We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lovely stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Parking incl.
Ranked #9 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed here 2 nights on a New Mexico road trip in early April, with my mom. The Inn remains classy and attractive. Biscochitos in the lobby at 5 were delicious, the breakfast options were varied and appealing. The room was very nice, and the punched tin accessories made me want to go shopping. Luckily the artisan who makes them has a shop across the street! I love the green doors with blue trim, and would want to stay here again. Location was perfect for walking to the Plaza, as well as to the Railyard area for dinner and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Holly W,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughtful review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback.

I'm so glad you mention Fred at Santa Fe tinworks. He does do wonderful work!

It is a pleasure to provide the complimentary breakfast and the tea, Sherry and cookie hour. We hope you can come back to enjoy them again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    586
    307
    61
    13
    10
See reviews for
197
446
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a most enjoyable five days at the Inn of the Governors in Santa Fe. Our room was comfortable and the staff was particularly friendly & helpful, notably at the front desk Arielle and Alberto. We chose not to have a car in that most attractions are within walking distance, so parking was never an issue. There is a free shuttle around the town.

Room Tip: We asked and received a room on the"quiet side", i.e. not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear markmd,

I am so pleased to read that your stay was "most enjoyable". Thank you for sharing your experience.

Our staff is truly the backbone of the Inn and I genuinely appreciate you recognizing Arielle and Alberto by name.

I hope to see you back with us again the next time you travel to Santa Fe.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My friend and I arrived around noon and had no delays in getting into our room. Parking is at a premium, although the Inn is in the perfect location and we didn't move the car until we checked out two days later! The Inn offers a breakfast buffet which is hot, delicious and plentiful and included in the room price. They also offered us $15 per day at Del Charro, their diner. Food there was also delicious with large portions for a very reasonable price. Both of us had lunch and we were still under our allotment each day. They had vendors in the lobby (a nice touch for the shoppers) and they offered teriffic restaurant choices for our dinner meals. Service was very helpful, room was clean and well appointed. We did not see the housekeeping staff but when we arrived after breakfast our room had been freshened up. They offer you a "full service" or a "partial service" which allows them to conserve their valuable water by not changing out the sheets and towels daily. We were a little concerned when we saw earplugs in a container on the vanity, but we did not need them! They thought of everything and we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Maruruss90,

Thank you for taking time out to post such a thoughtful and thorough review of your stay at the Inn.

We are pleased to know that our service, the room and the location was perfect! It is wonderful to read that all our amenities and thoughtful staff add up to a great stay.

We hope to host you again on your next visit!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Inn of the Governors during a week-long visit to Santa Fe. Given the length of our stay, the hotel upgraded us to a large room with separate seating area, balcony and fireplace. Nice touch. Breakfasts, included in the room rate, are varied and plentiful. Accommodations, while not luxurious are more than adequate and importantly, the bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel is a few blocks from the town square, making it easy to go back and forth on foot during the day. We found it easy to navigate from the hotel to the various sites outside of the city, as well. Originally, we had planned to stay in a higher end hotel in town but value for money, Inn of the Governors proved to be a great choice. Including breakfast, parking, taxes and gratuities, total costs were about 2/3 of the basic room rate of other 5-star properties at the time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Anne D,

We are so glad you found us and were able to enjoy the value!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We love knowing your complimentary upgrade was appreciated and our location made it easy for you to delight in all that Santa Fe has to offer.

We hope to see you again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I just stayed at this hotel for the first time on a family vacation. We had a good time but they are not the best for a family as we seemed to be looked at funny by staff and other guest. For the price we paid 250 a night I would stay outside the plaza area next time and enjoy the extra money. The breakfast was great and really followed the theme of the area with green chili and eggs.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear B4kreno,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are glad you stayed with us.

While I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and your stay, I am taken aback that you felt you were looked at funny by staff because you brought your family. We certainly want to maintain our family friendly atmosphere.

Would you mind emailing me directly so that I may contact you to discuss your experience? I would greatly appreciate it.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
gm@innofthegovernors.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Staff was friendly and kind. Immaculately clean room. Highly convenient location! Challenging to park but staff always out in lot to assist you to an open space. Main entrance is off of Alameda street and that is the only entrance for parking.
Always guests in the pool having fun.
Wonderful to have free breakfast with many options including hot foods (which was amazingly tasty- thank you!) and afternoon hosted sherry and tea is so thoughtful!
I asked for early check in a week before my arrival and it was immediately granted which was very convenient for this trip. Ariel and others at the front desk are prompt, courteous, and kind. You can tell they WANT to work there.
Wish I could have stayed longer- this hotel is much better than staying at a chain hotel where they are not nearly as friendly and accomodating.
Well done Inn of the Governors!

Room Tip: Rooms in the interior are quieter. We had an outside entrance room second floor close to Alameda str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Theresa D,

Thank you so much for your kind review!

I am so pleased to know that the staff, the breakfast and the sherry hour were enjoyed and made such a positive impact. Our continued goal is to offer as many extras as possible, and always with a smile.

It is very nice to see staff members mentioned by name. Thank you for remembering.

We hope to see you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have stayed twice at the Inn and will definitely stay there again when we come back to Santa Fe. It is conveniently located within walking distance of the Plaza and many great places to eat, shop and explore. We traveled both times via motorcycles and love that covered parking is available and at no charge. We planned our day trips to be back at the Inn around 2-2:30 each day so that we could spend time relaxing in the heated pool and take advantage of our $15 daily credit with awesome margaritas from Del Charo! We stayed in a Deluxe room on the second floor just up the steps from the lobby. The rooms are nicely decorated in authentic southwestern style and very clean. We can't wait for our next trip to Santa Fe and The Inn of the Governors!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear RCR2014,

Thank you for such a thoughtful review.

We are so happy you found everything to be enjoyable during both of your stays with us. I agree that our underground parking is perfect for motorcycles. Santa Fe and the surrounding area does have so many day trips to offer our visitors. Fall is also a lovely time to tour the area on motorcycles.

We look forward to seeing you again!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, JackRabbit Systems, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.