We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, price, location and amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Pool Upgrades
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place, price, location and amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Hotel is located within walking distance - downtown. Very clean, quiet hotel with great rates. Excellent free breakfast. You have to have the cheeseburger and a margarita at the 'Saloon'. We are still dreaming about them! Very inexpensive, wonderful atmosphere restaurant. Must have a facial at Nirvana. You will never be the same!
Looking forward to visiting and doing it all over again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    339
    64
    15
    10
See reviews for
211
476
54
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We spent 3 nights at the Inn of the Governors. The rooms are small and dark but nicely appointed and the location right off the Plaza coupled with very reasonable rates makes it a perfect place to stay if you only need a place to sleep. The breakfast buffet is a good deal and the sherry and cookies at happy hour are also nice but there isn't much room to gather as other guests have pointed out. Our biggest complaint lies with the wait staff and manager of the Del Charro Bar which was unable to accommodate a party of 12 after the dinner rush hour. When we asked the waiter whether we could move tables together he became rude and surley, split the party up and ruined the night for our entire group - serving meals to two members of our party after the rest of us had finished eating. Our complaints to management fell on deaf ears and we were stuck with a 20% gratuity, to boot. On a following night the Del Charro Bar crowd was loud and rowdy and although they were still serving food in the patio, they couldn't accommodate our group for dessert at 9:00 p.m. since we had underage children. While management allowed us to use the lobby to gather for dessert, once again we encountered another rude waiter. The Inn of the Governors should pay more attention to their service team in the Del Charro Bar (exception - the breakfast staff could not be more pleasant or accommodating). If you are planning a get together of family and/or friends, you will find the accommodations restricting and the restaurant service below par.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

I stayed at this hotel in late June 2009 - and wow, what an experience. The hotel's location simply can't be beat - across from the roundhouse (Capitol Building), dead-center in the plaza, near the historic sites (easy to walk, within 2-4 blocks for most), and even easy access to the RailRunner from ABQ (if you don't bring a car). The ambiance: a very southwestern, rustic almost lodgelike feel to the whole place. When we arrived on a Friday night, you could tell the hotel is a popular choice, the lobby was "steady" busy, the restaurant was "booming" busy (I later found out locals and travelers alike frequent 'Del Charro'), and the parking lot was full - for me, this are usually the 'good' signs that this place is going to be worth it.

The hotel has a free business center - no passwords, etc. required. I didn't try the wireless, so not sure on that front, but the amenities in the room are nice, top quality (Gilchrest & Soames out of London). The decor is charming and up to date (very comfortable bed), and nice art work on the walls (very historic). We ate at Del Charro for dinner, prices were extremely reasonable (around $8-10 per entree, incredible for Santa Fe), and after venturing out around the plaza, ended up coming back to the bar/restaurant area around 1:00am and it was STILL busy! It sure was the place to be, and this was even a Friday night.

The staff are also very polite, but not "stuffy" - very casual professional in my opinion. I would highly recommend this hotel if your trip is specific to the plaza area, the historic arts district, or business at the capitol (or any other business travel). Its well worth it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We loved staying here. Clost to the Plaza, beauttiful room, great staff. Unlike other revies, however, we did not find the breakfast tasty-ours was very UNtasty. But rest of it was great.
Parking can be limited if you return late at night to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Inn Of The Governors for three nights this month and I couldn't help but wonder which Inn that "the cheap comes out expensive" guest stayed in. Apparently this guest did not stay in the same one that we and most people have.
This is a very well run, smallish hotel in one of America's oldest downtown areas and it is clean, well managed, well staffed with great amenities at a very reasonable price for this area.
The sherry social hour was great. No there isn't a lot of sitting space, but that is not the point. It is a cocktail and social hour to drink and mingle with and talk to other guests.
The breakfast was delightful. There was plenty to eat. It was delicious. It was kept clean and fresh. The staff went out of their way to see that you had a place to sit and even attended to you at the table to see if you needed anything.
Every staff member that I encountered from prior to arriving on the phone, to the desk at checking in, to the young lady cleaning our room to the El Charro staff could not have been more hospitable. With that said, I must say that I believe the room cleaning staff there is one of the friendliest group of people I have ever encountered in a hotel. Not just the young lady cleaning our room, but as I would walk down the hall, they would all speak and went out of their way to be friendly. Very rare in any hotel.
Yes parking is a little tight, but you have to consider where this hotel is located. I was a little concerned about having a space, and when asking the front desk about it, I was told that if I ever came in and had no space, come to the desk and they would see to it that I got one.
Bottom Line. Great place to stay in one of America's most unique cities. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
I know that everyone has different expectations and experiences at hotels, but the negative reviews on this hotel are few and far between.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I completely disagree with the review entitled "the cheap comes out expensive". Compared to all other downtown hotels (which I researched before booking), the Inn of the Governors is the best value. Not to mention that the grounds, public areas, and rooms, are spot on clean and inviting. When you add in the free parking and excellent hot breakfast (the coffee was not weak, nor was the freshly squeezed oj and grapefruit juice - how could fresh squeezed be weak?), for two people, that would be an avg. savings of about $40+ per day - plus two free newspapers to boot! Try staying somewhere else downtown for that value. The staff from the front desk to the Del Charro lounge were very friendly and helpful, not snooty like most hotel staff in Santa Fe. And if I remember correctly, they have approximately four large public rooms (open all day long) plus the pool area. Most other downtown hotels barely have two. We had a corner suite (#250), and there was complimentary internet access and printer just down the hallway, not to mention two more computers in the downstairs lobby. I don't know of any other hotel in downtown Santa Fe that offers that. We would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Most visitors to Santa Fe, if they could, would opt to stay in "old town". The historic structures; walk to the "plaza"; the romance of a slower, bygone era, all alluring. Sadly, but understandably, prime location is expensive. "INN OF THE GOVERNORS" to the rescue! Center of old town! Well appointed rooms! Free, hot breakfast! Sherry social hour! Pool! Free parking! And, of course, a committment to hospitality, and room rates much less than one should expect. Sound too good to be true? It is. The hotel, at 100 rooms on two levels, sits on a small lot, which in cities, is quite normal. So, the property can ammortize its' cost structure over a large number of rooms/guests, and reflect this in a lower cost per night. However, this leads to problems one usually doesn't consider in a leisure location: hundreds of guests and little room for most. The "sherry social hour" daily in the lobby provides exactly one sofa, and two chairs for seating, and little surrounding room to stand. Most guests just poured a glass (tiny, at that) and simply went somewhere else (their rooms?) . Sit outdoors? The cramped area around the small pool has one tiny table with four chairs, a few lounges and a handful of other seating. This area is surrounded by a tall fence, is very noisy, and not at all relaxing. This patio area looks good in the hotel's photos; just don't put more than 8 - 10 people in there. If you book a room that does not have a balcony (again, all tiny, regardless of extra price), you most likely will not be able to sit any where outside on a warm day. Most guest rooms are dark, with only one small window and low ceilings, so forget about trying to enjoy a drink or a meal in these "caves". The breakfast, while aboundant, was tastless. The eggs; watery. The "home baked" pastries were woefully short of fillings. The coffee was weak and the orange juice was even worse. However, the bacon was crisp and delicious. Free parking? The parking area is so tight, that I saw 3 cars hit on the front and sides by guests opening doors or just trying to maneuver into a space. Fixing even a simple dent can cost hundreds. Think about that if you are not driving a rental car, which many guests were driving, and who don't care about "door dings" on someone else's car. And lastly, customer service. Do most guests even notice bad service, in a popular place like this? Sure, the property is happy to make your reservations (most referrals mean commissions to hotel employees). I found this hotel to be most unaccomodating for arrival prior to their very late 4pm check in time, even though there was no evidence that housekeepers were still at work on "checkout" rooms. I also had a serious problem with my room. The haughty desk staff had to be approached four times, over a two hour period, and still the significant problem could not be corrected. Hours later, the hotel finally offered a different room, but no upgrade, to allivate the situation. I choose to check out the following day. Think twice before you book this place; there is a price to pay for "the cheap place with a great location".

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, JackRabbit Systems, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.