We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free hot buffet breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Governor's Inn for an anniversary weekend. The staff was wonderful, and after they've learned that it was our anniversary each and every one of them congratulated us personally throughout our stay. It was this personal attention that made the Governor's Inn stand out from other hotels we stayed in,
We were also upgraded to a deluxe room with a fireplace (which we didn't use. It was summer in Santa Fe, after all....). The rooms are not very big, but adequate and spotlessly clean. Not all rooms have an outside window (some open to the corridor) so make sure you reserve one with a window.
The afternoon sherry service was quaint and fun (and tasty!), the pool smallish but well maintained, and the location can't be beat!
We had one dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was surprisingly good and very reasonably priced.
Wish we didn't have to leave!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    347
    66
    17
    10
See reviews for
219
492
54
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We came back for another visit to Santa Fe, and had to stay at the Inn. As nice as our previous visits. We recommend this place to our friends, and they have never been disappointed, nor have we. They just changed their Margarita recipe in their bar, Del Charro. Go check it out--great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I snagged this hotel on priceline, and wow - what a deal!! I normally stay at an inn and suites place that always vaguely makes me worry about bed bugs . . . what a switch at the Inn of the Governors! Great customer service! Great breakfast! Great CLEAN rooms! AWESOME 5/5!! I can't wait to 'bid' again and I so hope for this hotel. It's great not to worry about parking downtown, too. Please note - those with a bigger vehicle (we drive a full-size pick-up) might have a challenge parking in their small lot. Have faith - you will find a space. This was the only stressful thing about our stay here! Once again, some of the best customer service ever! I rated the value lower, because of the 'regular' price of the room. Hotels on the plaza are SO expensive! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed overnight here and was impressed with the apparent investment in customer service and making sure that their customers are comfortable and equipped for a day out and about in Santa Fe. The room was in good condition and on-site parking was free (which was a nice surprise). The room was equipped with many customized "touches" like custom water bottles (reasonably priced at $1 each) and personalized bathrobes and mugs. I really felt like they were invested in their customers' happiness much more than most hotels. I am sure if I had asked to be moved, they would have done so gladly. Since I was only there for an overnight, I didn't have a big need to change rooms and just let it go.

It was only a 5-minute walk to the main plaza so the locations was very good.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Was only here for a night as part of a road-trip. It was very comfortable and they were able to accommodate my request to move rooms from a room next to a (noisy) ice machine. The breakfast was more than adequate and good value when part of the room price aswell as havinga patio breakfast area in which to enjoy it. Also great that there was a bar and eatery as part of the hotel. Recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid 214 ice machine right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I arrived there and were immediately impressed by the simplicity of the hotel and the room we stayed in. Sherry hour was a pleasant benefit and we had to chance to meet the manager, Sam, who was very friendly and well informed with recommendations of the Sante Fe local scene. We used the pool, which was soothing after long walks around town, and the fireplace in our room during the cool nights. Breakfast was delicious, and the decor of the hotel embodied the southwestern spirit which made us feel like part of the experience of New Mexico. Overall, we would stay there again, as the location was just a block away from most everything and still a nice walk away from Canyon Road. I do not recommend however seeing the mysterious staircase at Loretto chapel- resist this temptation as it will cost you three dollars per person ( adds up if you have a family ) to see a simple staircase supposedly built by angels. Have a shot of espresso instead. Inn of the Governors was a hit. Mat & Megumi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here for almost a week. Our room was perfectly fine, large enough to move around, with a small table and chairs, small, but adequate bathroom, small refrigerator (with water for sale). We were in the newer wing and did not have a balcony or a view, but our A/C worked fine (and it was hot); the room was clean, our bed comfortable, and we were not bothered by noise at all. We had adjoining rooms with our daughter and her family next door, and never heard them either.

We booked on line and received the $25 per day credit to use at the restaurant/bar, so we were able to get a nice bottle of wine each night to enjoy, nearly for free. We enjoyed the free sherry, tea, lemonade, and cookies offered each afternoon; a nice pick-me-up after a long, hot day of sightseeing.

We ate one night in the restaurant, which always seemed to be full of people at night. It is basically bar food, mostly sandwiches, and the service is a bit slow, but very convenient for our family, including a young child, after a long day of travel. The breakfast buffet is fine; nothing special, but containing a sufficient selection of cold items and hot meats, potatoes, and eggs.

The hotel has free parking and its location along a fairly main road offers easy access to the highways outside of the city. It is also very convenient to the downtown plaza, with the many stores, restaurants, and historic structures located there.

There is a very small pool, located right off the lobby which we did not use, but it seemed to be enjoyed by other guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.