We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Spot in Santa Fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Parking incl.
Ranked #9 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Our Spot in Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We lived in Santa Fe some 40 years ago and love to visit. Inn of the Governors is our choice of a centrally located hotel at a reasonable price. We stayed there three nights the week before Christmas and enjoyed ourselves. Some rooms and the ones we always rent have kiva style fireplaces with a supply of wood just down the hall if you run out in the room. The in house restaurant does a good job on a limited menu and we had room service dinner two of our three nights. If we have a complaint, it is the the included breakfast does not seem to change and the preparation on one of our three mornings left much to be desired. I wrote that up on my satisfaction survey and we will see what happens. The breakfast buffet is complete with all you could expect but they do need to rotate the egg dishes and perhaps pay attention to some of the preparation a little more.

Room Tip: If visting in the winter, get a room with a kiva fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    584
    309
    61
    13
    10
See reviews for
197
447
48
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Finger Lakes, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Many positive attributes makes this hotel an excellent choice for travelers. First and foremost is the great location. Numerous shops, restaurants and galleries are only a stone's throw from the inn. You can easily go out on the town, make a quick stop back at the hotel to freshen up or unload any treasures you may have found, then go right back out to continue exploring.

Next is the free parking. The inn is a wonderful launch pad for any trips you want to take, whether they be just around town or further out. If you go in the winter like I did, you will appreciate that some of the parking is covered.

If you like the warmth of a fire and don't mind a slightly smoky smell in your room, definitely get a room with a kiva. The hotel supplies the wood and fire starters and stocks a heap of kindling on hand so you can keep the fire going for some time. This makes for a cozy atmosphere, especially after a day of exploring.

One of the best things the inn offers is its $25 credit that can be used at Del Charro. This lively spot features decent wines and enormous Margaritas, which can be sipped in some big chairs by the fireplace. While I spent the credit on drinks rather than food, the menu items looked appealing. Also, you can order your drinks and take them to your room, where you can unwind with your own personal fire.

Each day I looked forward to the breakfast. Two of the most delicious buffet choices were the western-style scrambled eggs and the giant sausages. There are two yummy chile sauces for your potatoes and other foods, which adds a sparkly little twist to your morning. And again, if you are a fireplace lover, you can eat your meal by a toasty kiva. What a way to start the morning!

If sherry and cookies are your thing, the happy hour is a nice feature and a good way to connect with others in the comfortable lounge.

Another thing I really enjoyed is seeing the farolitos or luminaries lit up at night outside of our window, which faced Alameda Street. I expected to hear a lot of noise because of the room location, but I think the snow and cold deterred the revelers.

Service at the hotel was decent, although some of the desk clerks were much more pleasant than others. The nice ones really went out of their way to be helpful. A couple of the others should find jobs away from the hospitality industry. As a rule, though, most of the staff were quite kind and friendly.

Overall, the Inn of the Governors is an excellent value and a serious contender for the middle-income traveler. The beds are comfy, the rooms are clean, although ours could have used a paint job after all those fires in the kiva! It is a well-worn hotel that is great for the person who loves to explore the city and who wants a homey place to rest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Texas
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
838 helpful votes 838 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is just a couple of blocks from the plaza. We were there in October, and it was unseasonably warm. Our room was hot. They said they had already switched from A/C to heat for the winter. The free breakfast buffet was one of the best ever. The hotel sports bar and grill, Del Charro, has very reasonable food prices, and it was voted the best bar at Santa Fe for 2012. Try the chicken tenders and fries for $5, with a whole shaker of margarita for $6.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for walking Old Santa Fe. They have some very nice amenities, including afternoon sherry and cookies (delicious). The service across the board was excellent. The breakfast buffet is very good. The room was very nice, if not a bit tight for three people, but we were in a traditional room. We had no problems with noise. The biggest complaint would be the quality of the toilet paper they use. We enjoyed the restaurant for lunch-very good nachos, quesadillas, etc. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The.hotel.was.at.a.great.location.......easily.walking.everywhere!!!!The.buffet.breakfast.with.fireplace.dining.rooms.was.wonderful!Heated.pool.was.useable----very-nice.too!!!!Del.Charro.restaurant.was.great.food.prices.and.a.nice.fireplace-there.too.Get.a.room.with.a.fireplace....real.wood!!!!Loved.it.all!!!!!

Room Tip: Room.with.a.fireplace.is.useful-real-wood!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Inn of the Governors is on Alameda Street, which makes it very close and easily walkable to all the attractions of downtown Santa Fe. The only drawback is that Alameda Street can get very busy, especially at night, so guests who have a room on the street side could be indisposed by the noise. We had a room at the back of the building so noise was no problem. As well, there was no room-to-room noise. The rooms are not all that large but are very well appointed with Navajo-type blankets as wall decorations. The beds are very comfortable. All rooms are equipped with mini-fridges and a flat-screen TV. The bathrooms are also well equipped with separate vanity tables. A delicious complimentary breakfast is served with fresh orange juice, good choice of top-quality breakfast dishes, worthy of a 4 or 5-star hotel. The hotel bar (with both indoor and outdoor parts) is great...and they make a mean marguarita! Every evening, they serve a free glass of sherry in the hotel lobby, which is a nice touch. There's lots of free parking available. The Inn of the Governors is not cheap but not excessively expensive given the quality of the hotel. As such, it definitely is a good choice if you're visiting Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from Alameda Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent several days in a room very close to Alameda Street. I was surprised that there was almost no room to room noise, but the traffic noise from the street, the revelers coming out of the bar and yelling in the parking lot was annoying. Everything else was fine.

The room was small and crowded but very clean. The bathroom was tiny but very clean. The vanity area was well lit and had decent counter space. The room had a fairly new flat screen TV and the WiFi was free, fast and reliable.

The staff was helpful but not overly friendly. The first couple of times we entered the room, we were met with a strong odor that smelled like old milk. I spoke with the person at the front desk and as I stood there, he notified housekeeping of the problem. When we returned to the room, the smell was gone.

The hotel is connected to the Del Charro Saloon at which we received a $25 per day credit. The food was fine, the drinks quite average. The waitresses were friendly and attentive. The bartenders were surly, bordering on rude.

The buffet breakfast has pretty much everything you'd want -- from bacon and eggs to oatmeal. Servers bring around water and juice. Very good meal.

Overall, a very good hotel in a convenient location, but I would avoid any room near the street.

Room Tip: Rooms near Alameda Street are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;