We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Pool Upgrades
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Convenient location and close to shops and restaurants. Hotel was clean and nicely furnished. I would definitely go back. Restaurant in the hotel was very good and staff was friendly. Santa Fe is a beautiful city to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    330
    63
    14
    10
See reviews for
205
467
53
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Won't be staying here again. The staff upon checking in was not real friendly, no welcome. The room although adequate it was dark, it overlooked the carpark and the noise outside of some exhaust fan was deafening. It went all night long. The beds were comfortable, the linen was crisp and clean. The bathroom was very small....not much room to put anything because there was so much furniture! Not much contact at all with anyone in the hotel really, it made it for a non event stay. The location is good, close to the plaza, souvenir shops and cafes. Breakfast was ok, there was cereals, a bit of fresh fruit, bagels and toast, juice, coffee, hot eggs and bacon, the only thing and be aware it closes at 9:00am. Because of the noisy night we won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Demand a quiet room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Such ambiance to this hotel. The rooms are decorated so nicely. Centrally located to walkable sites in town. The all inclusive breakfast to die for.. far from your typical continental. Also the bar restaurant exteremly affordable. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were not terribly happy the first night as the noise from the pub was a little loud in our room. We told the front desk, then went out for the day. When we came back in the afternoon they had moved our stuff to a room in the back which was very quiet, Wonderful customer service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Definitely not one if the big hotel/spa experiences, but very nice staff, nice extras like Sherry and cookies and tea 4-5 pm. Definitely would recommend upgrade to mini suite for $30/ night for a roomy relaxing room to really enjoy. Other rooms were more " motel 6" style. Liked that breakfast was hearty and included, tea available all day long. Very clean and great daily service. In- house restaurant just ok. front desk very helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff at the front desk were very helpful with recommendations, etc. The room was lovely and the breakfast was the best free (included) breakfast we can remember.
Beautiful decor. It is an older hotel so the bathroom was a bit small but we really loved the ambience and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, with great staff in a great location. The free parking alone, in the centre of town, is worth the price of admission. I love that the free wifi was not a hassle, no passwords and logging on every 3 seconds. Breakfast was delicious, service was great. Afternoon sherry was a pleasure. I really appreciated the convenient computers in the lobby. Honestly everything was great.

In addition to this, due to a flight saga, I arrived and checked in to my room at 6am - I was so worn out I practically fell asleep on the reception desk. I expected to be charged for the 'night' even though I had not actually slept in my room and I was just so delighted to see that they did not charge me for those few hours. This is the kind of courtesy that makes travelers like me want to tell everyone to stay there. Bravo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, JackRabbit Systems, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.