We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Can't Be Beat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free hot buffet breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Location Can't Be Beat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel offers average rooms with average amenities. (We had standard accommodations.) The best this hotel has to offer is the location and on-site parking that is included in the room rate. Getting around Santa Fe can be a major irritation so to park our vehicle and walk to many attractions, restaurants and galleries made for a more relaxing and enjoyable visit. We also enjoyed the bar/lounge/cafe located on the property.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if available. Hotel has busy streets along three sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear SnmaGal,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

Although I wish your stay had been better than average, I'm happy you found us to be conveniently located and we able to utilize the complimentary parking.

We appreciate the opportunity to have hosted your visit.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    367
    70
    18
    10
See reviews for
232
521
56
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Inn of the Governors offers comfortable accommodations near the Santa Fe Plaza. Location is outstanding, near great restaurants, galleries and shopping. Parking is included, which is a huge thing in central Santa Fe. My room had a wood burning fireplace, with extra firewood just outside the door. On my last evening, I had a 4am departure, and the desk staff made sure I had hot coffee and a muffin since I wouldn't be able to take advantage of the very good daily breakfast buffet. The Governor's Inn is comfortable, clean and conveniently located.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear dburgess56,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our great location and awesome staff! It's so nice to know that the staff was able to accommodate your needs. Our staff is the true backbone of the Inn and we are honored to have so many wonderful employees.

All of us are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

this was our second time to this hotel in the past 7 years. the last time we stayed in a standard room but decided to splurge this time and get the king deluxe room with kiva fire place and small patio. we loved being able to go outside and sit in the afternoons and have a glass of wine and watch the people. Our room looked over a parking lot but it also had a view of the mountains and parts of the plaza. We had breakfast included and the food was always exceptional as well as the service at the pool and bar. We love this hotel and would always stay here. it is one block off the plaza and perfect for walking to any place.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a king delux room with the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear thebeachgoers,

We are so happy you LOVED your stay with us and that you would stay with us on future visits.

Our deluxe rooms do offer a nice balcony and a bit more space to add just enough additional relaxation. So glad to know you enjoyed the room.

We look forward to hosting your next stay in Santa Fe.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have been to Santa Fe a few times before but this time I was traveling with my elderly mother and my sister who had recently broken her foot. We wanted a place that was close to downtown so that they could go back to the room if they needed to rest. This was the perfect location- about 2 blocks from the plaza. The free parking was another plus! The rooms were well decorated and, while not huge, they were very comfortable. The lobby is very charming and the afternoon sherry tasting was a fun experience. If you book directly with the hotel, they give you a credit each day to be spent in their restaurant. The food there is quite good and the green chile soup is "to die for"! Also, the breakfast buffet is large and yummy. It is much better than a typical free hotel breakfast. This hotel was a great choice and will be the first place I check for any return visits to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear TexasMom333,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments about many of the things that make the Inn so unique.

It is great to know you found us so conveniently located. We are in a spot that makes it easy to enjoy downtown Santa Fe while still having your room only minutes away.

We hope to see you on your next visit!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a great spot for beautiful, Santa Fe inspired rooms; delicious breakfast; lovely pool and fabulously friendly and helpful staff. We plan to come every year. The restaurant and room service is amazing and the food is fresh and delicious. The location and price are unbeatable. You are minutes from everything. Free parking too!!! YAY!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Chaiko2014,

Thank you for your recent review.

We are especially pleased that you found the staff fabulously friendly and helpful. And also that you enjoyed the pool and food at Del Charro.

No bigger compliment could be paid to us than you plan to return every year!

We look forward to seeing you again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We've been to Santa Fe several times but this was our first time staying at this property. Close walk to downtown. Parking spaces are narrow but it is free parking. Breakfast is really good, a little bit of everything plenty to pick from. There was no in-room safe in our room, just fyi. We had a basic king size bed and the room was ok size. Nice towels in the bathroom also had shampoo, conditioner and body wash dispenser on the shower wall. This is a nice place to stay and would return.
Enjoy Santa Fe!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear ap0805,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Inn.

We are so pleased you enjoyed the breakfast, our convenient location and our bathroom amenities.

I'm happy you mentioned the in room safes. We have just received our shipment of safes and have begun putting them into our rooms. The process should be complete by this weekend.

We do hope you can visit again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

From the moment you arrive, you feel welcome and valued at Inn of the Governors.

LOCATION: just a short 5 minute walk to the Plaza. My wife loved it because she could shop on her way to the Plaza and on the way back to our room. I was thrilled, sort of. We were centrally located to everything we wanted to see and even discovered a quaint neighborhood restaurant during our walk.

PARKING: on site but expect tight spots. You may have to get a little creative when it comes to maneuvering a larger vehicle in this lot. No worries. If you're like us, you'll park once upon arrival and walk everywhere else during your stay.

CHECK-IN: excellent in every way. Professional, welcoming and personalized service awaits you.

COMMON AREAS: clean, well maintained and completely in keeping with the Santa Fe style.

ROOMS: a number of different room layouts are available, depending on your needs. We rented two adjoining Queen rooms. Very clean, well-maintained and designed to wrap you in that southwestern style that brings people to the heart of Santa Fe.

BEDS: very comfortable - no aches and pains upon waking. That's how I know they're great beds. Linens are upscale adding to your nighttime comfort.

BREAKFAST: absolutely wonderful. Its not 'made to order' but it's as close to perfect as you can get for breakfast buffets.

INTERNET: we had no problem connecting a multitude of devices (laptops, smart phones and iPads) to their wireless service. We stayed during the weekend, and never had any load issues, even with a sold out property.

Overall, there's a place in Santa Fe that knows how to give you warm, professional and personalized service. They left us wanting for nothing, as they delivered on our every request with genuine smiles.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear RomanceWriter,

Wow! We genuinely appreciate your extensive review.

I laughed out loud when I read your comment about being "sort of" thrilled about the proximity of all the shopping. And I concur....so many temptations just a few steps away.

We are pleased you found everything to your liking. But, most of all, that you felt welcomed and you left wanting for nothing.

We do hope you are able to visit us again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,418 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.