We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Pool Upgrades
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Connecticut
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for walking Old Santa Fe. They have some very nice amenities, including afternoon sherry and cookies (delicious). The service across the board was excellent. The breakfast buffet is very good. The room was very nice, if not a bit tight for three people, but we were in a traditional room. We had no problems with noise. The biggest complaint would be the quality of the toilet paper they use. We enjoyed the restaurant for lunch-very good nachos, quesadillas, etc. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    330
    63
    14
    10
See reviews for
205
467
53
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The.hotel.was.at.a.great.location.......easily.walking.everywhere!!!!The.buffet.breakfast.with.fireplace.dining.rooms.was.wonderful!Heated.pool.was.useable----very-nice.too!!!!Del.Charro.restaurant.was.great.food.prices.and.a.nice.fireplace-there.too.Get.a.room.with.a.fireplace....real.wood!!!!Loved.it.all!!!!!

Room Tip: Room.with.a.fireplace.is.useful-real-wood!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Inn of the Governors is on Alameda Street, which makes it very close and easily walkable to all the attractions of downtown Santa Fe. The only drawback is that Alameda Street can get very busy, especially at night, so guests who have a room on the street side could be indisposed by the noise. We had a room at the back of the building so noise was no problem. As well, there was no room-to-room noise. The rooms are not all that large but are very well appointed with Navajo-type blankets as wall decorations. The beds are very comfortable. All rooms are equipped with mini-fridges and a flat-screen TV. The bathrooms are also well equipped with separate vanity tables. A delicious complimentary breakfast is served with fresh orange juice, good choice of top-quality breakfast dishes, worthy of a 4 or 5-star hotel. The hotel bar (with both indoor and outdoor parts) is great...and they make a mean marguarita! Every evening, they serve a free glass of sherry in the hotel lobby, which is a nice touch. There's lots of free parking available. The Inn of the Governors is not cheap but not excessively expensive given the quality of the hotel. As such, it definitely is a good choice if you're visiting Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from Alameda Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent several days in a room very close to Alameda Street. I was surprised that there was almost no room to room noise, but the traffic noise from the street, the revelers coming out of the bar and yelling in the parking lot was annoying. Everything else was fine.

The room was small and crowded but very clean. The bathroom was tiny but very clean. The vanity area was well lit and had decent counter space. The room had a fairly new flat screen TV and the WiFi was free, fast and reliable.

The staff was helpful but not overly friendly. The first couple of times we entered the room, we were met with a strong odor that smelled like old milk. I spoke with the person at the front desk and as I stood there, he notified housekeeping of the problem. When we returned to the room, the smell was gone.

The hotel is connected to the Del Charro Saloon at which we received a $25 per day credit. The food was fine, the drinks quite average. The waitresses were friendly and attentive. The bartenders were surly, bordering on rude.

The buffet breakfast has pretty much everything you'd want -- from bacon and eggs to oatmeal. Servers bring around water and juice. Very good meal.

Overall, a very good hotel in a convenient location, but I would avoid any room near the street.

Room Tip: Rooms near Alameda Street are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Nice, clean, attractive rooms... We got free parking close to our room, a great morning breakfast with fresh fruits, juices, eggs, meats, breads, etc like you would get at a 4 -5 star hotel.. We also got a $25 credit everyday for their restaurant or bar. Nice people, very accomodating . You won't be sorry if you stay here. We certainly will stay here the next time we visit Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed last weekend with my parents who had come from out of state. It took us a while to find the place because unfortunately we used their directions (provided on their web site). I don't know who wrote them, but the directions were awful. We ended up finding the hotel on our own - we're from Albuquerque, so we know the general area. The room is very nice, very clean and beautifully decorated. They give you a $25 dollar credit per room for their bar and we found it wasn't worth it. My husband and parents ordered draft beers which never came. No one ever came back to explain why either. We had to ask when someone else finally brought the food we ordered. They just said the keg wasn't working. No apologies, no coming over sooner, they just ditched us. The food is just ok - don't eat here and think it's dinner. The burgers were very dry and honestly it's just bad bar food - with no beer. No beer? It's a bar - what the heck is wrong with them! After driving around Santa Fe trying to follow their poorly written directions, and then the experience at the bar, they lost their chance with us. Poor service and they didn't give a crap. Never again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is located in the town center, excellent location. Hotel was very clean and comfortable. The morning breakast, was the best I have had on my ten-twenty trips to SantaFe.

I will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.