We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Pool Upgrades
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great rooms, service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Inn of the Governors for five nights and were delighted with the room, the friendly and helpful service from all the staff and the location. We were up-graded to a kiva room for an extended stay and it was spacious, and especially well-appointed with Native American and Spanish fixtures. Comfortable king bed, chairs for evening reading and plenty of room. The breakfast was a good full buffet, and the afternoon sherry and tea (with delicious cookies) in the large, comfortable lobby or around the heated pool was a nice added touch. The pool area is very pleasant and added a congenial outside place to relax after a day around town. The flowers and plantings in the walled pool area as well as throughout the property gave the Inn a sense of quiet privacy two blocks from the plaza and within easy walking distance of many excellent restaurants. We wanted a car for a couple of trips out in SF and Taos, but if you are staying in Santa Fe, the walkable location of the Inn plus a free shuttle (and city bus I think) out to Museum Hill or the Railyards makes a car unnecessary. Overall, a terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Santa Fe and at the Inn of the Governors.

We hope you are able to stay with us again in the near future.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
gm@innofthegovernors.com
505-954-0332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    328
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
204
463
52
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for two evenings at the Inn of the Governors during the Fiesta de Santa Fe and found it to be a good experience overall. We booked through expedia, and had a room with two double beds - the room was a little crowded, and the bathroom a little small, but it was livable for a few days. On the positive side, everything was very clean, and the room is decorated in New Mexico style. With only one exception, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel restaurant was really a bar, and the fare was merely average. There is so much good food in Santa Fe, I cannot recommend wasting time or money there. The hotel is about a block form the Plaza, and they walk there is filled with shops and galleries. You can also walk to restaurants in all price ranges. We would stay here again, and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate all your comments and are glad you encountered helpful staff during your stay.

Next time please book directly on our website to receive a nightly $15 food credit to our restaurant. Our margaritas can't be beat!

We hope to see you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a GREAT hotel. The rooms are beautiful. They lay a fire for you every night with special wood and starter. The breakfasts are sumptuous and fabulous. The hotel restaurant was really good too. All we did was walk to town every day which was very close. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We got a room with a balcony and the sunsets were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our fireplace rooms are so cozy, especially in the cool fall and sometimes snowy winter months. We hope you return for another visit very soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Inn of the Governors just a couple of blocks away from the Plaza in Santa Fe, New Mexico. It was really nice. Room was a little small, but clean. The only problem we had was after being out a little late we wanted to go back to our room and relax and watch t.v. Previous guests must have messed with the t.v. because we could not get any channels. After calling to the front desk the security guard came up to our room and messed with it and after a few minutes got it working. They had no maintenance crew on hand late at night. Breakfast buffet has a lot of food and was pretty good. Pool was nice and warm. Overall ambiance was nice and cozy. Restaurant was good with reasonable prices. Overall very good.

Room Tip: More expensive rooms are larger and west side rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent review! We very much welcome your comments and feedback. Our apologies that the previous guest made it difficult for you to enjoy downtime in your room. We appreciate the chance to rectify the situation.

We hope that you can return to the Inn of the Governors if your future travel brings you back to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a three night stay at Inn of the Governors. Our Superior King room was comfortable and spacious. My only complaint was that the bathroom vanities were very low! The height would have been great for a 6-year old child, but was uncomfortable for me (5'3") let alone my 6 ft tall husband! The hotel lobby is small, but cozy and warmly decorated. Staff was friendly and helpful. Afternoon tea and sherry were a nice touch. The included breakfast buffet was nothing special, but certainly more than adequate. We booked our reservation at a promotional rate that included a $15 per day credit in the hotel's saloon, Del Charro, but would probably not bother with that again. It was okay for a light meal, but was very crowded and noisy later in the evening. Overall, this is a nice place for the price and the location right on the Plaza can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello "danseme"! Thank you for staying at the Inn of the Governors and for the review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Your comments about the vanity height are very important to us and we will use that as consideration when we are able to make changes.

My apologies that our complimentary buffet breakfast did not impress on this visit. We consider the buffet to be one of our most valuable features. We will take measures to make certain the items offered are fresh and delicious.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscola, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The room was clean et attractive in southwestern decor...loved the kiva. The bathroom is small but was clean so was ok---they need better lighting as combo tub/shower is dark with curtain drawn. Could use a little updating. Staff very pleasant. Breakfast buffet wasn't wonderful but coffee was good et the pastry was good. (I like my food hot et buffets that fit the bill are hard to find) It is free so think you can find something satisfactory. The hotel was full et people were filling their plates et eating! The location is fabulous! You can easily walk to shops, plaza, restaurants---just great. Love, love, love the free parking. When we have stayed in Santa Fe previously had valet parking et was a major pain. Lots of parking available. Would stay here again if returning to Santa Fe!

Room Tip: Ask to have a room that doesn't overlook the rooftop
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We booked last minute, direct with the Inn's Reservations for Labor Day weekend. They were so kind and we were able to stay in the Governors Wing in a Suite with Fireplace and Balcony. Our daughter and her husband were able to stay across the hall in a Suite with Balcony. The position of the rooms worked well for us. Our rooms were well maintained. My daughter had a Birthday Cake delivered while we were out and the Hotel placed it in our room for her. Then the Hotel kept it in the Hotel Refrigerator after her husbands Birthday celebration. They really accommodated us. Loved the flowers and landscaping around the hotel. We enjoyed sitting in the patio area for the included breakfast every morning. The Hotel has a great location and we were able to park our rental car at no additional cost. We were very comfortable and we will stay here again and again. P.S. There is a pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.