We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Friendly and Central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Pool Upgrades
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming, Friendly and Central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I booked and then upgraded to a room with door to inside hallway as opposed to outside breezeway door. After arriving I saw that any room would be great. We were two women traveling and felt safe and secure the entire time at this hotel and in Santa Fe. The rooms are pretty and the open lobby has lots of charm, the heated pool while not huge was never crowded and heated beautifully. Its location is excellent, you can stroll to everything, and quiet at night. The staff was helpful, friendly and gracious. Thanks to Ken for restaurant recommendations. The buffet breakfast that is complementary is terrific, starting at 6.30 am made it perfect for getting out and about early, I will recommend this place to all my friends and will stay there again, not one negative, its lovely.

Room Tip: A variety of room sizes, ask booking staff for recommendations
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    330
    63
    14
    10
See reviews for
205
467
53
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place located just off the Plaza. Staff was amazing!
Kids were happy because there was a nice pool, adults happy to sit in hopping bar or have a drink outdoors in the sitting area or next to pool. The bar was packed with not only guests but locals too- great place to hang.
Breakfast was included and excellent.
Walk to all major places.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights in a King deluxe room. The room was charming- in addition to the bed & bath (2 sinks) , it had a Kiva fireplace,sitting area with a leather couch and arm chair and a balcony with 2 chairs. The decor was Southwestern and very attractive. Parking is free and the inn is walking distance to just about everything in Santa Fe. Once we parked the car, we didn't move it again until we left to go home! The breakfast (included in the room rate) is first rate; we had 2 types of eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, danishes, chicken quesadillas, etc. There was enough there that you could easily skip lunch! In the afternoon the inn offered sherry, various teas and cookies. There's also a heated pool in the courtyard. The staff is very nice and went out of their way to help us with restaurant recomendations, etc. (The inn is walking distance to some really excellent restaurants as well!). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would welcome the chance to come back!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a deluxe room, you'll be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. We walked to dinner almost every night and only used our car two days out of our five-day stay. It was clean, the bed was very comfortable and it was extremely quiet the entire time we were there in spite of the inn seeming to be full at the time. There were two sinks-one in and one outside the bathroom, which made it easy for each of us to get ready in the morning at the same time. There was fairly good quality Wolfgang Puck coffee in our room with the coffee maker, with real cream, which is always appreciated. The shower had nice water pressure. We didn't use the balcony at all since it was in the direct sun the entire time and the view was the parking lot and the building next door. I think the rate of the room was very good for what we got, especially if you ask for the AAA rate (I don't recall seeing that advertised on their web site, but they'll give you the rate if you ask). The complimentary breakfast was outstanding. Probably the best one I have had in a hotel that was included in the rate.

However, the restaurant attached to the inn is a little odd to me. You can have dinner in the outdoor, covered patio but the menu is all bar food and the bar in the restaurant is a total dive-rowdy local construction workers coming in after work and a sign on the way to the restroom that lists house rules that include no inappropriate public display of affection and no cursing (they appeared to be serious). My husband and I just wanted to have a cocktail, talk and maybe listen to some nice music but had to walk down to the piano bar of the Vanessie for that. I have nothing against a good dive bar but why would you want that on your hotel property? And I'm sorry, NOT the best margarita in town, no matter what they say.

Also, be forewarned about the inn's parking. It's great that they are one of the few, if not the only of the hotels in the downtown Santa Fe area that offer free parking for their guests, but there is a reason for that. Unless you are driving a Toyota Prius or a Mini Cooper, you are going to have a very difficult time parking your car every night (one of the reasons we tried very hard not to use our car while we were there). I can't even really describe the design of the lot but it's pretty poor and the parking spots are too cramped together. There is an underground parking area with a ceiling so low my husband had to duck to walk to the car. We did damage to our rental car parking our car there the first night and, while it was our fault, it would not likely have happened if it was easier to navigate their lot.

I think this inn is a very good value and not a bad place, but I honestly don't know that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I slept soundly every night here. Had a fireplace in my room with plenty of firewood to be had out in the hall. Every member of the staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. Decent food. Easy to walk to the Plaza and other downtown spots.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a deluxe room. I liked having an interior room with a balcony. The bed was comfortable and the towels were thick and absorbent. This felt like a luxury accommodation but had quaint touches such as sherry and bischochitas (cookies) every evening between 4 and 5. My daughter loved the cookies! The location could not have been better but there was some renovation going on at the back of the hotel. However the workers were respectful about not starting the work too early. Pool was small but nice - could have been kept cleaner. Hot buffet breakfast was wonderful and lovely patio to sit and enjoy. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Within walking distance of almost everything. In a town that makes you pay to park your car everywhere you go, this hotel provides free parking. Very clean, comfortable. Traditional southwest decor. Bathroom very small but it had a makeup mirror. The rooms do need some updating especially the electrical. There are very few outlets in the room and they are very difficult to reach. In a town that thrives on tourists, they need to accommodate recharging of computers, cell phones, cameras, GPS, etc. No safe in the room to secure $$$$ cameras, lenses, phones, etc. Very nice atmosphere in the lobby. Provided tea and sherry each evening. Breakfast was much better than most. A combination of self-serve and service. Several different egg dishes, waffles and strawberries one day, fresh fruits, fresh muffins and pastries, sausage, ham, bacon and more. Would have been nice to get my own juice and water rather than ask the server. Dishes were kept warm and filled. Good value when compared to others in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.