We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay in Santa Fe!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Pool Upgrades
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay in Santa Fe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were initially drawn to the Inn of the Governors by their location (in relation to the plaza and easy access), their parking (central in Santa Fe), and also the inclusion of their breakfast. We weren't disappointed by any of these. The hotel is not glamorous, nor is it spa-like. It is charming and feels small in comparison to La Fonda or the Inn at Loretto. It is relatively quiet (La Fonda seemed like Disney Land - frenetic and noisy!) It is also not as expensive. It's not the cheapest place to stay either. This is an older hotel (I think the original building was built in 1965) that was added on to as it grew in popularity. The lobby has comfortable seating for just hanging out (they have an afternoon tea/sherry hour). The dining area expands to their heated patio where there's an outdoor fireplace. They have a heated pool, too, in a little courtyard area that I imagine in the spring is lush with flowers.

The main building has an elevator - for those who find stairs challenging. We stayed in the main building and had a room with a kiva which was lovely. Others in our party were in an adjoining building and stayed in a mini suite, which was huge, but no fire place.

The bathroom in our room could have been 6-12 inches larger and it would have made a huge difference. It also had a drop ceiling which wouldn't bother anyone under 5'6". However it did make showering a challenge, doing a back dip in order to get your head wet, and the mirror was only able to display your torso, no head. We're not giants and found it amusing, but also wondered if they could make any improvements in this area. This is also the 2nd hotel I've recently stayed where the toiletries (shampoo, body wash and conditioner) were in large bottles. Really smart with regard to waste, etc... Housekeeping was amusing and friendly and ready to serve. I found the bed to be too hard, but no one else in our party complained. Our room was located right next to the elevator and we weren't bothered by it at all - nice and quiet.

The hotel sent us the local Santa Fe guide in advance of our trip. We all found that helpful and a very nice, considerate touch.

The Hotel St. Francis is a half-block away and a great place to have a drink and people watch. Cafe Pasqual's is a little bit further and a great place to dine - casual, but make reservations. Really couldn't beat the location and parking deal. The hotel has all sorts of rooms tucked in all over their property. They've really made the best out of their location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    328
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
204
463
52
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray Alberta Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at the Inn 8 days, motel side as full. Wonderful free breakfast, heated pool, pub style bar, free parking and very pleasant staff. Shopping is everywhere around the hotel as well as lots of eateries. Close to Taos, Albuquerque within 1 hour by car. The rooms have a small bathroom with outside vanity and free coffee. Some rooms more luxurious but as it was Balloon Festival they were booked well ahead. Great value and location!!

Room Tip: Choose room away from road. Hotel side has more amenities like fireplaces, larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

First impression - wow! First trip to New Mexico and what a first impression. Santa Fe is exceptional. It is clean, scenic, artistic, historic and exudes an air of tranquility. Amid this, sits the Inn of the Governors. While a tad on the expensive side it does balance the cost by offering fantastic service, complementary breakfasts, a $15.00 daily voucher for use in their restaurant, afternoon tea and sherry, good wifi and onsite parking. Given that you could walk to all major sites in the town this was a bonus. The only downside would be the noise level could be loud at times due to traffic. This is not a deal breaker though. The rooms are done up in a southwest style and are neat and clean. My wife and I are retired professionals with extensive travel experiences. This Inn has become one of our favourites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was my first impression of New Mexico - brilliant. The quality of the rooms, cleanliness, location within the city and with an adjacent car park. Breakfast was impressive.
Prior to my visit I asked for help in transport arrangements from the airport - immediate and useful response received.
If I am being picky, the only shortcoming is wifi only available in the reception area - for this quality of hotel I would expect it in my room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here one night only in July,a lovely hotel with good facilities,and a great pool.The staff are very helpful and friendly,checking in is quick.You get to have afternoon tea and or sherry around the pool at 3pm which is a nice touch,but at £180 a night you've paid for it I reckon.The hotel is well located for a stroll around Santa Fe,but with the price its very prohibitive,to me anyway,after all it's a hotel / motel in Santa Fe,not London,Paris or Rome,pricing to one side,it is a nice all round hotel...

Room Tip: No tips,but check prices as I have since heard that some are cheaper,although no one on the staff me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have stayed here for years and loved it. It is the best ever. This visit we had 2 nights laundry for two people and we wear jeans for two days, just fresh underwear, socks and tops. We decided to send it out thru the motel. We got back from a day out and our laundry had been put in our room. When we arrived the ticket was on it and it was 90.10. We were shocked. Why would the motel do business with people like this.
Again we have come here for probably 5 years and if we have laundry we take it out and pick it up, We have always had much more laundry and it ran around 35 bucks. Shocked the Inn of The governors would deal with these folks. Kind of ruined our stay.
Just totally shocked! We called the front desk and voiced shock and was told a manager would call us back, a lot of others had complained. Seriously, and they are still using them. So disappointed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
My sincere apologies for difficulty you experienced with the laundry service! We have adjusted the cost off your account. We have used this company for many years and have always been satisfied with their same day pickup and delivery service. After reviewing your ticket, I noticed there were 27 items sent out. Unfortunately, anything more than a few pieces can be quite expensive. We will review our policies to ensure that all guests are aware of the cost prior to the laundry being sent out. Again, I offer my deepest regrets and hope you return to the Inn on your next visit to Santa Fe. Please contact me directly if I can offer any additional assistance.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
gm@innofthegovernors.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We, really my wife, wanted a nice plaza location. This is what this is. The room, the less expensive option, was a nice hotel room. The staff was excellent, the breakfast fantastic, the restaurant and the credit they offer provided us nice meals. It is an older facility, but well kept up. There is covered parking which was especially nice for us on a motorcycle. We were close to and within walking distance to the sights we wanted to take in. Stayed 2 nights here. Seemed like most of the guests were age 60+.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.