We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We made a great choice to stay in this hotel and I would do it again. The location was great, quiet but easy walking distance to restaurants, the Square, and museums. Breakfasts were wonderful and the restaurant was a great value. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Liked the sherry and cookies in the afternoon and the local artifacts throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Susan A, Thank you very much for sharing your comments. Our staff is very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and you will return! Our tea & sherry hour is a wonderful time each day to relax in the lobby and chat with other guests. We hope to see you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    321
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
202
458
51
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very friendly Inn, close to the plaza. Great breakfast buffet. Also good lunch food. Did not try for dinner. Parking is tight but free. Get a room with a kiva if weather is cool. We did not have a room with a view but it was nice and quiet.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room in the main but older building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear orchidguy87, Thank you for your recent review of your stay with the Inn! I appreciate your comments and feedback and am happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and Del Charro. The parking can be tight if we are busy, but we make every effort to ensure enough room for all our guests. The rooms with the wood burning fireplaces are quite enjoyable during our cool winter months. Our staff look forward to welcoming you again!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful celebration and family reunion at Inn of the Governors where we spent 3 nights. Our group took 5 rooms and each was configured a little differently, but all were just wonderful. The staff is the best we've ever encountered. My husband and I hosted a small dinner in the Governor's room. Deb, the staff person in charge of catering services was extremely accommodating. I wanted to show a slide show with my Apple computer. She provided the projector and adaptor for no extra charge. They even provided a lovely centerpiece for the table and they allowed us to decorate the room with balloons and banners. The GM went out of his way to make us all happy. He even gave our grandson a plate of chips and salsa when all the cookies were gone from the lobby and our grandson said he was hungry. We have stayed at the Inn before and consider it our family's special gathering. place as we come from 3 different states. The location is ideal too--walking distance to the plaza. The Inn of the Governors will always hold a special place in my heart.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Sharon, I am so pleased your family had a wonderful stay! It is an absolute pleasure for our staff and myself to be of service. Thank you for your continued patronage of the Inn and the magnificent review of your recent visit. We all look forward to seeing you again soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Inn of the Governors is superb across the categories we all care about - customer service, room size, cleanliness, location, value, etc. But, even more impressively, all the details in this establishment are just as you would want them - real Native American rugs, beautifully restored furniture and staff that has impeccably positive attitude, for example. The overall experience, then, is outstanding and memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Inn. We couldn't be more pleased that everything about your stay was superb! We especially appreciate knowing that our staff was helpful and positive. We hope to see you again in the very near future.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We travel to Santa Fe almost every year and always stay at The Inn of the Governors. We've seen many changes over the years but it just keeps getting better. The complimentary breakfast is above and beyond most hotels and actually is freshly prepared AND tastes good! The bar, Del Charro has delicious food and drinks and is so reasonably priced. The only problem we have is getting a table because it is so good and popular, especially with the locals. The location is perfect and it's so quiet and relaxing. The only negative is that the rooms could use some updating, especially in the bathroom areas but that is so minor. It is super clean and the beds are really comfy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi Kathy, Thank you so much for patronizing the Inn for 15+ years! We are so happy to have guests like you returning year after year. We like to know you appreciated your room cleanliness, your bed, the staff and Del Charro! We are in the beginning stages of looking at our next renovation and hope to have something in the works soon. I look forward to your next visit!

In health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We celebrated our 10th anniversary traveling through Arizona and New Mexico..The Inn of the Governors was wonderful..Our room featured a kiva and a balcony. Nice breakfast, courteous staff, clean rooms, wonderful amenities and a great bartender!! Really enjoyed the fact that locals patronized the bar. I would not hesitate to return to the Inn. There was only one slight drawback.... parking was free, but at a premium.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi Joliejambe, I'm so thrilled you were able to spend part of your 10th Anniversary trip with us! Thank you for commending the room, breakfast and staff! Del Charro does have quite a lively following from both locals and visitors! We are glad you were able to have fun there! We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The best thing about visiting Santa Fe is walking around, and the central location is great. They have a range of rooms, but the reasons we come back are: heated outdoor pool, free parking and near the plaza, very nice full breakfast is included, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. There are more elegant hotels, but do you really want to be in the room, or do you want to be in Santa Fe?

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are quieter and have fireplaces and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi Kristin, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We truly appreciate your comments. Although we try hard to provide inviting and comfortable rooms, I agree that time is best spent out enjoying all that Santa Fe and Northern New Mexico have to offer. We hope to welcome you again soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.