We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Wilmette, Illinois
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay here. We booked a standard room with an outside entrance. We did not experience any issues. Parking was easy. We used our credits each evening at El Charro...very convenient, great food and very reasonable prices. We walked all over the area. The staff was so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear win1776,

It is such a pleasure to know that you loved your stay!

I genuinely appreciate all the feedback we receive and I thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit with us.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    321
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
202
458
51
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

On two prior trips to Santa Fe, we had stayed at the Inn and Spa at Loretto, which was nice .... but we wanted to try someplace new. The Inn of the Governors was great ... and I'd highly recommend asking for a room with a kiva fireplace. It was super easy to start, especially the first night when they had it all stoked and ready to be lit.

We had a room on the second floor in the main building ... there are severa wings. It was nice and pretty roomy, although the bath was fairly small. The hotel and room was filled with nice southwestern decor.

Plenty of food for breakfast ... buffet style. Hash towns were unexpectedly spicy ... be warned. We ate in the covered patio-style room, which was light and airy. (It has a whole bunch of overhead gas heaters for the cooler weather.)

So convenient to the historic plaza area and a hundred different cute shops. It was nice to be able to walk everywhere, particularly because the parking was a bit of a challenge at the hotel, so we didn't want to move our car once we were parked. We brought swimsuits but did not use the pool. It is pretty small and right outside the glass doors of the lobby.

Very nice overall. We'd definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kiva fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Maserk,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am so happy to see you found the Inn to be enjoyable and cozy. Our location is quite convenient to many museums, shops, restaurants as well as the Santa Fe Plaza.

We take your recommendation to friends as the highest praise and are so glad you stayed with us!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn of the Governors in late March. The inn is very clean, in a perfect location and filled with beautiful New Mexican art. The service is first class, and the breakfast is hearty and delicious. Definitely recommend if you want to get a flavor of Santa Fe. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Rain P,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to know you received great service, enjoyed the breakfast and hotel ambiance!

We definitely appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your return.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Friendly staff, classic, warm Santa Fe decor and two blocks from the plaza - what's not to like? SW breakfast buffet and tea or sherry in the afternoon complete the welcoming and comfortable experience. We'll be back here each time we visit Santa Fe.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear ElAbogado,

Thank you very much for the thoughtful review.

We genuinely appreciate your comments and recommendation. We certainly hope you will be back to visit the next time your travels bring you to Santa Fe.

In health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This motel is just a couple of blocks from the main plaza in Santa Fe. They have free parking in a sometimes crowded parking lot. The breakfast spread is fabulous! Lots of choices, and something different every day. The sherry/tea in the afternoon is also very popular. We spent several days here and were impressed with the efficiency of the housekeeping department. Our room was always cleaned by the time we returned at lunchtime. The décor is pretty, with Navajo rugs on the walls, lace curtains and tiled bathroom. I don't think this place can be beat for location, comfort and price. We booked on line and got an additional $15 a day voucher for the on site restaurant, so that helped with the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear 52cali,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I will be certain to pass your comments on to the housekeeping department. They will really appreciate knowing their hard work doesn't go unnoticed.

I'm also glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the food credit.

We hope to see you again soon.

In health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We returned to the Inn of the Governors in February - this probably was our fifth or sixth stay. It continues to be a place we look forward to every year.
We booked a superior king. It's spacious, comfortable and quiet. The wood burning fireplace is a great extra - adds to the ambience.
Breakfast, as usual, is substantial and has plenty of variety.
Location: a block and a half from the Plaza.
We highly recommend the Inn of the Governors - and will return again and again.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the traditional rooms - they're fine but have exterior corridors. The superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear tejo42,

We wholeheartedly thank you for your repeat visits. It is such a pleasure to serve our guests who really do find us as their home in the heart of Santa Fe.

Your comments are greatly appreciated! We are glad to know the breakfast continues to delight and your room was comfortable and quiet.

We hope to see you again very soon.

In health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.