We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free hot buffet breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in June. Not having been to Santa Fe before, we followed advice to "stay on the Plaza", which may or may not have been a mistake. The Inn of the Governors was Hobson's choice for us, for it was the only hotel near the Plaza with available rooms when we made the reservation.

First off, the good:

1. Location- it's a block from the Plaza; an easy walk.
2. Staff- with on exception that I'll get to, very courteous and helpful.
3. Breakfast buffet- This was included with the room charge, and it is outstanding!
4. Parking- included, although pretty tight quarters if your driving a large vehicle.

Now, the not-so-good:

1. The property is old. Aside from the lobby and the breakfast area, it needs updating from what we saw. Our room was vintage 70's with Southwestern-themed decoration piled over it. The bathroom was a closet, and there was mold visible on the walls and floor. The toilet had operational issues.

2. The room was small. We booked a "Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds", and the two beds took up most of the room. Clean (except for the bathroom), but very tight quarters.

3. Air conditioning- pretty much there wasn't any, and the system was very noisy. The first night we noticed it was somewhat warm in the room, but it wasn't too oppressive. The second night was so bad I visited the front desk to seek help. The man on duty offered a fan and the promise that someone would take care of it in the morning. It was a difficult evening- very little sleep.
The next morning when I inquired as to the status of the repair, the daytime person on the desk knew nothing about the problem, so I had to go through the story again. A repairman was apparently summoned and the AC worked better on the third night, although still loud.

With the cost of a room at this property, I expected better- much better accommodations. Ownership there needs to invest more of their profits back into the facility and do better than offer a guest a fan when the AC fails on a hot summer evening.

Although it is close to the Plaza, there are several much newer properties and additional block or so away that probably deliver a better room at a better price.

When I return to Santa Fe, I'll not return to the Inn of the Governors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    342
    64
    16
    10
See reviews for
215
481
54
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed two nights with my parents, great hotel. Free parking, free internet and free breakfast. Breakfast was AMAZING and so was service. It's an older hotel that has been revitilized with many new amenities, great down town location, didn't use pool but it must have been heated because in March there were kids swimming in it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We arrived to a very friendly welcome, following a long, tiring journey. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was nicely furnished and the outside of the hotel was surrounded by well maintained flowers. The 'Sunshine' breakfast was the best complimentary breakfast we have every had in the USA, with plenty of choice of fresh foods, both hot and cold. The hotel is very well situated with complimentary parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We made reservations several months before our stay, and requested an accessible room with a roll-in shower. However, when I called a week ahead to confirm that all was ready, the reservations office at the hotel discovered that they had inadvertently given the room to someone else. So they got us reservations at another nearby hotel, paid for our parking, got the second hotel's service fee waived, and gave us a gift card to cover breakfasts at the Inn. Our contact in the reservation office called me several times to be sure that all was well in the new hotel. I also got a call from the Inn's manager to ask how we were faring.

I cannot say enough about how well the Inn of the Governors handled the situation. Oh, and the breakfast buffet is great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Milfontes
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived on a Friday afternoon, the weekend of the international folk fiesta. The attention paid to us, despite an error in our reservation was outstanding and we are very grateful to the management. Our room was secluded and oh so comfortable. The decor was fantastic and we could have well been staying in bygone eras! But with modern comforts. We were right in the centre of Santa Fe,in itself one of the best cities in the US. The breakfasts were fabulous, hot, cold just perfect. Please do consider this hotel if you plan to visit Santa Fe!

Room Tip: Anywhere in this hotel will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and in a great location from which you can walk everywhere. We arrived early at the hotel, however this was not a problem and we were provided with a room straight away. Our room was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. We had no complaints about the room size as there is too much to do in Santa Fe to be spending time in a hotel room. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The pub attached to the hotel was a nice place to have a drink in the evening and the pub food was pretty good. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was actually "Greeted" as I drove in.... and the cordial, friendly, and helpful attitude continued throughout my 3 day stay. From the Reception I received at the Front Desk, to the "Vegas" quality, Breakfast Buffet, to the Cooling and Refreshing, Cucumber infused, Ice Cold water that rejuvenates you upon your return "Home" in the afternoon, to the daily Tea and Sherry Tasting with fellow travelers, to the approachable and affable kindness from the entire staff, to its Incredibly Convenient location.... I'm convinced you'll find No Better in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: If available.... request a room with a "Garden Patio"... Your morning coffee will taste be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.