We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve Splurge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Pool Upgrades
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Splurge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We decided on the Inn of the Governors for a New Years Eve getaway and booked a superior room with the kiva fireplace. The Inn of the Governors is an excellent location which offers most of central Santa Fe within an easy walking distance. Hotel appears to be well run and does a good job of addressing the needs or wants of their clientele.

While our room was comfortable and well appointed, our only criticism would center on the bathroom. The Mexican tile work appeared to have been done by an amateur and the vent fan needed attention or total replacement.

Since our room fee included a breakfast buffet we had breakfast on New Years Day and it was certainly adequate. The Del Charro Saloon is a well known "locals spot" and their house margarita continues to set the standard for margaritas in the area.

Room Tip: We would recommend the superior room with a fireplace. Even though it was a full house, noise was m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Neil C,

I am so glad to know you had a pleasant stay with us on New Year's Eve! Thank you for reviewing your stay. I apologize that the bathroom and fan were in need of attention. I will have that room looked into right away.

It's great to know you enjoyed Del Charro with the locals! I know it was lively on New Year's Eve. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    330
    63
    14
    10
See reviews for
205
467
53
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

On our way to Colorado but wanted to stop in Santa Fe for a day of shopping and decided to stay here. They were responsive to email inquiries, prompt and professional on the phone, and we were greeted by the most hospitable general manager who even helped us park out oversized load. Add a great margarita, a warm social reception, cozy rooms, heated pool for the kids on a cold day, and you have a great little Inn. Price is a above average but you definitely get the bang for your buck. We will repeat this visit and return here again!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Hbaf214, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and will return again. I am quite proud of our complimentary amenities such as the tea & sherry hour and buffet breakfast. It's great to hear you and your family were able to enjoy some of these offerings. We hope to see you again soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stay at the Inn of the Governors every time we travel to Santa Fe and just love it! It's location, the rooms, the great Del Charro...all keep us coming back! I can't imagine staying any place else in Santa Fe....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Sherri S, Thank you so much for your whole-hearted endorsement of the Inn! We truly appreciate your repeat business. Seeing our guests year after year is one of the things that makes my job great! Please let me know if I can ever be of any assistance.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I recently enjoyed a long weekend at the Inn of the Governors. It helps, but you don't have to be a huge fan of the Southwest interior decor to enjoy a stay here. The service is really good and always personable. We were met with friendly smiles and helpfulness every interaction we had with the Governor's staff.

The restaurant offers a great selection of reasonably priced and well-made food. I spoke on several occasion with Sam, the General Manager and was impressed with how close he works with his co-workers. Few (if any) are the times I've seen a GM help out in a bar, seat guests at their table and then take time to talk with the. The warm and welcoming atmosphere aside, this hotel has several other things going for it:

• Perfect location at center of Old Santa Fe
• Heated outdoor pool
• WiFi included in room rate
• Complimentary afternoon sherry and snacks
• Complimentary breakfast buffet (huge selection!)
• Great coffee and complimentary mugs/lids for takeaway
• Complimentary peppermint candy

The Inn of the Governors is definitely a place I can recommend for folks visiting Santa Fe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Joakimrabroff, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I really appreciate that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful - as that is our constant goal. It was a pleasure to speak to you and I'm glad you enjoyed Del Charro. On behalf of our staff, we hope to welcome you back very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska USA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

My adult daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our birthdays. I thought it was a great value for the price. Onsite restaurant was one of our favorites. Afternoon complimentary tea/sherry was a treat - we felt very spoiled by staff. Room was nice with a few extra touches - loved how the curtains made it totally dark for sleeping. Complimentary breakfast buffet was delicious and expansive. Again staff was attentive and gracious. We could have spent more elsewhere but this was perfect for us - walking distance to everywhere except airport.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Beaniennebraska, It was certainly our pleasure to host you and your daughter on such a special occasion. Thank you for choosing the Inn and for posting a review of your stay. I am so pleased you found our offerings to be a good value and comfortable as well! We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you are in Santa Fe.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

It's all the little things that add up. Free parking, breakfast, tea cookies and sherry in the afternoon. My personal little fav, the doors don't auto-shut so you don't hear slam, slam, slam all day and night. The staff is lovely, helpful and just plain nice. We stay every year on our girls trip to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear itstoday, Thank you so much for your recent review of the Inn of the Governors. We are so pleased the complimentary breakfast, parking and tea & sherry hour were a delight to you and your friends. Also, the staff and myself truly appreciate your repeat business. We hope to see you again very soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel near the plaza has it all. Comfortable beds, great breakfast, free parking for guests, good service, in house bar/grill has great food at solid value. it's a fun place to gather. We have stayed in more discount places before and with all you get here, we will make it our go to lodging here in SF... there really wasn't anything I have to complain about.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear chuckybear, Thank you for posting such a kind review! We are thrilled that you found everything to be to your liking. One of our ongoing goals is to provide useful amenities in a warm atmosphere. We hope to see you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.