We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

This is a great hotel. We arrived on a Thursday night and shown to our room. It was a nice size with a fireplace. Unfortunately the inn was having trouble with its a/c and had not expected 85 degree weather in May! I thought, no big deal, it cools down at night. Well, we opened the windows and found we were street side, it was a little noisy and with no cross breeze the room stayed pretty warm. I went to the desk clerk in the morning. She apologized and immediately put us in a suite (which had it's own AC controls) at no extra charge. The ac unit for the rest of the hotel was also repaired that day. The new room was twice the size and on a quieter side of the building with a balcony-just lovely. We ate the hotel restaurant when we arrived and had great hamburgers at $6 each! Wonderful margaritas, the restaurant in Del Charro, again, great staff, very friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would go there again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    316
    61
    14
    10
See reviews for
199
452
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

We just stayed at the Inn of the Governors for 4 nights and were very pleased. The hotel is a very comfortable place to stay. Our room was nice, but we also enjoyed the other spaces around the hotel - the outdoor seating for their restaurant and breakfast, the pool and the lobby with tea and sherry in the afternoon.

The Inn is in a great location, you can't beat for the price and free parking. We would definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We have stayed here twice now, and it will be my choice the next time too. The rooms were very clean, staff very helpful. Nice pool to hang out and relax, good breakfast buffet. Close enough to walk to pretty much anywhere we wanted to go. It is on a busy road so a little noisy when out by the pool.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ludlow WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

I must say that after searching for hours on the internet for Santa Fe hotels I chose Inn of the Governors and I'm happy to announce that It was a very good choice. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Can't beat the location as it is within a short walking distance of galleries and fine restaurants in the historic district. Our check in was met with a friendly staff. Parking is on site and more than adequate. The courtesy hot breakfast buffet was one of the best we have had in all our travels. Room cleaning service was very good! I hope to return here soon and so my wife and I highly recommend The Inn at the Governors

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego County
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Five of us went for a girls long weekend in Santa Fe. We stayed in the Inn of the Governors. What a fantastic place! We rented connecting suites and couldn't have been happier. We are all pretty picky about our hotels, but even my sister who is used to staying at the most elite hotels around the globe was happy here. The rooms were large and extremely clean. The staff remembered who we were and what rooms we were in. They were very helpful and even booked our tram ride for us. There is a complete complementary buffet breakfast with a large variety of foods ranging from pastries to bacon, eggs, hash browns, waffles, cereals, etc. served in a very nice dining area each morning. After a full day of sightseeing we came back for complimentary sherry and tea served in the hotel lobby. Our party consisted of all adults. We enjoyed the attention to detail, cleanliness, thoughtfulness of the staff, and the quiet of the rooms. THere are also several computers available for use by guests. Others staying in the hotel ranged from singles, to families with small children. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

We fell in love with this place! Very quaint. Had the best breakfast buffets ever. Also enjoyed a couple meals and cocktails (margaritas) downstairs. Staff is amazing! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We stayed here for almost a full week. It was our first trip to New Mexico, and we used this as our home base for explorations in the northern part of the state. We love the outdoors and spent most of our time hiking, touring, and on the go. This was a lovely place to come home to each night. This is a wonderful, small, independently owned hotel. There aren't enough places like this in the US.

The first thing my husband said about our clean, sunny room was: this doesn't smell like a hotel. That's because the windows open up, and the beds and bathrooms are kept spotlessly clean.

Our room was small (we had a two queen bed room) but had lots of space for hanging clothes, and shelves for our backpacks, etc. That made it easy to put things away and not feel crowded. We also had a room with a patio, which was wonderful for our kids (aged 5 and 7) who could go outside to draw, play and snack while we stretched out and read a book in the room after long hikes or other adventures.

The breakfast is healthy! And full of fresh fruit, just what we needed before hitting the trail or taking off for a day of touring around. Good coffee, lots of fresh bacon, sausage and eggs that are tasty. We loved the afternoon snacks, too.

The staff is wonderful and attentive without being pushy. Every single person that worked there was friendly, polite and helpful, even the bus boys at the restaurant would stop and ask if we needed anything. The front desk made every effort to help us with our travel needs all week long.

The pool was really clean, and almost everyone seemed to end up sitting around in the sunshine in the afternoon with their sherry as the kids went swimming. The patio area is really nice, which I find is also rare at most hotels. My only complaint about the pool is that it is a bit too hot (my son reported that the thermometer in the deep end read 100 degrees each day). A few degrees cooler would be nice.

If you are going to Santa Fe, you want to stay downtown, because parking is a hassle and expensive. Stay at this place and you can have free parking, a lovely breakfast, and be a short walk to most down town sites. By seven am you can be out and about and enjoying yourself without even touching your car.

We really liked it here, and would stay here again in a heartbeat. The parking area is safe and accessible to the rooms, our room had loads of privacy, and our beds were wonderfully comfortable. The lobby is a nice place to hang out, with free access to the internet, and a couches where you can read, relax or play chess. It is not elegant or fancy, but you know you are in NM and you get the local flavor right in your own hotel.

You are downtown when you stay here, though, so be realistic. Even in the best hotels downtown you will hear street traffic, which seems to include motorcycles no matter where you go in this state. This did not bother us, because we are from a large city, but I did notice they provided complimentary ear plugs in the bathroom. We did not need them, but you need to know this is not a "spa and retreat place." This is a city hotel in a charming small city, where street life is close at hand. If you enjoy people watching and embrace the local culture, this place will make you very happy. In that way, this Inn felt more European to me than other places I've stayed.

Besides being great for families like ours, I think this would be a wonderful place to have a honeymoon. I hope the Inn stays charming and clean, and remains affordable. I'm almost afraid to give it such a good review... this is the kind of place you'd like to keep as a secret from others.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, JackRabbit Systems, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.