We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Marlton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 219 cities Reviews in 219 cities
436 helpful votes 436 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel is well located within walking distance to the Plaza and most major sights. The rooms are furnished in reds and browns, distinctly Southwest décor. The room was fairly large and had a kiva fireplace in the corner. This hotel had one of the nicest breakfast buffets that we ever had with Spanish and regular style eggs, spicy soup, waffles, bacon, fruit, sausage, hash browns, ham, etc. There is only an outdoor pool which is just okay. The lobby is very warm and inviting with a very homey feel. There is a city tour that picks up right at the hotel. Hotel staff is kind and helpful. We were on a package where we had a $25 food credit if we ate at the restaurant attached to the hotel, Del Charro. I was not sure how good it would be, but it turned out to be very good. The price for our meal was $35, so after the credit, we both ate for $10 which was a great deal.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Angeleyes27,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us!

We are so pleased you enjoyed our decor, the yummy complimentary breakfast buffet and lobby. Having the tram tour pickup right outside our door IS very convenient. These tours are a great way to see many of the things Santa Fe has to offer.

I am also quite happy to see you enjoyed Del Charro!

We hope you are able to stay with us again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    322
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
202
458
51
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Unfortunately, we had only one night to spend at this lovely hotel. Super helpful staff, especially at reception. They have a nice tradition of serving coffee/tea or sherry from 3-5pm daily. We opted for a room with a fireplace. It was great; starter and wood were supplied by the hotel. The location was ideal for exploring the shops along the square. They had a heated outdoor pool which was great. What impressed me most was the exceptional attention to guests with disabilities. They had an excellent breakfast buffet with standard fare as well as southwestern foods as green chili stew and quesadillas. Rooms were exceptionally clean and spacious. Can't say enough good things about this establishment.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a fireplace. It's worth it, if not just for the ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear AlamedaYankeegal,

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review! I am so glad you were able to interact with our helpful staff and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet.

It's nice to see your mention of our attention to guests with disabilities. Our goal is to make certain each guest enjoys their stay to the fullest extent.

We look forward to seeing you again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice hotel and a good location in Santa Fe! I thought it was a bit over-priced, but the breakfast was nice and the El Charro lounge came in handy since the afternoon was rainy. There is a pick-up for the Santa Fe tram tour right in front of the hotel. Parking lot was pretty cramped, but we managed to get our pick-up in a spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Saundy S,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are pleased you found our Inn to be convenient and enjoyable.

You mentioned you found us pricey in August. That month is generally the most expensive month of the year to stay in Santa Fe due to Opera season and Indian Market. June is usually more affordable in the summer or November through April in our low season.

We hope to have the opportunity to host your stay again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

In addition to it's location in the heart of downtown Santa Fe just walking distance from great restaurants, fine shops and galleries and historical sites, the ambiance of this hotel was wonderful and consistent with the surrounding area.

The complimentary sherry or tea that was served in the lobby at 4:00 was a nice added touch and the breakfast that was included in the room fee was the best I have ever eaten.

We will definitely return to this hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in a basic, least expensive room and found it to be very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Betty W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay we us. We genuinely value your comments. It is great to know you enjoyed our location, ambiance, breakfast and tea & sherry.

We look forward to hosting you again very soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Point, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I am in Santa Fe for the first time on a business trip. Although I chose the property because it was an approved hotel for my company, it ended up being a very nice surprise. They let me check in early which was unexpected. Very clean and a large room. Nice view of the Cathedral from my window. They have a reception from 4-5 in the lobby with free tee and sherry. The sherry was quite nice. Del Charro is a saloon/pub attached to the hotel with great atmosphere. I was very surprised by the property and will stay here again. Only wish it had a workout facility.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear jsieg,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us at the Inn. We are so pleased to have been a small part of making a work trip a bit more enjoyable. It is nice to know you were able to check in early; we want to accommodate this whenever possible.

My apologies that we do not have a workout facility. However, we are happy to give directions to a few nice facilities that are close by.

I hope you are able to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Santa Fe.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed for a week in mid-November as a solo birthday trip, and this was the perfect base to enjoy a wonderful week. I was pleasantly surprised to find myself upgraded to a larger room due to the length of my stay, and the room was charming, large, quiet, clean, and comfortable. The location could not be more convenient, both for walking around the center of Santa Fe or getting on the major roads for day trips. The free and plentiful parking also made having a rental car no hassle at all and allowed me to take some wonderful trips to Taos, Ghost Ranch, and some of the ancestral Pueblo sites. The breakfast buffet had great choices, both traditional American and spicy southwestern options. They were so filling I didn't have to eat lunch a few days. Honestly, as someone from the East coast I thought I didn't like chilaquiles until I had them here. The coffee was also great and they provide travel cups for you to take one back to your room or on the go to start your day, which was greatly appreciated. The cookies, tea, and sherry were always welcome in the afternoons -especially the delicious cookies. Altogether, my trip to Santa Fe was one of my smoothest-running vacations and I attribute a lot of it to the thoughtful little touches of the Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear alexia_argyri,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to write such a thoughtful review. You described almost every aspect of the Inn and it is a pleasure to share your comments with our staff. I am happy to know you were able to enjoy trips to surrounding sites as Northern New Mexico has so much to offer.

We look forward to hosting you as our guest again in the future!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We decided on the Inn of the Governors for a New Years Eve getaway and booked a superior room with the kiva fireplace. The Inn of the Governors is an excellent location which offers most of central Santa Fe within an easy walking distance. Hotel appears to be well run and does a good job of addressing the needs or wants of their clientele.

While our room was comfortable and well appointed, our only criticism would center on the bathroom. The Mexican tile work appeared to have been done by an amateur and the vent fan needed attention or total replacement.

Since our room fee included a breakfast buffet we had breakfast on New Years Day and it was certainly adequate. The Del Charro Saloon is a well known "locals spot" and their house margarita continues to set the standard for margaritas in the area.

Room Tip: We would recommend the superior room with a fireplace. Even though it was a full house, noise was m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Neil C,

I am so glad to know you had a pleasant stay with us on New Year's Eve! Thank you for reviewing your stay. I apologize that the bathroom and fan were in need of attention. I will have that room looked into right away.

It's great to know you enjoyed Del Charro with the locals! I know it was lively on New Year's Eve. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.