We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free hot buffet breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Sebastopol, California
1 review
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I've stayed here twice. My rooms were charming and quiet. The service is very good and all the staff seem to go out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast is ample and delicious and there is a daily $15 credit in the restaurant/bar, and they offer tea or sherry and cookies at 4 pm. It is just a few blocks from downtown, and we were able to walk everywhere. The hotel staff did make one mistake about scheduling a taxi for our departure...we were forced to change our travel plans, but the hotel reimbursed us every extra penny that we had to spend for the new itinerary. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear 363Mona,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with the Inn.

My sincerest apologies regarding the scheduling error and the forced change to your plans. I am happy to know our staff covered the additional cost, but am so sorry for your inconvenience.

It is great to know you enjoyed the breakfast, tea & sherry hour and your room. We are pleased to know you will return.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    371
    71
    19
    10
See reviews for
240
526
56
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay, and we were pleasantly surprised in many ways. The parking was very easy, and free. Our room was comfortable, and included a small refrigerator so we were able to chill our wine. They included some nice touches, like earplugs, in the room amenities. Housekeeping did a very good job during our 3 night stay.
The included breakfast was quite good, with several egg dishes; various breakfast meats; hash browns; cereals; fresh fruit; one type of yogurt; juices; and a variety of breads and pastries. Their coffee was good, but they also offered tea and cocoa.
We were given a nightly $15 credit at their restaurant, El Charro, which we used for our evening margaritas.
In the lobby, we were able to refill our water bottles with filtered water, which was quite convenient. All the hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Would definitely consider staying at the hotel again in the future.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Cheryl D,

We very much appreciate your thorough review of your stay with us. And are pleased you enjoyed the breakfast, free parking, room amenities and Del Charro.

Our staff and myself hope you can stay again soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Short walk to the plaza, with corresponding lower rates than hotels closer to the plaza. Key perks are: free parking for hotel guests, good location, year-round heated pool, food credit at the attached restaurant/bar. I stayed there for a week on company business in a room block of 5 rooms total, we paid $185 each per night--be warned the taxes will bump that nightly rate up substantially. Families, business travelers, solo travelers all blended in seamlessly at the hotel. There's a daily sherry/cookies hour (4pm ish). If you're sensitive to street noise, be sure to request a room away from the street. Appeared to have OK handicap access throughout. Some parking is covered (there's underground and surface parking). Free wifi (everywhere I went on property), and adjoining rooms are available. AT&T cell phone service is a little spotty around the property.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 113 and heard a good deal of noise from Alameda street. Be sure to request a room A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear SuzieCookie,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at the Inn.

Your "key perks" are spot on. We are glad to know you liked our location, parking and tea & sherry.

We look forward to welcoming you back again. Hopefully, for pleasure instead of business next time.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

You couldn’t ask for a better location -- we walked to the Georgia O’Keefe museum, the cathedral, the plaza, Loretto Chapel, and the hundreds of shops and restaurants on the plaza and Old Town Santa Fe. The free breakfast buffet has something for everyone and is good. The room was very pleasant, quiet, and clean, and being on the far side on the first floor, had a nice little patio with a bistro table and chairs. Parking is tight but free. Del Charro, the restaurant located off the lobby, has good margaritas and decent chicken cesar salad in addition to other items. As a guest, one receives a $15 credit to the restaurant. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Might be wise to ask for a room that does not face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Kim P.,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found us conveniently located. It is great to know you enjoyed your room, the patio, the complimentary breakfast buffet and Del Charro.

We hope to see you back again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Inn on the Governors has it! Just 2 blocks south of the Plaza, this is a charming hotel with a local feel. Why stay in a national chain? Honestly, the room was a little small, but it and the entire property was very clean and well-maintained. We ate all our meals during our 4 night stay at Del Charro (except lunch in Taos on an all-day tour). The food and service were exceptional, the prices fair especially the daily specials. There's a huge buffet breakfast and booking directly with the hotel gets you a $15 credit to use on food and beverages the rest of the day. Ken, Ariel and Alberto at the front desk were of great help to us. Ken, in particular, helped us get last minute tickets to entreflamenco at the Lodge and told us how to catch a free shuttle.
Our traditional room with two double beds was on the lower level on the back and had a lovely patio with a table and two chairs. We had coffee out there every morning wearing our complimentary robes. Normally I won't stay in a room with floors overhead because of the noise above, but this room was totally quiet. The only real shortcoming was leaving without a bill due to our 4:30 am pick up for a ride to the airport, despite warning the night desk clerk about our early departure.

Room Tip: I would prefer a room that doesn't have parking places directly in front, although it have no ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Susan S,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Inn.

I am so pleased to see all the employees who impacted your stay. It is also great knowing you enjoyed several meals in Del Charro and found them a good value.

My apologies that we fell short in getting you your folio prior to your departure. Please contact me directly if you still need a copy of the bill.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel offers average rooms with average amenities. (We had standard accommodations.) The best this hotel has to offer is the location and on-site parking that is included in the room rate. Getting around Santa Fe can be a major irritation so to park our vehicle and walk to many attractions, restaurants and galleries made for a more relaxing and enjoyable visit. We also enjoyed the bar/lounge/cafe located on the property.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if available. Hotel has busy streets along three sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear SnmaGal,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

Although I wish your stay had been better than average, I'm happy you found us to be conveniently located and we able to utilize the complimentary parking.

We appreciate the opportunity to have hosted your visit.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Inn of the Governors offers comfortable accommodations near the Santa Fe Plaza. Location is outstanding, near great restaurants, galleries and shopping. Parking is included, which is a huge thing in central Santa Fe. My room had a wood burning fireplace, with extra firewood just outside the door. On my last evening, I had a 4am departure, and the desk staff made sure I had hot coffee and a muffin since I wouldn't be able to take advantage of the very good daily breakfast buffet. The Governor's Inn is comfortable, clean and conveniently located.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear dburgess56,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our great location and awesome staff! It's so nice to know that the staff was able to accommodate your needs. Our staff is the true backbone of the Inn and we are honored to have so many wonderful employees.

All of us are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Downtown
No photo provided
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.