We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, historic boutique hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Parking incl.
Ranked #7 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful, historic boutique hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Staff was friendly and kind. Immaculately clean room. Highly convenient location! Challenging to park but staff always out in lot to assist you to an open space. Main entrance is off of Alameda street and that is the only entrance for parking.
Always guests in the pool having fun.
Wonderful to have free breakfast with many options including hot foods (which was amazingly tasty- thank you!) and afternoon hosted sherry and tea is so thoughtful!
I asked for early check in a week before my arrival and it was immediately granted which was very convenient for this trip. Ariel and others at the front desk are prompt, courteous, and kind. You can tell they WANT to work there.
Wish I could have stayed longer- this hotel is much better than staying at a chain hotel where they are not nearly as friendly and accomodating.
Well done Inn of the Governors!

Room Tip: Rooms in the interior are quieter. We had an outside entrance room second floor close to Alameda str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Theresa D,

Thank you so much for your kind review!

I am so pleased to know that the staff, the breakfast and the sherry hour were enjoyed and made such a positive impact. Our continued goal is to offer as many extras as possible, and always with a smile.

It is very nice to see staff members mentioned by name. Thank you for remembering.

We hope to see you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    579
    301
    60
    13
    9
See reviews for
193
441
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have stayed twice at the Inn and will definitely stay there again when we come back to Santa Fe. It is conveniently located within walking distance of the Plaza and many great places to eat, shop and explore. We traveled both times via motorcycles and love that covered parking is available and at no charge. We planned our day trips to be back at the Inn around 2-2:30 each day so that we could spend time relaxing in the heated pool and take advantage of our $15 daily credit with awesome margaritas from Del Charo! We stayed in a Deluxe room on the second floor just up the steps from the lobby. The rooms are nicely decorated in authentic southwestern style and very clean. We can't wait for our next trip to Santa Fe and The Inn of the Governors!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear RCR2014,

Thank you for such a thoughtful review.

We are so happy you found everything to be enjoyable during both of your stays with us. I agree that our underground parking is perfect for motorcycles. Santa Fe and the surrounding area does have so many day trips to offer our visitors. Fall is also a lovely time to tour the area on motorcycles.

We look forward to seeing you again!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay here. We booked a standard room with an outside entrance. We did not experience any issues. Parking was easy. We used our credits each evening at El Charro...very convenient, great food and very reasonable prices. We walked all over the area. The staff was so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear win1776,

It is such a pleasure to know that you loved your stay!

I genuinely appreciate all the feedback we receive and I thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit with us.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

On two prior trips to Santa Fe, we had stayed at the Inn and Spa at Loretto, which was nice .... but we wanted to try someplace new. The Inn of the Governors was great ... and I'd highly recommend asking for a room with a kiva fireplace. It was super easy to start, especially the first night when they had it all stoked and ready to be lit.

We had a room on the second floor in the main building ... there are severa wings. It was nice and pretty roomy, although the bath was fairly small. The hotel and room was filled with nice southwestern decor.

Plenty of food for breakfast ... buffet style. Hash towns were unexpectedly spicy ... be warned. We ate in the covered patio-style room, which was light and airy. (It has a whole bunch of overhead gas heaters for the cooler weather.)

So convenient to the historic plaza area and a hundred different cute shops. It was nice to be able to walk everywhere, particularly because the parking was a bit of a challenge at the hotel, so we didn't want to move our car once we were parked. We brought swimsuits but did not use the pool. It is pretty small and right outside the glass doors of the lobby.

Very nice overall. We'd definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kiva fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Maserk,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am so happy to see you found the Inn to be enjoyable and cozy. Our location is quite convenient to many museums, shops, restaurants as well as the Santa Fe Plaza.

We take your recommendation to friends as the highest praise and are so glad you stayed with us!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn of the Governors in late March. The inn is very clean, in a perfect location and filled with beautiful New Mexican art. The service is first class, and the breakfast is hearty and delicious. Definitely recommend if you want to get a flavor of Santa Fe. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Rain P,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to know you received great service, enjoyed the breakfast and hotel ambiance!

We definitely appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your return.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Friendly staff, classic, warm Santa Fe decor and two blocks from the plaza - what's not to like? SW breakfast buffet and tea or sherry in the afternoon complete the welcoming and comfortable experience. We'll be back here each time we visit Santa Fe.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear ElAbogado,

Thank you very much for the thoughtful review.

We genuinely appreciate your comments and recommendation. We certainly hope you will be back to visit the next time your travels bring you to Santa Fe.

In health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.