We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a great place to stay for a vacation in Santa Fe. Positives are the location, free parking and the price. The front desk staff were very helpful and well informed. The room was clean and comfortable, not particularly large, but more than adequate for two people. Free WiFi in the room worked fine for me.

We stayed four nights the weekend after 4th of July, the average price per night was $209 plus tax, and the tax was a lot, around $30 per night. I don't think there is another hotel that is as nice and as close to the Plaza and other attractions for the price.

The room included breakfast for 2 and $15/day credit in the bar and restaurant. The breakfast was just OK, not great, not bad. Good: bacon, link sausage, waffle/pancakes, yogurt. Not as good: scrambled eggs, muffins and other bread. As an add on to a reasonably priced room it was very good. Bar and restaurant, very similar to the breakfast, not a place you would go out of the way for, but a nice add on to the room. Lobby was nice, pool was nice, parking was never full, some of the spaces were tight but we were always able to find one that was reasonably wide.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    316
    61
    14
    10
See reviews for
199
452
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is an old hotel conveniently located near the Santa Fe Plaza. It has the charm of an old hotel. Good service, pool, daily sherry reception for all and an extensive hot breakfast for all tastes. The rooms are small but adequate since we were out most of the day anyway. However, it is pricey for a small room (over $200 with two beds). I suppose you pay for the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have logged literally millions of miles in travel....never wrote a review...never felt compelled to write about what I expected, and never felt compelled to complain or whine about situations that were less than stellar. However, our party of four had an experience at the Inn of the Governors that extends beyond hospitality and provides evidence that there is still greatness in humanity. Santa Fe was one of our stops on our cross country journey and we rolled in at about 2 or 3 am. Steve and Mitch (I hope these names are correct) went well beyond the call of duty and provided us with unparalleled service and care. Without going into details, our group was extremely unique and our situation that morning was tenuous. Steve and Mitch quickly assessed our needs and provided what they could to make our stay comfortable. The next morning we were re-energized by the fantastic breakfast buffet that included fresh squeezed OJ. Later that afternoon we enjoyed the sherry (and seminar on sherry) in the lobby. Sam is the general manager and it is evident that he leads by example, truly cares about his role at the property, and gives his staff the latitude to make out of the box decisions that will create positive unforgettable experiences for the guests. We stayed another night because of the warm welcome. Comfortable, clean, secure, extreme value, walking distance to everything, internet, pool...yes. But with over 50,000 places to stay in the US, it is the staff that sets this facility apart. Intuative, caring, and compassionate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We had basic room which was a bit dated but fine and would have given 4 stars if not for the jet engine sound that came on for A/c that must have been servicing another part of hotel. We did fine earplugs in cotton ball holder but was next morning! staff was great and breakfast was good. Was a great location and for the price a good deal. But a good night sleep in invaluable!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

May 17, 2013 we checked in and taken to a very nice room. Room was freshly painted so it smelled. Was told to keep the window open and the paint smell would lessen. After walking around town and having dinner, we returned to the room and the smell was just as bad. I spoke with the front desk and they did the right thing, they found a room and moved us. Both rooms were very nice. Had dinner downstairs and the food was very good. Went back later for a snack. The next morning we had the hotel breakfast which had many choices on the buffet. If we ever go back to Santa Fe, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garnet valley,pa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We took a romantic vacation for 4 days on june 15,2013.This hotel was perfectly situated for the first time visitor to Santa fe!Walking distance to everything!We had a king room with a woodburning fireplace too!Wifi signal was good as well.Little patio.Nice little pool with adequete chairs and poolside service.We booked with the hotel directly and got a great breakfast and a credit at the resteraunt too!Made it kind of a ep style!Big buffett breakfast in the am with friendly service and a lovely afternoon tea!We really enjoyed the friendly front desk and they gave us great dining ideas!The room was clean and though the bathroom is small it worked and was charming.(it is an older hotel)This hotel gives you a very at home welcoming feeling.Overall great!Plus fre parking and even some covered!Thank you!

Room Tip: although our room was by the elevator it was dead silent!no problem sleeping.fireplace was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We wanted to stay near the plaza so this is how we ended up here. It was near the plaza and and very close walking distance from all the shops and eateries. We liked the room, we had a king with a balcony and fireplace, although we didn't use it it was in the high 80's all three days. The beds were excellent and it was a clean room, the staff were friendly and willing to smile. This place had charm and we would stay there again. It was expensive, but the prices to stay near the plaza were all high, location, location, location.
The breakfast buffet was more than enough and the service for the b-fast was excellent. For buffet food it was pretty good and the fruit was excellent.
The bar grill attached to the Inn had the best burgers and the drinks were flowing pretty well, They have a lot of traffic coming in thier doors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, JackRabbit Systems, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.