We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have been to Santa Fe a few times before but this time I was traveling with my elderly mother and my sister who had recently broken her foot. We wanted a place that was close to downtown so that they could go back to the room if they needed to rest. This was the perfect location- about 2 blocks from the plaza. The free parking was another plus! The rooms were well decorated and, while not huge, they were very comfortable. The lobby is very charming and the afternoon sherry tasting was a fun experience. If you book directly with the hotel, they give you a credit each day to be spent in their restaurant. The food there is quite good and the green chile soup is "to die for"! Also, the breakfast buffet is large and yummy. It is much better than a typical free hotel breakfast. This hotel was a great choice and will be the first place I check for any return visits to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasMom333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear TexasMom333,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments about many of the things that make the Inn so unique.

It is great to know you found us so conveniently located. We are in a spot that makes it easy to enjoy downtown Santa Fe while still having your room only minutes away.

We hope to see you on your next visit!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a great spot for beautiful, Santa Fe inspired rooms; delicious breakfast; lovely pool and fabulously friendly and helpful staff. We plan to come every year. The restaurant and room service is amazing and the food is fresh and delicious. The location and price are unbeatable. You are minutes from everything. Free parking too!!! YAY!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaiko2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Chaiko2014,

Thank you for your recent review.

We are especially pleased that you found the staff fabulously friendly and helpful. And also that you enjoyed the pool and food at Del Charro.

No bigger compliment could be paid to us than you plan to return every year!

We look forward to seeing you again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We've been to Santa Fe several times but this was our first time staying at this property. Close walk to downtown. Parking spaces are narrow but it is free parking. Breakfast is really good, a little bit of everything plenty to pick from. There was no in-room safe in our room, just fyi. We had a basic king size bed and the room was ok size. Nice towels in the bathroom also had shampoo, conditioner and body wash dispenser on the shower wall. This is a nice place to stay and would return.
Enjoy Santa Fe!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ap0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear ap0805,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Inn.

We are so pleased you enjoyed the breakfast, our convenient location and our bathroom amenities.

I'm happy you mentioned the in room safes. We have just received our shipment of safes and have begun putting them into our rooms. The process should be complete by this weekend.

We do hope you can visit again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

From the moment you arrive, you feel welcome and valued at Inn of the Governors.

LOCATION: just a short 5 minute walk to the Plaza. My wife loved it because she could shop on her way to the Plaza and on the way back to our room. I was thrilled, sort of. We were centrally located to everything we wanted to see and even discovered a quaint neighborhood restaurant during our walk.

PARKING: on site but expect tight spots. You may have to get a little creative when it comes to maneuvering a larger vehicle in this lot. No worries. If you're like us, you'll park once upon arrival and walk everywhere else during your stay.

CHECK-IN: excellent in every way. Professional, welcoming and personalized service awaits you.

COMMON AREAS: clean, well maintained and completely in keeping with the Santa Fe style.

ROOMS: a number of different room layouts are available, depending on your needs. We rented two adjoining Queen rooms. Very clean, well-maintained and designed to wrap you in that southwestern style that brings people to the heart of Santa Fe.

BEDS: very comfortable - no aches and pains upon waking. That's how I know they're great beds. Linens are upscale adding to your nighttime comfort.

BREAKFAST: absolutely wonderful. Its not 'made to order' but it's as close to perfect as you can get for breakfast buffets.

INTERNET: we had no problem connecting a multitude of devices (laptops, smart phones and iPads) to their wireless service. We stayed during the weekend, and never had any load issues, even with a sold out property.

Overall, there's a place in Santa Fe that knows how to give you warm, professional and personalized service. They left us wanting for nothing, as they delivered on our every request with genuine smiles.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RomanceWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear RomanceWriter,

Wow! We genuinely appreciate your extensive review.

I laughed out loud when I read your comment about being "sort of" thrilled about the proximity of all the shopping. And I concur....so many temptations just a few steps away.

We are pleased you found everything to your liking. But, most of all, that you felt welcomed and you left wanting for nothing.

We do hope you are able to visit us again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My friend had stayed here before and loved it. I can see why.
Right from Charlene's welcome and help in the car park through to the serving of sherry with a smile, you're made to feel welcome and at home.
Rich breakfasts. A lovely atmosphere where guests are friendly and seriously nice to each other.
Lovely pool (even if it is a bit too warm).
It was a brilliant few days - the opera was terrific - and this charming and comfortable hotel was a key part of it.

Thank you. I want to come back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear AnneS,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review.

We are so glad to know your stay was terrific and that you were able to enjoy the opera while you were here. It is such a unique experience.

We do look forward to you visiting us again when your travels bring you back to Santa Fe.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in the heart of Santa fe. Nice atmosphere comfortable rooms and a great bar. Happily stay there again next time that I'm in Santa Fe. Very central location and the wood burning fires are a nice novelty.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear JohnS,

Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed our comfortable atmosphere and great bar.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My friend and I stayed two nights at this property - free parking in the lot and easy walking distance to all of the area's galleries, shops, restaurants and sights. Room itself was decorated in a pretty southwestern decor, loved slipping into a nice thick robe after a hot bath. The breakfast was alright; nothing special but there was plenty of it. The hotel staff at the desk was very good.

Room Tip: Our room was located over the parking lot at one end and on Friday night, the diners in their bar/re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ourlabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear ourlabs,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Inn.

We are pleased you were able to utilize our free parking and the Inn's convenient location. It's also nice to hear you found our decor to be pretty.

I have passed your comments regarding the complimentary breakfast on to the kitchen staff with the intent that the buffet will wow you next time.

My sincerest apologies that there was the loud noise outside keeping you from enjoying a good night's sleep. I will speak to our parking attendants to make certain this is not coming for our parking lot.

We would love to have another opportunity to host your stay. If you return Santa Fe, please contact me directly.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
gm@innofthegovernors.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,616 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing