We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade to a mini suite for an affordable and enjoyable experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
San Rafael
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Upgrade to a mini suite for an affordable and enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Definitely not one if the big hotel/spa experiences, but very nice staff, nice extras like Sherry and cookies and tea 4-5 pm. Definitely would recommend upgrade to mini suite for $30/ night for a roomy relaxing room to really enjoy. Other rooms were more " motel 6" style. Liked that breakfast was hearty and included, tea available all day long. Very clean and great daily service. In- house restaurant just ok. front desk very helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    316
    61
    14
    10
See reviews for
199
452
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff at the front desk were very helpful with recommendations, etc. The room was lovely and the breakfast was the best free (included) breakfast we can remember.
Beautiful decor. It is an older hotel so the bathroom was a bit small but we really loved the ambience and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, with great staff in a great location. The free parking alone, in the centre of town, is worth the price of admission. I love that the free wifi was not a hassle, no passwords and logging on every 3 seconds. Breakfast was delicious, service was great. Afternoon sherry was a pleasure. I really appreciated the convenient computers in the lobby. Honestly everything was great.

In addition to this, due to a flight saga, I arrived and checked in to my room at 6am - I was so worn out I practically fell asleep on the reception desk. I expected to be charged for the 'night' even though I had not actually slept in my room and I was just so delighted to see that they did not charge me for those few hours. This is the kind of courtesy that makes travelers like me want to tell everyone to stay there. Bravo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Clearly there is an emphasis on service here. Lots of "extras."
A year round heated swimming pool. Fireplaces in the grill and the two rooms where breakfast was served. A superb breakfast buffet with gourmet home made muffins in the morning. Covered and underground parking. Steps to the plaza and other shops. And the rooms? We stayed on the governor's wing...with a king bed, pull out sofa, kiva fireplace and balcony. Beautifully appointed....very charming. Also, they were offering a special of $15.00 off dinner at their already reasonably priced grill. This was a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

First off, I would like to say, I really enjoyed Santa Fe - the people, food, location and art were amazing. We started off renting an adobe near Canyon for the first 1/2 of the week and then stayed at the Inn of the Governors for the second 1/2 of the week. The Inn of the Governors was a great deal in Santa Fe. We booked through the website for the hotel and was able to get one of the smaller rooms (212) for $139 (not including taxes). Our booking also included free wi fi, free parking, free breakfast and a $25 credit at Del Charro (hotel's bar), for food each evening. The food in Del Charro may not be fancy, but it is affordable and tasty. All food was charged to the room, including tip and the $25 credit was taken off successfully each day. Also, the smaller room did not bother us at all. We liked having the fresh air. We did not find it noisy. Walking to the Plaza was very easy. The only thing that did not work was the hair dryer which I would have called down and gotten another one, however my fellow traveler had brought a hairdryer, which I used instead! Also, I was able to print off our boarding passes in the lobby. I would stay there again. Good times!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rescue, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Inn of the Governors has comfy beds, super great breakfast with lots of choices and a fun bar.
The location is perfect to explore Santa Fe. Loved the new decor especially the wrilly-kigs in front.
There are greats shops and restraurants just across the street. It's also within walking distance to the train station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We returned to the Inn of the Governors last month - this was our fourth or fifth stay. The hotel has had a recent make-over and is more comfortable than ever.
We chose a superior king - plenty of room, quiet, well appointed.
The room has a fridge, coffee maker and plenty of storage space. Bathroom is large with an ample and comfortable shower.
One of the highlights is the breakfast - many choices, regular filling of offerings, substantial space for any size of guests. There's also a sherry and tea hour in the afternoon.
Staff is gracious, helpful to a fault.
It's well located, within a couple blocks of the plaza. Very reasonably priced - excellent value.
Only issues: (1) no in-room safe; (2) no recycling.
Overall, a 99/A+ rating.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an interior corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, JackRabbit Systems, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.