We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Parking incl.
Ranked #7 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I can't say enough great things about this Inn. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
The location is within a couple of blocks of the main downtown Plaza and shopping area and parking at the hotel is free. The lovely outdoor pool was a wonderful 92 degrees and they say it is open year-round. The room we had was very comfortable and cozy - nicely furnished with unique Southwestern touches. The bathroom was a little small, but still nicely done. The bed was very comfy with nice down duvet. The on-site pub-style restaurant was very reasonably priced. The hot breakfast buffet, which was included in the price, was excellent. One morning, the selections included French toast served with fresh strawberries and another day there was Huevos Rancheros. I would say it was one of the best breakfasts we've had at a hotel. The place has the feel of a really nice boutique hotel, but at a very affordable price. I would highly recommend it if you are travelling to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    578
    299
    60
    13
    9
See reviews for
193
439
48
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hadley rille
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Got a great rate on priceline. Nice local touches in the great rooms. Easy parking. Fabulous location. Nice common areas. Fabulous included free breakfast with many many options. Will return. Love Santa Fe!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Inn of the Governors in Santa Fe for seven nights on our first trip to New Mexico. I find it difficult to rate - is it a very superior motel (many of the rooms had outside corridors) or an above average hotel (as some rooms had interior corridors)? SWe had experience of both types of room. We wwere initially booked into a standard room with exterior corridor. It had two beds, a clean bathroom and plenty of room. However the heating system was not working (it was in other rooms in the same block) and as it was late October, it got cold at night. We complained and the hotel tried to correct the situation, but to no avail. They explained on the second night that they would move us on the following day (the inn being full that evening). They loaned us a small space heater which marginally improved the situation. On the following day they move us to an upgraded room in the hotel part of the complex. A lovely room with a king size bed, even more space, settee and two chairs and a balcony....and it was warm.
Apart from the cold on the first two nights we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return
The staff were very friendly, the serving of sherry at 4.00pm a great idea and the location ideal. The hotel was in walking distance to shops, museums, the old town and several excellant restraurants.
Breakfast was plentiful, with cereal, pastries, fruit and cooked items. The pastries were a little disappointing - some American bakeries cannot make good croissants, and the inn's suppliers fell into this category.
In the evening we ate twice in the hotel's bar/restaurant, the Del Charro Saloon. It was good basic food at very reaonable prices. The local ale was excellant
Overall, an enjoyable experience and given the location, excellant value for money

Room Tip: Choose a room in the hotel part, they are more expensive, but much better than the motel type rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

In just a few words , our entire stay was Wonderful, the Staff from morning , to night, were outstanding, accomodateing , and kind. The small bar on the other side of the hotel is with out adoubt the best deal in town it seems , that every one likes to pop in there , for happy hour, smallplates, and cocktails.Also the Kiva , and small balcony with as much wood as you needed fpr the Kiva makes this place , my home away from it all. Ahhh...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

On a recent trip (11/2-11/6/12) to Santa Fe, my daughter and I stayed at the Inn of the Governors in Santa Fe. It is a great inn/hotel! We were close to shops and the Plaza, and our parking was free (unusual). Each morning we had a complimentary breakfast buffet, which consisted of eggs, bacon, sausages, hashbrowns, toast, fresh strawberries and cantaloup, cereals, coffee and pastries, etc. Great FREE breakfast!

Our room (#104) had two queen beds, large TV, WiFi, thick terry bathrobes, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, coffeemaker (with coffee/etc.), and a small refrigerator. I believe the room had recently been redecorated, and it was very comfortable and cozy. Outside our door was a small garden space with chairs and a small table. Very charming!

All employees were exceptional at this property. We have stayed here before, and we would recommend it to friends. It is a great value!

Room Tip: Room #104 was quiet, accessible from the outside, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at 12:00 for a 4 night stay and were able to check in straight away - even upgraded to a deluxe room. We were allocated room 251 which was a lovely, but had a connecting door to the adjacent room which we do not like (due to past experiences). We asked at reception to change, but they didn't have anything else available and were told the connecting room was empty. It wasn't and was occupied by the same person who checked out of there the next day, so that wasn't exactly correct. In summary, there was noise from the adjoining room AND room 251 is opposite the cleaner's station which is VERY noisy. So after one night we repeated our request for a room change to the same guy on reception (he was very pleasant and helpful) and offered us room 249 - literally the next room but NOT connecting and NOT near the cleaner's station. We were SO pleased to change rooms and our remaining 3 nights were excellent. Very comfortable huge bed and pillows. Del Charro bar / restaurant is a delight. Great food, ambiance, drinks and staff. It was VERY busy on Friday evening – there were even bouncers on the door, the other nights were less busy. We ate and drank here a lot during our stay.
The pool area is nice even though we didn’t go for a dip. The breakfast is an ok help yourself selection, but I don’t like the waiting staff bringing your juice. I guess it so they are “serving” you with something, so expect a tip. This should be changed.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay and were happy with the hotel after the room change. I’d recommend it to anyone wanting to stay a few blocks from the center.

Room Tip: Avoid a connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a week here and loved every minute ! Small and very "Santa Fe" We asked for a kiva and got a balcony too! Breakfasts are exceptional ..and included…Lisa helped us with everything and also where to go and eat…….she is the BEST ! We will definitely come back !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.