We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Fe Trail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free hot buffet breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Santa Fe Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night visiting friends in Santa Fe. The hotel was immaculately maintained and in an interesting local style. The staff were extremely helpful when my rental car didn't start the next morning and let me back in to my bedroom even though I had checked out. They even waived the cost of some phone calls I had to make.

Room Tip: If you don't want any noise at all ask for a room not overlooking the pool. I wasn't bothere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear JamesGlover64,

Thank you very much for your review of the Inn of the Governors.

I am thrilled to know our staff was extremely helpful during your car mishap.

We hope you can return again soon and stay longer.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    347
    66
    17
    10
See reviews for
219
492
54
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Checked in around 3 the room smelled musty the air conditioner was the one that is attached to the window by the wall barely made room cool and made a loud grumbling noise the hallway was humid and smelly
I tried to take nap but with the heat and noise of the air conditioner I decided this dump ain't for me. I walked couple of blocks to La Fonda hotel beautiful classic hotel with indoor parking lot as well. The parking lot at the governors inn
Is outdoors that pull right besides your room just like any cheap hotel.
I realized I had to check out of this dump and went to La Fonda
The rates remarkable were very similar. I checked out and to make matters worse they refused to credit me the charged me $155.00 like I said a classic dumpy move for a clearly a dumpy hotel
I could go on and on to the crappy little pool to the elevator that was so small and grumbled must be as old as the air conditioner
BY ALL MEANS AVOID THIS PLACE

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear lalaw315,

I am sad to read your review stating that the Inn is nothing more than a converted Holiday Inn. It confuses me because we work hard to accurately represent the hotel via our website, making no pretense that we are something different than a quality, boutique hotel located close to the Santa Fe Plaza. In that spirit, we go to great lengths to provide the best value package in Santa Fe; complimentary parking, free full-hot breakfast, a daily Tea & Sherry reception, and the $15 dollar per day food credit in Del Charro. I am further confused by your response to the swimming pool since so many of the other reviews, and guests I connect with, speak highly of it.
Though I genuinely regret that the air conditioner did not work to your liking, I regret moreso that you did not contact us to repair it or find you another room to your satisfaction that day. We pride ourselves on working with guests needs as best as we can.
Given we have a 48 hour cancellation policy and your departure occured late enough in the day that we were unable to repair the air conditioner and sell the room to someone else, I feel comfortable in the charge we assessed you. As I mentioned in my direct email to you, we discounted that fee from your original reservation rate given the room did not meet your needs.
I wish you the best in your future travels and hope you have found a good home at the La Fonda for your visits to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Location Location Location! This is a very clean and friendly place to lay your head. The place is a bit old and rough around some edges, but that can be overlooked because it is such a clean place. From everyone at the front desk to the maids, and the food servers, they all made it a very pleasant experience. The breakfast in the morning was one of the best we have had in a hotel/motel in ages. The $10 coupon each day to use at their restaurant and bar was a nice added touch, and the margaritas are very good. I would stay there again in a minute, and we are very picky about where we stay....loved it...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Akumalholic,

Thank you for your recent review.

It is great to see you had such a nice visit. I am thrilled the hotel cleanliness, staff and breakfast made for a "very pleasant experience".

We hope to welcome you back soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Close to the Plaza and easy for getting in and out of town, the Inn proved an affordable and accommodating destination. On arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite for our four day stay.
With a good complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and sherry, on-site free parking, and pool, the inn is a money-saving choice that doesn't skip the details.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Donn S,

I very much appreciate your recent review of the Inn and am glad to see you were upgraded to a larger room.

It is wonderful to see you enjoyed all the onsite amenities we provide. We do understand that travel can be expensive and our goal is to try to help your dollar go a little bit farther.

Thanks for choosing the Inn!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This was our first stay at the inn. It is a charming hotel, with all the amenities needed. Our room door faced the street and we had a double. The room was tight with both beds, but very clean. I would suggest asking for a quite are if your are reserving your room in time. Saturday had a lot of day noise from traffic, but in the evening the noise level does quiet down. The location is close to the plaza and an easy stroll to most places and fun shops in the near vicinity.

The full breakfast is plentiful with great coffee and hot items. There is a beautiful outdoor seating area with fire place. There were not many gluten-free options. We missed the afternoon tea and sherry tasting they offer. The pool is small but heated and fantastic just to hang by and enjoy their beautiful landscaping. We continuously watched employees clean and maintain the hotel and it had a comfortable lobby.

The bar attached to the hotel seems to be a hot-spot in Santa Fe. In the late evening we watched as people lined up to get in. They served good drinks and good "Bar-food". The staff was helpful with information about events and directions.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We were on the street side and could hear every Harley rev their engines in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Rsds2008,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to know you enjoyed the breakfast, hanging out by the pool, our saloon, Del Charro and your room cleanliness. I will speak to our chef to see if we can add more gluten free options.

We hope you stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Santa Fe.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My wife and I were in Santa Fe to attend the opera -- it was also an anniversary celebration. When I made our reservation months ago, I mentioned that it would be our anniversary when we'd be there and was delighted to find that we had been upgraded to larger room when we checked in. The hotel is simply lovely and the location is outstanding. Breakfast was included and, though a buffet, was quite good. The receptionists were uniformly helpful and gave us excellent advice on restaurants and sights to see.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Gary23,

Happy belated anniversary! We are so glad you chose the Inn to enjoy such a wonderful event.

It is a delight to know you enjoyed the opera as well as our complimentary breakfast buffet, location and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I chose the Inn of the Governors on the basis of a newspaper review. On balance, I was glad we stayed. The room was large, with a fireplace, and very comfortable. The shower was good, and the room was clean. The internet signal was strong. The breakfast was a filling, tasty buffet (eggs, potatoes, a layered tortilla dish, sausage - the standards), not extraordinary, but certainly satisfying. The location, just a few minute-walk from the plaza, was ideal.

The room was moderately expensive (about $350/night, with taxes). By itself it was nice, but I found the hotel service just a little off-putting. Check-in was brisk, and decidedly cool compared to other places we stayed on this trip. When I came back to ask a couple of questions about the location of a church, I was efficiently and politely handed a map with the location circled, but got the impression I should take my map and go, so I went.

That's subjective. I'd received some unsettling news from home before we got to the hotel, so my perceptions may have been colored by emotional upset. But at breakfast the next morning, the failures weren't subjective. My daughter bumped the wobbly breakfast table and spilled some of my wife's coffee. She asked the server for a cloth, he nodded curtly, and the cloth never appeared. A few minutes later, my daughter rested her arms on the table, causing it to tilt and send the spilled coffee onto my wife's lap. It would have been nice to have that cleaned up before it went off the table. I got to breakfast before my wife and kids and found my server pleasant and competent; my wife's server was neither.

I would stay at the Inn of the Governors again, just to give us a chance for a better personal experience, because I did like the room. (The afternoon sherry looked nice, but I didn't try it.) Of course, as a guest, when my mood is down, as it was, I'd like my hosts to lift it, not reinforce it. I can have an off day; the hotel can't.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear JPicht,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

My apologies that the service offered to you was less than desirable. I assure I have spoken to both departments regarding these incidents so that they may improve.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to leave a much better lasting impression.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.