe is a very complicated city to navigate.

Whle there we drove to The Ghost Ranch where Georgia O'Keefe did a lot of her paintings. You have to make reservations in advance to go on the tour which we both agreed was well worh the price. It is about an hour from Santa Fe and in a beautiful location. We also went to visit Los Alamos for a day. It is a small town also about an hour from Santa Fe but very interesting. There are two museums, which are free and we spent a few hours wandering around.

Santa Fe has many, many museums, too many to mention but there are some for every taste. There are also many art galleries. We drove to Canyon Road where there are over 150 art galleries. The galleries are all in adobe houses and I loved the arthitecture. All of the galleries were well over our price range but it was still interesting visiting them.

We took a open air city tour bus which I would suggest. It took you to all the points of interest. You could not get on and off like other tours but if you saw something you wanted to visit you could go back and see it on your own.

Our last day there we took a two hour railroad tour. We had heard about the Santa Fe Railroad but it was hard to find but after riding around with our GPS for over an hour we found it and booked the trip. There was not much in the way of scenic views while on the tour but the guide Billy, was very informatinve about the area. They did have a longer tour but it was not on a convenient day for us.

Neither my husband and I like Mexican food very much. I think it is because where we live in centrql Pennsylvania we don't have any upscale Mexican restaurants so we have not been exposed to this type of cooking. This said we did eat one very beautiful Mexican restaurant which I would lhighly recommend. it is the Rancho De Chimayo which is about 45 minutes outside of Santa Fe but well worht the trip. We tried finding it for dinner one night but our GPS took us in another direction and we never did find it so we looked for it the next day for lunch and were lucky to find it. The restaurant is on a working farm and everything was so fresh. The menu was huge and of course I did not know what half of it was but with our waiters help we both had delicious meals. We ate outside on a patio which I imagine at night would be really beautiful. It was our best meal and the prices were so low it was hard to believe the price.
We also ate at the Bull Ring which was recommended for steak and it was also a wonderful meal, but a little on the expensive side. The atomosphere was really beautiful. We both ordered petite fillet minions and we could have easily split one. The sides are brought family size and we could barely eat the mushrooms and the sweet potato we ordered. We did split a dessert which was huge. Even though expensive well worth the price paid. \

One night while wandering around trying to find a place to eat my husband said I am parking the car and we are gong to eat at the first restaurant we come to which was the Inn of the Anaszi where we had a fantastic meal. It was late at this time and there were only a few people in the restaurant but the waiter was very attentive and we did not feel rushed. It was a little on the expensive but no more than an upscale restaurant here in PA. We wanted to eat BBQ so our shuttle bus driver recommended the Cowgirl BBQ. After all the other very upscale restaurants we ate in this was definitely different. My husband and I split a BBQ sampler which was huge and it was delicious. It was the type of place where you eat with your fingers and then lick them. They had a band that was playing in the patio and my husband and I went and danced for a while and talked to some of the local people. It was a very enjoyable evening. The other place we ate at that was worth mentioning was Osteria D Assisi and because of the horrible service we had there I am gong to write a separage review.

In closing I would say that while we were there for 6 days that gave us plenty of time to see and do what we wanted. It is a beaufiful city and Iove the adobe architecture. The only negative was the signs to get to the various places of interest. Our brochure listed three visitor's centers but after riding around for hours found two of them were closed for the season and ther other one, which we went to on Sunday was closed. We went back on Monday and it was also closed so it took us until Tuesday to get some of the information we wanted. There are not enough signs to show you where the various museums are and we walked within a half block of one museum several times before we found out where it was located.

Since this is a review of the Villas De Santa Fe I would like to mention that the entire staff, everyone we met while there was polite and helped us with whatever we needed. I don't know if we will ever be in this area again but if we were we would stay there again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed to have a small balcony but ours looked out over a parking lot but we did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your lengthy and quite informative review of our resort. We are extremely happy to hear that our accommodations, amenities, location, services, and staff met, if not exceeded, your expectations. Our shuttle service is quite popular with our guests (and almost a necessity in the hot summer months, or cold winter months). We are delighted to hear that you and your husband were able to take advantage of this service. Our team members will be pleased to read about the kind words you had for them. The extensive tips you provided for our future guests was real informative and will be helpful for them in preparing for their visit to the Santa Fe area, as well as, our resort. We really appreciate your recommendation and hope you are able to return here again soon. We will be waiting with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This resort is somewhat average. The location is close to Old Town Santa Fe, which is nice, and the property is quiet. The furnishings and carpet could use some updating, but the suite was clean. The most disappointing aspect was that there is no free wi-fi, which seems absurd since there are desktops in the lobby with free internet aspect. The best feature is the free shuttle that the resort offers to and from Old Town Santa Fe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My friends and I decided to stay here on whim because we needed to get away. We were absolutely blown away by the accommodations! First off, the staff was unbelievably friendly at check-in. They knew everything about the Santa Fe area, which helped a lot because it was our first time visiting. They told us of some great restaurants and places to visit, which made our experience all the better. Secondly, the rooms are very large and spacious. We had a modest view; however, that didn't matter because we spent most of our time running around Santa Fe. The hot tub was great! It was really hot, but it was super cold outside, so it was perfect. If you stay here, I recommend going to the Sunflower Market (if it's still there) and buying some of their pomegranate wine. It's incredible. We will most definitely be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel manager Daniel Salazar was so nice and accommodating. Thank you so much for our wonderful stay/experience @ your hotel!!! Our room was clean spacious and well-equipped (never expected this!)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This looks brand new and is very, very nice. We were two couples with suites across from each ohter. Both were TOTALLY supplied with kitchen dishes and equipment, great bath, cozy balcony. Pool table and pleasant lobby, reading room. The only problem we had is we didn't stay longer. Villas de Santa Fe would be ideal for a week or more so you could have some meals "in". It was an easy walk to the Plaza, with all the restaurants, art galleries and shops you could want. I was especially happy they had a small laundromat, as we had been traveling for a week and needed to get some clean clothes. Very nice staff and spotless housekeeping. We will definitely stay here again -- hopefully for an extended period!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for posting your well written review of our resort. The tips you have provided for future guests will be helpful for them before they arrive. Our close location to the Plaza is a huge draw for us, along with the shuttle service we provide for popular areas close enough to the resort that are not within walking distance We are extremely pleased to hear that our accommodations, amenities, customer service, and location met, if not exceeded your expectations. Also glad to read that you were able to take advantage of the Laundromat. Can’t wait to see you and your party again here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonvile, FL
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The staff are friendly and helpful and the property is in a great location. It is an easy 10 minute walk to Old Town but they also have a complimentary shuttle that will drop you or pick you up anywhere within a few mile radius.

We stayed in building 1 on the third floor. Apparently another company owns the third and fourth floors of this building. We were told that all of the other rooms have been renovated but ours had not. The biggest issue with it was that the fan over the bed was extrememly loud and wobbly to where it would be unsafe to use (not to mention annoyingly loud if you were trying to sleep). There isn't any a/c and it was cool at night but then you have the school across the street and traffic to listen to if you leave the windows open. It was warm enough without the fan that it wasn't very comfortable sleeping. The carpet in our unit was also torn in one area and "wrinkled" to where you need to watch how you step.

The kitchens were well stocked for the two of us but there isn't an oven. This was not a problem for us but we did hear others complaining about it.

The pool and hot tub were very nice and were open til 10 PM.

Room Tip: If you are exchanging into this property you might want to find out if you would be in the older roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Santa Fe

Address: 400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#27 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas de Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villas de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel De Santa Fe
Resort De Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.