We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Stay in Downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Portales, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quiet Stay in Downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I found this to be a very quiet place to stay in the downtown area. The prices were reasonable, and the rooms were comfortable. I would definitely stay there, again. The attached restaurant was also reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    321
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
202
458
51
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I recently had an unexpected overnight in Santa Fe and, again, chose Inn of the Governors for our accommodations. This is probably our fourth stay at this hotel over the last 5-6 years, but this time I feel I can only give it an average rating for a variety of reasons. As another reviewer stated, it is not a hotel, it is a motel with views of parking lots and buildings. We chose a king 'traditional' room because of the short stay and we won't do that again! These rooms are very small. Really, you can barely move around and we had minimal luggage. In order to get a room with some space, you will need to spend the extra money on a deluxe or supreme room and for that price, there are other hotels that are really hotels. The 'traditional' room are in the older part of the Inn with no views and lots of noise. I will say the beds are comfortable and linens/towels are nice.
There is a complimentary breakfast that is adequate but nothing special. It's just basic. Wifi is complimentary but we found our 3G to be faster and the complimentary parking is great if you have a compact car. I would not want to maneuver a larger vehicle in and out of those tiny spaces!
The Inn of the Governors does have a great location within walking distances of restaurants, shops and the Plaza so if that is your primary criteria then you might not care about the other details. Just don't book a 'traditional' room you will regret it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, Northumberland, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is in the centre of Santa Fe and within walking distance of the sights and a good selection of restaurants. The rooms were clean and well maintained and the furniture rustic in keeping with the overall style of the property. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Free parking at a town centre location such as this was a bonus.

The breakfast buffet was good although very busy. This meant that there was a chance you would need to sit on the patio, which was heated but you would still need an extra layer to keep comfortable certainly at the time of year we stayed.

A really good hotel and I would certainly recommend it and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel itself is great due to its central location, within walking distance of The Plaza, St. Francis Cathedral, Canyon Road, and other places, which includes free parking, a big plus in Santa Fe,)(our room didn't have a fireplace, as some do--that would be great for next time,) but it's the breakfast buffet which really stands out. Definitely a place worth staying again for that alone. There is also a lovely outside dining area, with a large fireplace, and a smaller fireplace in the inside dining area. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: I would choose to get a room with a fireplace next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Inn of the Governors is a wonderful location for your vacation in Santa Fe. Just two blocks away from the Plaza, it's easy to get to, and easy to navigate from for any adventure (walking or driving). The fact that they have their own, no-charge parking is a huge advantage.

The rooms are cozy and the kiva fireplace in the corner of the room was really fun - as was the essentially unlimited supply of wood available for a fire each evening. The fire had been laid by the hotel staff upon our arrival - a wonderful touch!

The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast every morning - many steps above the breakfast you might find at one of the major chain. Eggs (2 kinds), bacon/sausage, hash browns, fabulous green chili, oatmeal, fruit, pastries - yum! The staff was great and very welcoming.

If you stay at the Inn, don't forget to take advantage of the $15/day credit at El Charro, the restaurant in the hotel. Not only is the ambience wonderful (another huge fireplace with heat lamps as well when it's chilly), but the food is exceptionally well-priced and tasty. Don't miss the green chili chicken chowder. The staff says it's the "best thing on the menu" and I have to agree.

A great place to stay - don't miss your chance to do so!

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was perfectly located for walking to so many of the key attractions: The Plaza, the State Capitol, Canyon Road, and many others. There was ample off-street parking, attractive rooms, a lovely sherry/tea hour every afternoon, and a large, delicious buffet breakfast. I would definitely go there again on a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Enjoyed our two night stay in this one-of-a-kind inn. No cookie-cutter here! Our room had a fireplace and was nicely appointed. Plenty of neatly snacked wood next to elevator for an enjoyable evening, falling asleep eventually to the crackling dying embers. So nice. Delicious dining including ample breakfast. We ate and enjoyed beverages in the Saloon which was fun, lively with lots of southwestern ambience. An eclectic crowd of patrons. Inn staff friendly and welcoming. Plenty of computers for guests' and cold water in the lobby.

So why not 5 stars? The only downside was that our room looked out on parking lot and a road. Lots of cars speeding by late into the night, people having conversations in parking lot late and early morning speeding traffic. If only we could have been able to take a nap...but construction and banging tools all around -- including immediately in front of hotel. For the Inn of the Governors, I think the latter is only temporary and that other construction in town is completed soon -- at least for those rooms directly impacted by the external noise. WE WOULD STAY AGAIN!

Room Tip: If construction still underway ask for a room further away. Rooms not immediately facing road might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.