We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Love This Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Still Love This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My wife and I were last in Santa Fe 10 years ago and when we decided we wanted to return for a visit we knew we wanted to stay at the Inn of the Governors again. We loved Santa Fe the first time and we loved the hotel, too. Sometimes when you visit a place for the second time we've found that maybe it's not as wonderful as you remember it being, but in the case of Santa Fe and the Inn of the Governors that certainly was not the case. The city is wonderful and the hotel is still just right for us.

We still love everything about the hotel. The location is perfect. It's downtown where we spend a lot of our time and has plenty of free parking for guests so sometimes you can spend days enjoying your visit and never go near your car so you don't have to find a parking space everywhere you go. The staff is extremely well trained and helpful, and will do everything they can to make sure your visit is enjoyable. The restaurant downstairs is not like what you often find at a hotel...stuffy and expensive. Their breakfasts are great and are included in your rate and the bar and restaurant are fine for lunch and even dinner, although the menu is rather limited. Even though there are three rooms where you can sit, the place is usually busy and fun. Good food and service, too.

There are more expensive places to stay in downtown Santa Fe, but for the two of us, Inn of the Governors is our choice no matter what the price. If we come back to Santa Fe for the third time, this hotel will be at the top of our list for our home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    328
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
204
463
52
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel is very well maintained, the service is excellent and the amenities are distinctly "old Santa Fe." The staff is attentive, efficient and friendly. The location is perfect, surrounded by many good small restaurants and several blocks from the Plaza. The traditional fireplace was fully functional--warmed the room quickly and was meticuously cleaned every day. The beds are comfortable and clean. The weather was cold when we visited, but the room was warm, cozy and romantic. The small in-house restaurant-bar serves good food at good prices. The large chain hotels can not even begin to compete with the warm, home-like atmosphere of the Inn of the Governors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights here on a recent trip to Santa Fe. The hotel is located a couple of blocks from the plaza area and is near many good restaurants. The room was decorated in a Southwest style and had a working kiva fireplace (we had fires on two nights - the hotel provides the wood free). The buffet breakfast included with the room was excellent with a variety of fare: eggs, bacon/sausage, shredded potatoes, waffles, fruit, cereal, etc. And the coffee was actually very good. The hotel provides free wi-fi throughout. However, it was intermittent during our stay (we ran our IPAD off of the 3G cell phone network). The desk clerk claimed that the wifi problem was unusual and that it would be fixed soon. We recommend this hotel and will stay there when we return to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is a lovely older hotel in a great location. Rooms, while small by today's standards, are charming and comfortable with traditional native art. If you can get a 2nd floor room with a real Kiva fireplace, it's heaven in fall/winter & a taste of old Santa Fe. The staff is awesome, breakfasts ample & good, & afternoon tea with sherry & their famous biscochito cookies is delightful.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with fireplace if traveling fall/winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Our visit consisted of 5 nights in a deluxe king room with fireplace, balcony and double sinks. There was lots of room to move around. It was beautifully cared for by housekeeping each morning and each afternoon we would return to find the fireplace mysteriously clean and reset with extra firewood for the evening.

The front desk staff was extremely helpful and made dinner reservations, gave directions, and helped us with our requests in a pleasant and timely fashion. The hotel manager Sam is a real professional and has trained the staff extremely well.

The restaurant was a pleasant surprise with very good food. The buffet breakfast was certainly fresh and appealing each day.

We have travelled extensively, usually at 4 and 5 star hotels. The Inn of the Governors proved to be a wonderfully located little "gem". We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms in the main building with fireplaces were outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Okay it is a good location, has a great breakfast in the morning and afternoon sherry. BUT explain to me how they expect you to use the bathroom. We had an upgraded deluxe king room, my husband is six feet and could not shave because the mirror is so low, the ceiling is low, the sink is so low I had trouble washing my face and I am not tall. To top it off the toilet is so close to the tub and sink I almost tripped and broke my neck, and $200 in the off season give me a break. The staff is wonderful and cannot do enough for you but to me if you are going to charge this much money do some remodeling.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Vickinbobyo,

I appreciate your concerns about the bathroom layout and design in our Deluxe rooms. It is unfortunate that this marred your experience. I am, however, very grateful for your comment that our staff will go out of their way to help. Thank you for sharing that.

I have forwarded observation to the ownership team so we may take them into consideration when we perform our next remodel. Perhaps we will find a way to work within the space limitations to design a more user friendly bathroom arrangement.

Sincerely,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
gm@innofthegovernors.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

First the good points: the hotel is centrally located, the (standard) rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is abundant and varied. I had chosen this location because I was traveling with my elderly aunt and father and wanted to be close to the city center. This is what I did not like: the hotel is basically a refurbished motel with a lot of decoration to hide the rather poor structure. The two rooms we stayed in (305 and 306) were extremely noisy (turbine noise coming from the roof at various hours of the day and night, very loud fan noise in the bathroom when you turn on the light (room 306 -- the fan in room 305 was much quieter), loud pipe/water pressure noises coming from neighboring rooms when someone is taking a shower, etc., traffic noise from W. Alameda Ave, conversations from neighboring rooms, etc.) Ear plugs are supplied (I guess other guests have experienced problems) but even with ear plugs you can still hear all the noises!The rooms are comfortable but the "old-style" furniture is rather tired and drawers have stains in them. Water bottles in the room are charged 1 dollar (in most places the water bottles are usually free at least for the first night). For breakfast, you get coupons, which does not seem appropriate for a hotel of this standing, especially given the price range. There should be a hostess at the breakfast room's entrance who should check off your name (I've traveled to 100 countries and this is the way it's usually done in more luxurious establishments). The breakfast room is windowless, which gives it a confined feeling. It is more appropriate to say that the breakfast is included in the price of the room rather than saying it's "complimentary". The breakfast is buffet style but water or juice is brought to you by a waiter/waitress who expects a tip (there is a "tip" line on the coupon) -- this was more annoying than an actual expense (the juices should be available at the buffet) -- you get the feeling the "complimentary" buffet is actually not that "complimentary". One morning, there was a large group at breakfast and most of the fruit was gone and only part of it had been replenished by the time we were done eating. We had pre-paid one of the rooms and the other room was booked via booking.com. When we checked in, we were asked to pay for the entire 5-night stay of the unpaid room in advance, which I thought was odd. Due to a temporary problem with my credit card, the staff were kind enough to pre-authorize another credit card and said we could pay at the end of the stay (which is what we did). The hotel restaurant is very casual and rather disappointing. The choice of food is limited and the service was not very friendly. There are several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. A good choice for a light meal is the San Francisco Bar and Grill (it was recommended by the receptionist). The reception staff were friendly but the cleaning room staff only say hello if you say hello first (we were there for 5 nights and it was always the case). Rooms can sometimes be cleaned as late as 4pm so if you want your room cleaned sooner you must let the cleaning staff know in advance. Rooms are supplied with coffee but no tea. Finally, when we checked out after 5 nights, the receptionist didn't even ask us if we had a good stay, etc. I don't think I would stay here again because of the noise and i'm not sure the price of the rooms is really worth what you get. Our rooms overlooked a side street and a building where you could see air conditioning units, etc. but we could see nice sunsets on the horizon We saw one room that had a window overlooking the corridor (no view) and it was located next to a large ice machine -- a room you definitely do not want to be in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear MichelParis,

Thank you for writing such a comprehensive and thoughtful review. Clearly you had a a varied experience with the Inn of the Governors. As I mentioned in a previous response, we take ideas for improvement, however much we don't like hearing them, to heart. We genuinely strive to improve all guests experiences. Because of that, our team is taking a look at many of the concerns you have expressed so we may ascertain any ways to improve any item we may control.

Again, I appreciate the thorough review. Your observations about the noise, breakfast experience, restaurant, and others, only help us in our efforts to improve.

Sincerely,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
gm@innofthegovernors.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.