We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exemplary customer service and great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villas de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Villas de Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Exemplary customer service and great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We were able to take advantage of a wonderful Groupon deal for two nights. We requested an additional night but property was booked full and we could see why when we checked in.
Both Daniel and Dennis exhibited perfect customer service, answering every question, assisting us with obtaining a more quiet room for light sleepers and even allowed us to check in a tad early. TJ offered dining options and was also quite friendly and efficient.
Our room was a 1-bedroom suite, with a king bed, that is advertised as able to sleep four with the sofa bed in the sitting area. It contained a good fridge, microwave, two-burner electric cooktop and dishwasher, along with plates, cutlery, glasses and pots for those who might prefer to cook in. A dining table that seats four, sofa bed that sleeps two, plus an extra chair in the sitting area and two flat-screen tvs, one in the sitting area and one in the bedroom. Plenty of closet space, nice thick towels and even a small balcony with two chairs facing the hot tub. Very spacious, quite clean, and in a wonderful location that is quite easy and quick to walk toward the plaza area. A shuttle service is also available for those who wish to ride within a three-mile radius.
One very nice outdoor pool with a small hot tub, plus another hot tub located by building two.
Lots of towels and plenty of lounge chairs available, as well as tables and chairs under umbrellas away from the sun. Two computers available in the lobby, free of charge, plus coffee, hot tea, hot chocolate and juices also available free in the lobby.
Staff will be able to answer every single question, offer dining and siteseeing suggestions, and do it all with a smile and a pleasant attitude. Very, very efficiently run property that is probably cleaner than any other property we've visited.
The only downsides were these: 1. Check out is at 10AM, with check in at 4PM. The time one pays for a room nowadays is grower shorter, although we were permitted to check in a bit early and allowed to check out one hour later free of charge. This, however, did not work out for us because housekeeping was knocking on our door at 8:40AM, asking if we were checking out. WHY was that necessary, especially when normal check out is at 10AM? Shouldn't they know which rooms will be vacated and which will be occupied?
Also, a group of guests across the hall were talking very loudly in the corridor at 7:40AM, forgetting that not everyone on vacation chooses to rise at the crack of dawn. This, of course, cannot be controlled by hotel staff but just a reminder people, please be considerate and quiet in the hallways at any hour, ok?
One other suggestion is to upgrade the mattresses/pillows. While they are not horrific, they could be better quality, affording one a marvelous night's sleep.
It was a terrific experience which makes us want to investigate other Diamond Resorts properties for future trips. Thanks to everyone who helped make our mini-vacation quite special!

Suggestions for first-time visitors to the Santa Fe area (and Vegas): hydrate constantly, preferably with water. Bring along sunscreen, eye drops, saline nasal spray, chapstick and lotions, as your eyes and skin will dry up immediately.

Retaurents we chose:
1. Clafoutis : most excellent
2. Burro Alley Cafe : excellent
3. Pasqual's : good, but pricey with long waits
4. Blue Corn Cafe : good
5. Tia Sophia : AWFUL, never again!

Room Tip: For light sleepers try to avoid the ground level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    119
    27
    14
    8
See reviews for
62
157
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great place to stay. Close to restaurants and downtown museums and plaza. Courteous staff was very helpful. Free shuttle service. Good rooms and well appointed. Will stay here again if in area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The location of this property is great - only a 10-minute walk from the main Plaza. In addition, the decor of the hotel is very nice. However, the niceties end there.

The beds and pillows were absolutely terrible. The walls and ceiling offer very little noise protection. We could hear our neighbors through the walls and the ceiling all night long! It was so bad that I had to call in a noise complaint for the UPSTAIRS neighbors THREE TIMES! It wasn't until the third call that the front desk actually did something (by this time, it was 2:30 in the morning and there was loud banging so bad that my room was actually shaking!) Each time I called down to complain about the noise, I was greeted with a bad attitude from the desk attendant. Like it was somehow my fault that my neighbors were unbearably loud!

The location of this hotel is the only reason I am giving it as much as 2 stars on my rating.

Room Tip: Get a top floor so you can't hear your neighbors through the ceiling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We just spent a long weekend in Santa Fe at Villas de Santa Fe. We are timeshare owners with VI. The reason for this review is to compliment the staff and overall facilities of the condo resort (the VI rooms need updating and we will provide our comments to VI directly). Everyone we dealt with at the Villas was helpful, friendly, and efficient! Overall, the resort was excellent. Thank you for a great visit.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Villas de Santa Fe offered a deal on Groupon that was too good to pass up! I checked the reviews on tripadvisor before purchasing, and since each review I read said this was a good place, I made the purchase.

On the way to Santa Fe, I got a little worried about going somewhere new that I had never seen, but when we arrived, the outside had a nice appearance and seemed well-kept. We went inside to check in, and the men at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful; they were some of the best front desk workers I have encountered (and one was even new). This helped put my worries at ease, but when we walked in the building where our room was, I felt concerned again because there was an unpleasant smell that was pretty strong. It resembled chlorine or bleach, so I decided that was actually a good thing.

My worries were completely gone upon entering the room. The room was very clean, and my husband and I were surprised to see that we had received a huge suite completely to ourselves with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living area, fireplace, flat screen tvs, and kitchen. The beds were a little low, but they were very comfortable, and the overall decor was nice.

The resort also offers many amenities, but we spent most of our time out and didn't get to take advantage of them (next time..). One thing we hoped to use was their gym, but they have only one treadmill, and it was being used. Since we couldn't wait, we had to leave.

We visited for Valentine's Day weekend, and after spending all day Saturday out shopping and sightseeing, we decided to ask the front desk for dinner suggestions. The same men that had helped us check in were there and handled this very thoughtfully and even called restaurants for us to make reservations/see if there would be a wait. They even gave us great tips for parking. The restaurant they recommended for us (The Blue Corn Cafe) was wonderful.

Overall, Villas de Santa Fe was an excellent stay at a great location, and I recommend it if visiting the Santa Fe area. I hope it will exceed your expectations as much as it did mine!

((ALSO, If you visit, be sure to eat at The Blue Corn Cafe, take a trip to Los Alamos (it's not a far drive), and DEFINITELY go to The Chocolate Maven for breakfast or brunch.))

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at Villas de Santa Fe because I had purchased a Groupon. It was a great value for the money we spent. Location is perfect, 10 minutes walk to the center plaza and great restaurants. The Villas offer outdoor pools and spas, a workout room and shuttle service. We didn't use any of these so can't tell you how they were. The room we had was spacious and included a living area complete with full kitchen (dishwasher, fridge, microwave, 2 burner cooktop and all the dishes and cookware), dining table and chairs, seating area, 2 flatscreen TV's (one in living area, one in bedroom), plenty of storage for clothes but not food and bathroom. The only issue we had that the bathroom door didn't shut properly. Since it was just two of us, it really didn't matter. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows and extra sheets and blanket.

If you do stay here, there's a great breakfast place just 3 minutes away called Clafoutis. It opens at 7am and you want to get there soon after as the lines start about 7:45am. Well worth the walk and wait.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor as the plumbing can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Strafford, VT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

If you keep on mind this is a Diamond Time Share "Resort", and more of a condo and not a hotel, you will understand this place better. We have been to a number of Diamond resorts and this one excels in comfort and cleanliness . Beds are very comfortable , shower good, decor attractive and they have large flatscreen TVs. The apartments are not large, and do not have large separate kitchens or huge bathrooms as some do, but they are very recently redecorated and updated attractively and are big enough. Clubhouse is very nice with exercise facility, pool table room, computers, etc.

I would not call it a real resort -- no on site restaurant ( but who wants that in Santa Fe a foodie capital!) and pool is small. But it is all very nicely done and is a very pleasant place to stay in Santa Fe.

Our only complaints are
1) noise from apartment above, most likely chairs scraping on the lovely tile floors in kitchen and dressing areas. Try to get a top third floor room. There are elevators.
2) our biggest complaint was the lack of wifi in spite of the fact that it was advertised as being available in the rooms via Attwifi. It was NOT and front desk said they could not help with that and told us we had to call ATTwifi. We did, everyday, and never got a connection. A good hotel and a good resort these days offers free FUNCTIONING Wifi. You cannot count on it at Diamond Resort Properties.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villas de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Santa Fe

Address: 400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas de Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villas de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel De Santa Fe
Resort De Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.