We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cozy Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Parking incl.
Ranked #9 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Cozy Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

I will keep it simple...
Having traveled extensively and done the "resort thing", including the last time in Santa Fe, my wife and I wanted something alittle lower key, indiginous and cozy. The Inn of the Governors was an excellent find. We stayed for 6 days and 5 nights. Other positive reviews were generally right on, which is why we picked this establishment and you just cannot please everyone.
The location was within walking distance to the Plaza shops (200 yds). The staff had an excellent attitude and were very helpful (examples: we got in late one night and there were no more parking places, so the gentlemen at the front desk volunteered to move his car, so we would have a space, and another time we arrived at the end of breakfast and asked if there were any more newspapers, the staff member said to grab our breakfast (which was very well presented) and he went down the street and got some more. The point is we were just being gracious guests and they were stepping up thier game to be very accomidating. It is these little things in the service industry that people remember and make a place stand out above the rest. We got the "upgraded" room with a kiva (fireplace) and if that is your thing, it sure is worth it. These rooms are in the main building, are accessable by an elevator or stairs and have an interior entry door, which is better in the winter months and the noise was minimal. They give you a choice on what time you want your room made up and the rooms are very clean and well kept. The bathrooms are on the small size, but also well mantained and appointed. The saloon (bar) has a very feastive atmosphere, where locals and guests interact, and very reasonably priced drinks and food (corn and green chile chowder is excellent). Hope this helps....
Overall this was an excellent find and we would return the next time in the Santa Fe area.

  • Liked — Location and great staff
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    573
    298
    60
    13
    9
See reviews for
190
438
48
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

Very clean and pleasant decor throughout the property. We stayed in a standard room the first night. On nights 2 & 3, we stayed in a room with a Kiva wood burning fireplace. What a nice experience to have a fire just near the bed. All the details of a 4 or 5 star property were present here. Complimentary buffet breakfast with many choices. Afternoon sherrie and tea and cookies. A nice bar and light fare menu. Room service. An inviting pool. The staff gave good directions and knew what was going on in town. We had a very relaxing stay and it was nice to be so near to the Plaza.

  • Liked — Very nicely decorated to the theme of Santa Fe.
  • Disliked — Bathrooms are very small.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

Absolutely impressive small hotel in the heart of beautiful Santa Fe. Reserved it through hotels.com. Three of my friends and I stayed here in April last year for spring break, and we absolutely loved the service, charm, ambiance, decor, and also the fabulous breakfast buffet. There's also a restaurant in the hotel that served really good food with reasonable prices. The price of We had a standard double room in this hotel, and the rate we had was not that bad either. We totally enjoyed our stay here!

  • Liked — service, price, charm, location, breakfast
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
very rural Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

We visit Santa Fe once or twice a year and have enjoyed a number of hotels, but this property stands out for us. Deluxe king room with fireplace and balcony was immaculate. Entire hotel, from lobby up looked as if it had just been polished to a shine. Staff, from front desk folks to Ron (the great bartender at El Charro) to the hotel manager who personally poured sherry for afternoon tea and was assisting guests at breakfast the next morning, all made us feel genuinely welcome. Hotel location is perfect. We thought the entire experience was well worth the price.

  • Liked — friendly staff & quality Southwestern decor
  • Disliked — not yet energy efficient
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

My mother and I just spent 3 nights at this fabulous little hotel in Santa Fe. The location could not be beter and the staff was fantastic - welcoming and friendly. The room was well decorated, the beds & pillows very comfortable and the housekeeping was impeccable. The lobby is very attractive - makes you want to curl up with a book.

The breakfast in the morning was really good. Eggs with cheese, green chilis & salsa. Wonderful croisants. Bacon, Sausage, toasts, oatmeal, pancakes with berry syrup, great coffee and OJ. We spent 2 evenings at the hotel restaurant/tavern which I highly recommend. It was packed both nights but the staff was great and the Margaritas were the best we had the whole trip and we are marg snobs. $6 bux gets you an entire shaker full! Food is quite good - quesadillas, burgers, salads, stuffed poblanos etc. Limited menu but cheap $5-$7!! The ambiance is really nice as it's indoor/outdoor with heat lamps & fireplace. Seems like there were a lot of locals there too which is always a great sign.

Pool area looked very relaxing but water was a bit chilly for October even though the temps were 75 degrees outside. They provide big bath towels in the lobby for you as well.

Only complaint is the outside noise but this hotel is right downtown so what are you going to do? Stay in the country if you need complete quiet. There is also some early morning noise between the rooms which we just dealt with. We weren't there to sleep in any way.

Also recommend attending the FARMERS MARKET. It was fantastic, full of all kinds of foods, cheeses, produce, pumpkins, chilis galore, crafts, salsas, fresh baked breads...makes my mouth water just thinking about it. One of the best I have ever attended.

  • Liked — Location, food and quality of accomodations
  • Disliked — Morning noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in early October, We had a traditional room which was very clean with comfortable beds. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful serving both hot and cold choices. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful to us in every way.....with directions to restaurants and tourists places to see, making reservations etc.
I would highly recommend this hotel as a perfect place to stay in Santa Fe. It's closeness to the Plaza was another bonus.

Don't even bother to look any further ......the Inn of the Governors has it all. Although the rooms are not cheap, we did not break the piggy bank as one could at some other hotels in the area !

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

We stayed here just for one night last week and thought the place was nice. We had a superior room with fireplace. The room was well maintained and clean but did smell of smoke.

We ate at the Grill there and it was cheap but okay food! We ate at the bar and the waitress acted like we were bothering her.
The breakfast was wonderful and the girls were sweet. The front desk personel were helpful in directions and the room service guy was a hoot. We ordered hot fudge ice cream and they were great.

Our bill for one night on check out was $330.00. (for just the room and tax) I know that the hotel is in Santa Fe and close to the Plaza, but come on! The rooms are set up like a motel with the parking everywhere.

We had just come from Ouray, CO and spent $90.00 on a room that had alot more charm. Maybe we just don't get the Sant Fe mystic.

We would stay there again for a better price.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.