We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very happy with our choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Parking incl.
Ranked #9 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“very happy with our choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Husband & I stayed 4 days in Santa Fe. The real experience is to stay within the plaza of all the shops,museums, history sights, and great restaurants. Inn a Governers is located walking to all; have their own parking lot, no additional fees or valet to tip, fabulous breakfast included,pool, daily at 4pm, sherry, tea, & cookies. Guests sit arond meeting each other at this time and discuss where everyone comes from, etc. Fair pricing, rooms are the Santa Fe flavor in decor, very comfortable, & clean. We had a small adobe fire place in room, and what fun to make a fire and enjoy a glass wine. I will remember this hotel always for a pleasant experience. I highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Balcony, facing side of hotel most are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear 59 traveler2,

We are so pleased you and your husband were able to enjoy a lengthy stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your recommendation.

It's a pleasure to know you had a lovely time during tea & sherry. It is a wonderful time to converse with other guests and perhaps find something new to see.

We hope you are able to return to Santa Fe soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    584
    309
    61
    13
    10
See reviews for
197
447
48
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Inn of the Governors for five nights in April. This was our first visit to Santa Fe and we booked the hotel based on reviews. We were not disappointed. We stayed in a comfortable queen room in the main building.After nine hours of travelling, we arrived around 11 a.m. and we checked in without any delays.The delicious breakfast is included in the room rate and this is a great value. In addition, the hotel restaurant, the Del Charro was quite convenient and the food was reasonably priced. We ate there several times. Another convenience is that the Inn of the Governors is a pick-up location for the Custom Tours by Clarice trolley tour.

All of the staff were pleasant and helpful. We are looking forward to staying at the Inn of the Governors when we return to Santa Fe in a few months.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear hcb7th,

We are so pleased you and your daughter had a wonderful stay. We very much appreciate you taking the time to review your stay.

We, too, feel that Clarice's tram tour is perfect. They pick up at the Inn four times daily during the summer months. Since the cost is so reasonable, it's a great way to see the sights easily.

We look forward to seeing you again on your upcoming trip.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We are frequent guests at this hotel and find it to be one of the best deals if you want to explore old Santa Fe. Indeed, it is not to be compared with other more "upscale hotels" in town though we have stayed at some of those and find the Inn friendlier, more comfortable and appealing than hotels twice the price. We love the complimentary sherry and cookie hour every afternoon. If you are looking for a meal the El Charro restaurant is really very good. The daily $15 voucher is a good deal as most meals are modestly priced. It is also a family oriented facility. We really enjoy this hotel. The staff are friendly and anxious to please. I became ill while staying one year and they comped us a room for an extra night so I could recuperate. What hotel does that!! It is close to all the sites in old town and a concierge is available to help you plan events or find that special restaurant to heighten your southwest experience. Lastly, we have been staying at the Inn twice a year for about 10 years. Need I say more?

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms in the main part of the hotel have fireplaces, for those romantically inclined.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Schaeffer O,

Thank you for taking the time to review your December stay with us.

One of the best things about my job is having a staff that consistently takes good care of our guests. It is wonderful to know that they were so helpful in assisting you in your time of need.

Our repeat guests really do feel like family and we are so glad to count you among them!

We hope to see you again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Right in the heart of old town. Hotel is very conveniently located, has comfy and charming rooms, a good bar, a warm pool, varied and tasty breakfast and professional staff.
If we return to S Fe, we're staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Greg S,

It is a pleasure to know that your first visit to downtown Santa Fe was so satisfying.

We love knowing the rooms were comfortable, the staff professional and that you enjoyed Del Charro.

Thank you very much for your wholehearted endorsement and we look forward to your return.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is walking distance to everything in old city so if you don't want to drive, this is the place to stay. The rooms are quite large and have southwestern decor. Breakfast was included and is a standard buffet. We also had a $15 voucher to use each day and the restaurant on site is fairly good. If you have the $ to use, why not?! The place overall seems a bit dated and one would hope a renovation is on the horizon for this property. Service was fine. Nothing spectacular, nothing horrible, just an average property with a good location.

Room Tip: We had a balcony that just faced the parking lot. Not worth to pay more for this "amenity."...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Globetrottertoday,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. We appreciated the feedback.

I am pleased to know you thought our location was convenient and walking distance to many sights.

My apologies that our service and overall ambiance did not reach it's goal. We are in initial stages of renovation planning. Hopefully, our future enhancements will make a positive impact.

If your travels bring you back to Santa Fe, we hope you stay with us again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesilla, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

As residents of southern New Mexico, we frequently visit Santa Fe and almost always stay at the Inn of the Governors. Comfortable rooms with free parking-walking distance to the plaza and Railyard Area; a full hot breakfast- the best anywhere; AND a credit to spend at the attached Del Charo restaurant/bar make each stay a bargain as well. The staff are always friendly and helpful and Krissie, bar tender extraordinaire, makes the best Cosmo on the planet.

Room Tip: Main building has a little more charm, fireplaces, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Sally W,

Thank you for your continued patronage of the Inn! We truly value our repeat guests and feel like you are part of the family.

It is such a pleasure to see Krissy mentioned for her cosmo. She is a great asset in Del Charro.

We look forward to hosting your future visits.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a pleasant week-long stay at the Inn of the Governors. We opted for a 'traditional' room with a king size bed. Although the room was somewhat smaller than we are used to, it was adequate for our needs. It was tastefully decorated in traditional Santa Fe style, and was comfortable and very clean.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and we regularly enjoyed the sherry social hour hosted by the manager each evening in the very comfortable lobby. The breakfasts, included in the price of the room, were absolutely amazing! Each morning we were greeted with a fabulous buffet of delicious breakfast foods, including eggs, bacon, ham, sausage, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, assorted breads, the freshest pastries, and always another surprise or two (pancakes, waffles, etc.). Everything was so delicious! This is truly the best complimentary breakfast we've ever enjoyed at a hotel. We also appreciated the lovely, warm fires, blazing in the kiva fireplaces, in the breakfast rooms on cool mornings.

The location of this hotel cannot be beat for convenience. It sits in the heart of beautiful, charming Old Town Santa Fe, just a few short blocks from the Plaza, within easy walking distance to countless restaurants, art galleries, museums and shops. There are other perks that make this place a great deal - like the free parking, which is a rarity in the downtown area of Santa Fe. As we discovered on previous trips to Santa Fe, those parking fees can really add up. It was so wonderful to not have to worry about that this time.

We've stayed at five different places in previous trips to Santa Fe and, when we factor in price, convenience, value for the dollar, service, location, and miscellaneous perks, this hotel ranks at the top. We will definitely stay here again. Next time we might even opt for a deluxe room with a fireplace!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Renowriter,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review.

We are so pleased that the amenities we offer, atmosphere, staff and location resonated so deeply.

I encourage you to try the Deluxe fireplace rooms. These rooms are wonderful option year round, but can be a nice value in spring and late fall.

Of the 5 hotels you've visited in Santa Fe I am personally thrilled and grateful the Inn is at the top of the list.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.