We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in the heart of Santa Fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in the heart of Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip. The last time I was in Santa Fe on business, we stayed at Hotel St. Francis, and I was not happy with the experience. Although the hotel is charming, the rooms are incredibly small and lacking amenities (picture the door hitting the bed when you enter the room). My stay at Inn of the Governors was better. This hotel is just as charming, but the rooms are larger and more representative of a standard size room. The rooms are all situated on outside corridors lined with flowers. The hotel offers a complimentary hot breakfast with a decent selection of choices. There are many great restaurants within walking distance. This is somewhere I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    321
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
202
458
51
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Loved staying at this "non-corporate" feel hotel. Our room was spacious for two, the breakfast was fantastic, the evening outdoor fireside venue is wonderfully cozy, and the folks at the desk couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The only two drawbacks observed was that the room key didn't work multiple times and poolside could use a bit more shade. Also, if handicapped accessibility is necessary, be sure to ask for a room in the main building with elevator service when booking, otherwise, using stairways to your room in an adjacent building is the only option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

On a positive side, the room was clean and spacious and very close to The Plaza. The location was perfect. But the bad far outweighed the good and we would not stay here again. The service was not good. For example, we had to ask for help to get our bags to the room. The person just opened the door, dropped the bags and didn't orient us to the room or even help turn on the lights. The sheets were like sandpaper. There was a complimentary breakfast, but it was no better than what you'd find at most hotels (e.g. a breakfast buffet). And, the concierge told us the wrong time for breakfast, so we missed it the first day. There was a $15 credit for dinner at Del Charro restaurant but the food and service was terrible. We would not eat there again. There are few choices for people who don't like spicy food and it was clear my hamburger was just a frozen patty warmed up. We paid more for the private balcony, but when we got there we saw that it was just overlooking the parking lot and a wall and had uncomfortable seating. There was a stocked minifridge, but a soda was $2.00. The walls were thin, and we could hear the neighbors in the morning. It's just not worth the price.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a private balcony. It's just a small space overlooking the parking lot a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in August 2013. Rooms were a little tight, but no problem for 2 adults & 2 children. Location can't be beat, an easy walk to the plaza and around town. Tram pickup at lobby for a city tour. Free, convenient, parking and breakfast were great perks! Afternoon tea & sherry was very enjoyable. Only complaint was Wifi reception in room was very poor, but PC's with printers in the lobby were good to have. Great location, great breakfast buffet, great service!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Good choice for our party of 10. Traveling with extended family meant looking for 2 queens per room, a pool, and a good value. We found all of that here. Pool was very pretty and the afternoon was nice. Very helpful desk staff. Great location 2 blocks from plaza. Rooms are fine, but not super special.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had no reservation coming into Santa Fe and we just happened to stop at Inn of the Governors as we liked the outside appearance with all the flowers and location was perfect to walk into the downtown.
The front desk staff was great and they had rooms available. Room was not cheap but very nicely appointed and very comfortable bed. Breakfast was included in our cost and it was a nice buffet.
They also gave us two drinks in the bar, which is attached to the hotel, and had a great atmosphere for us.
We could walk about three blocks and we were in the center of the square, which makes this an ideal location if that is what you like to do. We always like to be within walking distance of the downtown area. Obviously plenty of shops and lots of restaurants.

Room Tip: We loved our room location it was on the outside facing the sunset. I believe they call it on the 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Beautiful hotel, with a great location. You could walk to almost anywhere in town. Staff was was very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was wonderful, and you could have it on the covered patio, which made the experience even better. After a hard, long day of sight-seeing it was a treat to come back to the hotel and relax by the pool with a refreshing margarita. Not inexpensive, but a much better experience than staying in one of the chains located on the main road. We can't wait to return to Santa Fe and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.