We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, mostly great service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free hot buffet breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
eugene, OR
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, mostly great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Great location. We stayed in a suite with fireplace and balcony which was comfortable, large and charming. Heated outdoor pool was nice and enjoyed thoroughly by our kids. The bar has great margaritas and good food. The included breakfast was above average. Staff was accommodating and helpful with the exception of Bea who was rude, a real B in fact. Kenny was fantastic.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    342
    64
    16
    10
See reviews for
215
481
54
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were generally underwhelmed with Santa Fe. We overheard some people say that it was like Dsneyworld without the rides - true.

The hotels near the Plaza are all a little pricey for what they are. This is no exception. For over $200/night, our standard room was small. We were on a outside hallway (?old motel 6). The room was clean but had a odor. ? from outside wet and old carpet. The view fro the window was to the outside hallway with people walking by. Tiny bathroom.

Breakfast OK - small pool.Parking on site was helpful and location was just a couple of blocks from the Plaza.

Room Tip: Do not take room 218!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel was clean, decorated in New Mexico decor, breakfast provided, convenient to walking to all the Santa Fe Township attractions, galleries etc. Unfortunately at our arrival "Ken" the first person who greeted us made us feel like we were second class guests because we had booked via a third party and not via the Inn itself. Not a nice way to start a much anticipated holiday in a part of the world we had been wanting to travel in for many years.
We did explore the area and had a great holiday despite the sour taste we still have due to the curt, 'looking down the nose' greeting on arrival. We must say though that the wait staff at breakfast were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Thanks for that.

The room was noisy as it was on the far outside of the Inn, doors hard to close so constant bangings as guests closed their doors, street traffic especially trucks early in the mornings as they passed to get to their place of work no doubt ... was this our reward for booking with a third party? Don't the accommodation places request to be placed with the third party? Or am I wrong in thinking this?

The experience of New Mexico, Santa Fe and its surrounds was fabulous!!! Every one should come at least once!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A lovely hotel situated within walking distance to site seeing, shopping and restaurants. We were fortunate to enjoy two nights in early March at the Inn. Our room, located on the second level had a charm of its own. Rustic furniture and decor, including a wood fireplace complimented our stay. The bed was a touch firm, however caused no problems for a good nights rest. A lovely front entry with sitting area allowed patrons to indulge in a complimentary glass of sherry in the late afternoon. The heated pool just outside the entry beckoned guests to enjoy a relaxing swim . The included buffet breakfast was delicious with a selection to please various tastes and needs. All staff at the hotel were so wonderful and kind, thanks Bee. Santa Fe is a beautiful city and wonderful place to enjoy, hope to visit soon again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Clean-well decorated.great hot breakfast and convenient location. Room was chilly but we were give a very small space heater that was adequate. Our room was noisy because of garbage pickup in early am,so ask for a quiet room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have been to the Inn of the Governors many, many times. Every time we return it is like visiting an old friend. The place exudes southwestern charm. The staff are incredibly friendly and the rooms are very comfortable. We have never been there during cold weather but would like to try it sometime to give us an excuse to use the kiva fireplace in the room. Breakfast is included with the room and is as good as it gets. We have tried breakfasts at many of the better restaurants in town, but none compare with the breakfast at the Inn. For a quick snack or drink, del Charro is a great watering hole. Food and drinks are well prepared and the price is right. The best thing about the Inn is that you can park your car and not move it for days. There are so many things within easy walking distance that driving becomes unnecessary. For our tastes, Inn of the Governor is the perfect place to stay when visiting Santa Fe. (Try going during the Colonial Spanish Arts weekend. The town is packed, but the Inn is a peaceful retreat. Because of the location it is very easy to see all that the weekend event has to offer.)

Room Tip: Get a room with a walkout balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have stayed here before, it is in the center of town, there is NO parking fee and the wi fi is fast. Beds are comfy, the staff is friendly and helpful. They have very little turn over so they recognize you from prior visits and greet you as an old friend. Their complementary breakfast rocks. The heated pool in the winter is a nice touch. Their bar serves these huge margaritas for $6.50 and they serve food until midnight. The Manager, Sam, is directly involved in daily operations and has a genuine knack for superior customer service. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.