We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Pool Upgrades
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Bragg Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“March Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A lovely hotel situated within walking distance to site seeing, shopping and restaurants. We were fortunate to enjoy two nights in early March at the Inn. Our room, located on the second level had a charm of its own. Rustic furniture and decor, including a wood fireplace complimented our stay. The bed was a touch firm, however caused no problems for a good nights rest. A lovely front entry with sitting area allowed patrons to indulge in a complimentary glass of sherry in the late afternoon. The heated pool just outside the entry beckoned guests to enjoy a relaxing swim . The included buffet breakfast was delicious with a selection to please various tastes and needs. All staff at the hotel were so wonderful and kind, thanks Bee. Santa Fe is a beautiful city and wonderful place to enjoy, hope to visit soon again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    331
    63
    14
    10
See reviews for
205
468
53
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Clean-well decorated.great hot breakfast and convenient location. Room was chilly but we were give a very small space heater that was adequate. Our room was noisy because of garbage pickup in early am,so ask for a quiet room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have been to the Inn of the Governors many, many times. Every time we return it is like visiting an old friend. The place exudes southwestern charm. The staff are incredibly friendly and the rooms are very comfortable. We have never been there during cold weather but would like to try it sometime to give us an excuse to use the kiva fireplace in the room. Breakfast is included with the room and is as good as it gets. We have tried breakfasts at many of the better restaurants in town, but none compare with the breakfast at the Inn. For a quick snack or drink, del Charro is a great watering hole. Food and drinks are well prepared and the price is right. The best thing about the Inn is that you can park your car and not move it for days. There are so many things within easy walking distance that driving becomes unnecessary. For our tastes, Inn of the Governor is the perfect place to stay when visiting Santa Fe. (Try going during the Colonial Spanish Arts weekend. The town is packed, but the Inn is a peaceful retreat. Because of the location it is very easy to see all that the weekend event has to offer.)

Room Tip: Get a room with a walkout balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have stayed here before, it is in the center of town, there is NO parking fee and the wi fi is fast. Beds are comfy, the staff is friendly and helpful. They have very little turn over so they recognize you from prior visits and greet you as an old friend. Their complementary breakfast rocks. The heated pool in the winter is a nice touch. Their bar serves these huge margaritas for $6.50 and they serve food until midnight. The Manager, Sam, is directly involved in daily operations and has a genuine knack for superior customer service. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had to make same day reservations, due to changing plans, and the front desk staff were most accommodating. My husband is in a wheel chair, and previous hotel did not work for him.Hotel of the Governors had an accessible room available and let us check in immediately.
It was perfectly set up..king bed at a lower height, large bathroom with roll in shower, and lots of space in the room...plus large TV, Fridge, coffee maker( with real cream!)and microwave. Huge breakfast selection, and afternoon wine and cheese..nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Our stay over Spring Break was extremely disappointing. The day we attempted to check in, we were accused of showing up a day late and then told we could wait in the parking lot while they figured out if they could accommodate us. We reserved two rooms, and were finally allowed to check in after 45 minutes.
The heater/air conditioner in our kids' room was not working properly and blew hot air constantly, making it at least 80 degrees. We were told it would be fixed the first night, and after our kids slept in it all night, they finally agreed to move them the next night.
The management was unhelpful, unsympathetic and disrespectful. There are many other properties to choose from in town, and for the $1800 we spent for four nights, we regret every penny we gave their establishment.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The only problem with this inn is the heating system. The room with fireplace (kiva) had a forced hot air system that either blew too hot or too cold. And there was little wood for the kiva..either I fetched it myself or on a freezing night, an employee got it for me. Besides that, I highly rate this Inn. I'd always been curious about it, and this time gave it a 4 night try. Very nice people run the place. Location could not be more central. Some wine/cheese reception which we did not partake of. Breakfast superb!!!! The credit they give for eating lunch or dinner at a restaurant bar across the street could be handy, but it is not the greatest food in Santa Fe. Other fine food within walking distance. You can ask the Inn to not give you the restaurant credit, and instead have a lower room rate, which we did. In the summer I will go back...but probably not in the winter when Santa Fe can be very cold and you will need the heat on. Great place all in all. And wonderful decor, nice comfortable beds, etc. Pool too though we did not use in winter. Free parking on site a plus.

Room Tip: Fireplace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.