We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; friendly, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Pool Upgrades
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Griffith, IN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location; friendly, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here for the 4 nights of our Santa Fe location. The breakfast buffet was varied and tasty with a mix of everyday and New Mexico offerings. The room was clean and well-maintained. Staff were friendly and attentive to ours needs. The Inn's location allowed us to walk to Canyon Road, the Plaza, the Railyard and a wide variety of shops and restaurants. A repeat stay is a definite possibility.

Room Tip: There is a variety of rooms in the Inn. Read the descriptions carefully to get the type you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    339
    64
    15
    10
See reviews for
211
476
54
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Inn of the Governors stands our among its many competitors due to the exemplary standards of service that the manager, Sam Gerberding, has set for his staff. He personally serves at the afternoon tea and sherry adding to the warm and friendly atmosphere of the hotel. Beautifully clean and maintained for such a large hotel it is a great place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here for just one night on our way back home, and would definitely stay again. The hotel is incredibly close to the Plaza and is very well-maintained. Our room was tiny (we stayed in the most basic room) and was a bit of a pinch for a family of 4. If I stayed again, I would upgrade to a larger room, but we loved the hotel. It was surprisingly quiet as well! We did not get to try the breakfast (had to head to Pasqual's...) but we did eat dinner in the bar, and it was pretty decent. For the price, it was excellent. Overall we had a great stay.

Room Tip: I would suggest upgrading to a deluxe room if you want more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We visited Inn of the Governors in early April 2012, during snowy weather. The room was an excellent example of Southwestern decor, and included a fireplace and firewood that was just what we needed, especially given the snow. The price was very competitive and included a superb breakfast buffet. The location was very close to the sights and the main square. The external appearance was understated, but that didn't affect our appreciation of this hotel. I've paid three times as much at special resorts and hotels, and the only difference is the exterior. This place is definitely worth another stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

As mentioned, the hotel is quaint and close to downtown. It basically looks/feels like a Best Western that someone redecorated. Price was high, I thought, but we took it anyway for the location. We turned the heat on when we left for dinner, when we returned at 11:30 it was blowing cold air. We slept all night and woke up to no heat. It was chilly! The desk did give us $20 off (in my opinion, not enough), but the fact remains it felt like we were camping. Then we left for Taos the next day. Went to use my debit card and it was declined. Apparently, the Inn put a $1600 preauth on my card for a one night stay. Found this quite ridiculous. When I called to complain, I was not dealt with very professionally and transferred to the General Manager's voicemail. Who still has yet to call me back. The breakfast was good!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the corner rooms on the street. A tad noisy if you're going to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for taking to write a review about the Inn. Though your stay turned sour, it is through an open, honest dialogue that our Inn can continually improve. I am also grateful that you left your contact information for me so I was able to contact you the Saturday after your stay to respond to your concerns. Since then, we have reviewed, with our Front Desk staff, the procedures that affect guests credit card authorizations to insure this would not happened again.
It is regrettable that your heat did not work as well. As it turns out, a specific part had failed in your unit. We have since repaired that specific heater unit. Nonetheless, it does not change that your comfort was affected. I apologize for that, as well as the unnecessary authorization on your credit card.
Please contact me directly the next time you are in Santa Fe. I would love to personally assist you with your reservation to make sure these issues do not happen again.

Sincerely,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
gm@innofthegovernors.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this adorable Inn! The rooms are a decent size for downtown Santa Fe and are decorated in traditional Southwest style (without being cheesy). If you're around between 4 and 5pm you must try the Tea & Sherry the Inn holds in their lobby. Also, the full breakfast that is offered is outstanding- great variety for being included in the price.

The Inn is right at the edge of downtown, so there are several restaurants in walking distance. The one teeny, tiny negative is the amount/size of parking at the Inn. The spots are very small and limited.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROOKLYN
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this lovely hotel in March. The location is perfect, close to the plaza and convenient to the roads to get out of town for site-seeing. The beds were very comfortable. We recommend the deluxe room with fireplace which gave a cozy experience each evening. The staff are helpful and gracious. The breakfast is outstanding, with variety and excellent quality. We also enjoyed the meal coupons to Del Charro (the hotel website special offers a credit at the restaurant) and found it to be a pleasant place with decent food and drinks that were reasonably priced. With the breakfast and evening meal and free parking, we only needed to purchase lunch, making this a very affordable stay. There is an outdoor heated pool that to my surprise was very comfortable to use even in chilly evenings. The afternoon tea is lovely. Overall, we had a terrific stay and would definitely recommend the inn to anyone who wants an unusual and comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, JackRabbit Systems, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.