We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free hot buffet breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Really good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were in Santa Fe for new years eve. I will come back here without doubt. The hotel is clean, the price is reasonable. The location is good and the breakfast is really delicious. We were 7 adults and I kid. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear bogotamoni,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay on new year's eve. It is a pleasure to know you and your traveling partners found the Inn to be a good value, clean and the breakfast delicious.

We genuinely appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    350
    67
    17
    10
See reviews for
222
496
54
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn of the Governors. It is older and the rooms could use a little updating but we would definitely recommend this hotel.

The breakfast was magnificent and Carlos who waited on us did a marvelous job (They should consider opening 30 minutes earlier).

The bar/ restaurant was very reasonable and many of the locals also frequent the establishment. They are known for their margaritas and they will not disappoint. It is walkable to the square and we seldom used the car (free parking).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear jeffsmead,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Inn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Carlos IS a true gem! He has worked with us for many years and we are lucky to have him.

We hope to see you again very soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

A great weekend, only one issue - our room (not in the main building) kept dropping the internet.
Front desk asked us to call their internet service, which we did - spent 45 minutes on the phone with them - but nothing changed. Internet in the main building was fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear pacer-76-kc,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are delighted you found us on your first visit to Santa Fe.

My sincerest apologies that the internet was not working as expected during your stay. We have contacted our provider to determine the source of the problem.

Please let me know if I can offer any assistance prior to or during a future visit.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This authentic, well placed and priced abode is family owned with employee profit sharing makes the experience as a guest incredible. It is beautiful with hard working, friendly and incredibly helpful team of staff. They are committed to being more sustainable and are making strides to become a greener establishment. Beds are comfy and the parking, wi fi are included along with breakfast which is really good. Best bang for your buck, for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear permachick,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate that you noticed our increased efforts at "going green". We certainly want to do our part.

We hope you can join us again very soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We enjoyed a 3 day stay during February. I didn't think the price difference ($60 per day) to upgrade to a room with a fireplace was worth it. Our room did have authentic Southwestern decorative elements, comfortable chairs for reading, a large flat screen TV, table lamps on both sides of our king size bed (great for reading in bed), and a night light so that if you had to get up during the evening you wouldn't break a toe! There were two benches for use to conveniently position your luggage. The bed itself was comfortable with plenty of pillows but our room was too close to Alameda Street and the traffic noise was irritating. If they would weatherstrip the door it would be more energy efficient and quieter. Breakfast was really tasty with numerous choices. The scrambled eggs with chiles and onions/tomatoes were particularly good. We ate once at Del Charro but were disappointed that there weren't some good Southwestern choices included - would've loved a green chile cheeseburger. Their margaritas were excellent though. The easy walk around Santa Fe from here makes it a great choice- leave your car at the hotel and explore!

Room Tip: Stay as far from Alameda street as possible - noise interrupts your sleep if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear PassportTherapy,

My sincere apologies that your room was not as quiet as you would've liked! I will ask our engineering department to have a look at the balcony doors for possible improvement.

It is nice to see that the room was comfortable and functional for your needs. We are happy you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and Del Charro's Margaritas.

Please let me know if I can offer any assistance during a future stay.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsound, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

There are fancier hotels in Santa Fe, but The Inn is beautifully located-just two blocks from the Plaza, and is clean, friendly, and a great deal, with a daily free hot breakfast and sherry hour. Many rooms have kiva fireplaces, which are cleaned and re-set daily. If you need more space the suites are large and handsome. The decor is traditional southwestern, and the Inn is well known for its abundant and colorful plantings.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Gwen B,

We are so pleased to count you as one of our repeat guests! Thank you for your continued patronage.

Thank you also for taking the time to post your comments about your stays with us. We, too, feel our decor can contribute to the overall enjoyment of Santa Fe visits.

It is great to know you are fond of the hot breakfast buffet and tea & sherry hour.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

From the minute we walked into the lobby we knew we had selected the right place. After traveling all day, starting off in a snow storm, we immediately felt relaxed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean and the decor reflects the area. We could walk everywhere from museums to great restaurants and shopping. Tea and sherry at 4 pm was so relaxing and a chance to meet others and share places to see. Cannot say enough about the excellent breakfast buffet. The restaurant next door was not only handy but very good. The only negative was having to leave. A great place for a getaway with friends or family.

Room Tip: No fitness center or spa.....cannot rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Sebastian22013,

Thank you for the lovely review!

We are so pleased you found us and enjoyed everything from the staff to the tea & sherry hour. We hope your travels bring you to Santa Fe again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.