We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the heart of Santa Fe...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Gem in the heart of Santa Fe...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

From the moment you arrive, you feel welcome and valued at Inn of the Governors.

LOCATION: just a short 5 minute walk to the Plaza. My wife loved it because she could shop on her way to the Plaza and on the way back to our room. I was thrilled, sort of. We were centrally located to everything we wanted to see and even discovered a quaint neighborhood restaurant during our walk.

PARKING: on site but expect tight spots. You may have to get a little creative when it comes to maneuvering a larger vehicle in this lot. No worries. If you're like us, you'll park once upon arrival and walk everywhere else during your stay.

CHECK-IN: excellent in every way. Professional, welcoming and personalized service awaits you.

COMMON AREAS: clean, well maintained and completely in keeping with the Santa Fe style.

ROOMS: a number of different room layouts are available, depending on your needs. We rented two adjoining Queen rooms. Very clean, well-maintained and designed to wrap you in that southwestern style that brings people to the heart of Santa Fe.

BEDS: very comfortable - no aches and pains upon waking. That's how I know they're great beds. Linens are upscale adding to your nighttime comfort.

BREAKFAST: absolutely wonderful. Its not 'made to order' but it's as close to perfect as you can get for breakfast buffets.

INTERNET: we had no problem connecting a multitude of devices (laptops, smart phones and iPads) to their wireless service. We stayed during the weekend, and never had any load issues, even with a sold out property.

Overall, there's a place in Santa Fe that knows how to give you warm, professional and personalized service. They left us wanting for nothing, as they delivered on our every request with genuine smiles.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear RomanceWriter,

Wow! We genuinely appreciate your extensive review.

I laughed out loud when I read your comment about being "sort of" thrilled about the proximity of all the shopping. And I concur....so many temptations just a few steps away.

We are pleased you found everything to your liking. But, most of all, that you felt welcomed and you left wanting for nothing.

We do hope you are able to visit us again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    322
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
202
459
51
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My friend had stayed here before and loved it. I can see why.
Right from Charlene's welcome and help in the car park through to the serving of sherry with a smile, you're made to feel welcome and at home.
Rich breakfasts. A lovely atmosphere where guests are friendly and seriously nice to each other.
Lovely pool (even if it is a bit too warm).
It was a brilliant few days - the opera was terrific - and this charming and comfortable hotel was a key part of it.

Thank you. I want to come back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear AnneS,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review.

We are so glad to know your stay was terrific and that you were able to enjoy the opera while you were here. It is such a unique experience.

We do look forward to you visiting us again when your travels bring you back to Santa Fe.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in the heart of Santa fe. Nice atmosphere comfortable rooms and a great bar. Happily stay there again next time that I'm in Santa Fe. Very central location and the wood burning fires are a nice novelty.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear JohnS,

Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed our comfortable atmosphere and great bar.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My friend and I stayed two nights at this property - free parking in the lot and easy walking distance to all of the area's galleries, shops, restaurants and sights. Room itself was decorated in a pretty southwestern decor, loved slipping into a nice thick robe after a hot bath. The breakfast was alright; nothing special but there was plenty of it. The hotel staff at the desk was very good.

Room Tip: Our room was located over the parking lot at one end and on Friday night, the diners in their bar/re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear ourlabs,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Inn.

We are pleased you were able to utilize our free parking and the Inn's convenient location. It's also nice to hear you found our decor to be pretty.

I have passed your comments regarding the complimentary breakfast on to the kitchen staff with the intent that the buffet will wow you next time.

My sincerest apologies that there was the loud noise outside keeping you from enjoying a good night's sleep. I will speak to our parking attendants to make certain this is not coming for our parking lot.

We would love to have another opportunity to host your stay. If you return Santa Fe, please contact me directly.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
gm@innofthegovernors.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a pretty little inn in old town convenient to many museums and restaurants. It's reminiscent of an old motor inn but well done. The lobby is comfortable and staff is friendly. Rates were decent and included a hot breakfast with eggs, meat,potatoes, fruit, yogurt and rolls with coffee, tea and juices. Or room was clean and well kept with comfortable king bed, chairs and table and a window that opened.
There was even a small working fireplace. The room decor was Native American, and was also I. Adobe style, as is everything in Santa Fe. The bathroom was tiny but very clean and had beautiful tile in the bath/shower. Towels were large and fluffy. Amenities were nice and they provide bathrobes. Our room also had a mini refrigerator. There is a Tea and Cookie hour in the lobby and always an iced water stand. There is a bar/cafe with happy hour. We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the government buildings, but had a rooftop view. Ask for a room with opening windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear brrhonda,

I genuinely appreciate you taking the time to share such an extensive review on trip advisor. I am also glad you found the bed comfortable, the amenities nice and we able to partake in our tea & sherry hour.

Thank you, too, for mentioning the staff. They enjoy knowing their efforts do not go unnoticed.

We do hope you will visit again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hopkinton, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were on a cross cx car tour and stayed here because of Tripadvisor review--We loved it- my daughter and I thought they were very friendly, hospitable and caring. The rooms were clean and well attended to, the buffet was really great and a good window in time to make it convenient for all. The 15 dollar voucher was great for an afternoon break sometimes with entertainment, the tea and sherry offering in the afternoon was also wonderful after a day of site seeing.
The location is beyond great ( I have arthritic feet and this is priority), with garage- this is like a little "boutique" hotel which I will take hands down anytime over anything else. When you factor in garage, afternoon tea break and cocktail voucher then it is a no brainer that I will come back here again.

Room Tip: there are 2 buildings that are connected and there may be rooms that would be farther away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear clwmurphy2014,

Thank you very much for your "great stay" review of your recent visit with us. We're so pleased you took the time to share your experiences.

It is so nice to know that everything from the staff friendliness to our location was terrific. We are sincerely thankful that you pay us the ultimate compliment by stating that you will stay with us again. We hope to see you again soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very nicely updated "motor inn" in the heart of Santa Fe. No complaints at all. Service excellent, good fresh fruit at buffet breakfast (but a shame to eat in a hotel while in Santa Fe), clean rooms, nice bath amenities. Three computers and printers for guests use free of charge. Sherry and cookies every afternoon. Sweet little pool area. Probably the hallway carpets could use updating. Parking a little tight, but plenty of it right in the heart of town. Not a deluxe hotel but perfect for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room not facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear ilonajane,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a kind review of your recent stay at the Inn.

It's very nice to know you encountered excellent service, the great complimentary breakfast and clean rooms.

We are glad you mention our Tea & Sherry hour and lobby computers as they are just part of what we can provide to make your stay unique. We are currently planning our next renovation and hope to be able to implement those upgrades as soon as possible.

Our staff and myself truly appreciate your detailed review of your visit and look forward to welcoming you back!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.