We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Location is excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Short walk to the plaza, with corresponding lower rates than hotels closer to the plaza. Key perks are: free parking for hotel guests, good location, year-round heated pool, food credit at the attached restaurant/bar. I stayed there for a week on company business in a room block of 5 rooms total, we paid $185 each per night--be warned the taxes will bump that nightly rate up substantially. Families, business travelers, solo travelers all blended in seamlessly at the hotel. There's a daily sherry/cookies hour (4pm ish). If you're sensitive to street noise, be sure to request a room away from the street. Appeared to have OK handicap access throughout. Some parking is covered (there's underground and surface parking). Free wifi (everywhere I went on property), and adjoining rooms are available. AT&T cell phone service is a little spotty around the property.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 113 and heard a good deal of noise from Alameda street. Be sure to request a room A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear SuzieCookie,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at the Inn.

Your "key perks" are spot on. We are glad to know you liked our location, parking and tea & sherry.

We look forward to welcoming you back again. Hopefully, for pleasure instead of business next time.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    320
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
202
457
51
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

You couldn’t ask for a better location -- we walked to the Georgia O’Keefe museum, the cathedral, the plaza, Loretto Chapel, and the hundreds of shops and restaurants on the plaza and Old Town Santa Fe. The free breakfast buffet has something for everyone and is good. The room was very pleasant, quiet, and clean, and being on the far side on the first floor, had a nice little patio with a bistro table and chairs. Parking is tight but free. Del Charro, the restaurant located off the lobby, has good margaritas and decent chicken cesar salad in addition to other items. As a guest, one receives a $15 credit to the restaurant. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Might be wise to ask for a room that does not face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Kim P.,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found us conveniently located. It is great to know you enjoyed your room, the patio, the complimentary breakfast buffet and Del Charro.

We hope to see you back again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Inn on the Governors has it! Just 2 blocks south of the Plaza, this is a charming hotel with a local feel. Why stay in a national chain? Honestly, the room was a little small, but it and the entire property was very clean and well-maintained. We ate all our meals during our 4 night stay at Del Charro (except lunch in Taos on an all-day tour). The food and service were exceptional, the prices fair especially the daily specials. There's a huge buffet breakfast and booking directly with the hotel gets you a $15 credit to use on food and beverages the rest of the day. Ken, Ariel and Alberto at the front desk were of great help to us. Ken, in particular, helped us get last minute tickets to entreflamenco at the Lodge and told us how to catch a free shuttle.
Our traditional room with two double beds was on the lower level on the back and had a lovely patio with a table and two chairs. We had coffee out there every morning wearing our complimentary robes. Normally I won't stay in a room with floors overhead because of the noise above, but this room was totally quiet. The only real shortcoming was leaving without a bill due to our 4:30 am pick up for a ride to the airport, despite warning the night desk clerk about our early departure.

Room Tip: I would prefer a room that doesn't have parking places directly in front, although it have no ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Susan S,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Inn.

I am so pleased to see all the employees who impacted your stay. It is also great knowing you enjoyed several meals in Del Charro and found them a good value.

My apologies that we fell short in getting you your folio prior to your departure. Please contact me directly if you still need a copy of the bill.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel offers average rooms with average amenities. (We had standard accommodations.) The best this hotel has to offer is the location and on-site parking that is included in the room rate. Getting around Santa Fe can be a major irritation so to park our vehicle and walk to many attractions, restaurants and galleries made for a more relaxing and enjoyable visit. We also enjoyed the bar/lounge/cafe located on the property.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if available. Hotel has busy streets along three sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear SnmaGal,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

Although I wish your stay had been better than average, I'm happy you found us to be conveniently located and we able to utilize the complimentary parking.

We appreciate the opportunity to have hosted your visit.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Inn of the Governors offers comfortable accommodations near the Santa Fe Plaza. Location is outstanding, near great restaurants, galleries and shopping. Parking is included, which is a huge thing in central Santa Fe. My room had a wood burning fireplace, with extra firewood just outside the door. On my last evening, I had a 4am departure, and the desk staff made sure I had hot coffee and a muffin since I wouldn't be able to take advantage of the very good daily breakfast buffet. The Governor's Inn is comfortable, clean and conveniently located.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear dburgess56,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our great location and awesome staff! It's so nice to know that the staff was able to accommodate your needs. Our staff is the true backbone of the Inn and we are honored to have so many wonderful employees.

All of us are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

this was our second time to this hotel in the past 7 years. the last time we stayed in a standard room but decided to splurge this time and get the king deluxe room with kiva fire place and small patio. we loved being able to go outside and sit in the afternoons and have a glass of wine and watch the people. Our room looked over a parking lot but it also had a view of the mountains and parts of the plaza. We had breakfast included and the food was always exceptional as well as the service at the pool and bar. We love this hotel and would always stay here. it is one block off the plaza and perfect for walking to any place.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a king delux room with the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear thebeachgoers,

We are so happy you LOVED your stay with us and that you would stay with us on future visits.

Our deluxe rooms do offer a nice balcony and a bit more space to add just enough additional relaxation. So glad to know you enjoyed the room.

We look forward to hosting your next stay in Santa Fe.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have been to Santa Fe a few times before but this time I was traveling with my elderly mother and my sister who had recently broken her foot. We wanted a place that was close to downtown so that they could go back to the room if they needed to rest. This was the perfect location- about 2 blocks from the plaza. The free parking was another plus! The rooms were well decorated and, while not huge, they were very comfortable. The lobby is very charming and the afternoon sherry tasting was a fun experience. If you book directly with the hotel, they give you a credit each day to be spent in their restaurant. The food there is quite good and the green chile soup is "to die for"! Also, the breakfast buffet is large and yummy. It is much better than a typical free hotel breakfast. This hotel was a great choice and will be the first place I check for any return visits to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear TexasMom333,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments about many of the things that make the Inn so unique.

It is great to know you found us so conveniently located. We are in a spot that makes it easy to enjoy downtown Santa Fe while still having your room only minutes away.

We hope to see you on your next visit!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.