We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Comfort, Service, and Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Location, Comfort, Service, and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This is a hidden gem. It's not as showy as some of the much higher-priced hotels near the Plaza, but the service and comfort were on par with just about any there-- at an excellent value.

Start with the location: It's two blocks from the Plaza and thus is convenient to all the shops, restaurants, museums, etc., without the noise/distraction from the heavy traffic on the Plaza. That said, West Alameda Street can get busy at times. We stayed in one of the rooms facing Ortiz St, and it was sufficiently quiet for a downtown hotel.

The room was decorated smartly, not over-decorated, with good drawer and closet space (we were there a few days so unpacking made sense). It also looked like the photographs, which isn't alwasy the case. The beds, bedding, and towels were in good condition, and the bathroom fine, as were the toiletries.

The restaurant was a nice plus. The breakfast was good, with lots of options and attentive service. We also had dinner there one night -- we know Santa Fe well, and thus know many options, and we were more than happy with the hotel restaurant.

The hotel and restaurant staff was very helpful. Parking was a little tight but we always found a spot in the fenced lot, and as mentioned, staying here means not having to re-park if you visit the Plaza area.

The overall ambience among both staff and guests was "casually friendly." I felt very much at home, and would stay here again if I return to Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Our "exterior" room facing Ortiz St, well away from West Alameda, was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    322
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
202
459
51
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The Inn of the Governors is such a change from the usual American hotel. Although the rooms are not that big, they are pleasant well appointed and everything works. What makes the hotel special is the Spanish colonial atmosphere, the log fires (we were late in the year) and the genuinely warm welcome. Complimentary tea, coffee and sherry on arrival an excellent breakfast, a willingness to mention other restaurants (despite theirs being so good), free parking, plenty of flowers and such nice staff. On top of this Santa Fe is a wonderful city. Go there!

Room Tip: Some rooms open onto a balcony with hanging baskets in front of a lovely view of Santa Fe. The ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

great local decor, clean crisp linens, good breakfast and parking included.

Would stay again even though the rate and the internet advertising seemed a bit of a come on. Web site says call for best dollar value. When I called I was given rate $10 better than internet booking price without hesitation. Nice, I thought. And, the web site says if you book by calling you will get $25 day food/drink credit. But, found when I arrived booking was at higher internet price. When I questioned, was told could not get food credit unless I paid the higher price, not mentioned when making reservation. Decided against higher cost since staying several days, did not want to feel tied to their bar and food. But did find the margarita's good and very generous when we tried them.

Could not get cell phone connection in room, somewhat inconvenient. Though this was a bit of a problem while traveling throughout this region.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on upper level might get better cell coverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We have stayed at this Inn several times and services are consistently provided, Overall a great place to stay

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Enjoyed four days in early November 2011 and would definitely recommend the place. Service was great, rooms clean and fresh with nice comfortable furniture. Breakfast was included and nicely prepared with great service. Not a gourmet breakfast, but filling with many choices.

Pool is outdoor, but heated. Active bar and dining area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at Inn of the Governors mid-October. We got a $25 coupon upon checking in, which we used each evening in the bar/restaurant. It was a nice place to relax after a day of sightseeing. The breakfast each morning was great. We normally will only eat breakfast at our hotel one day, then find someplace in town. This breakfast was so good that we ate there every morning, saving additional money. So considering the $25 coupon and not paying for breakfast, we figured the actual cost of the room was $50-$55 less a day.

Our only had two complaints; 1) one night the bar got so noisy below us that it woke us up at 11:00 p.m. The next day we mentioned it to the front desk and they were more than happy to credit our account $100 and move us to a suite for our last night. We've stayed in 5 star hotels in Vegas that were not this accommodating. 2) We asked for a wake up call at 5:00 a.m in order to make our flight and we never got a call and upon checking out the front desk did not have our room on the call list. Luckily for us we were already awake, but it could have been horrible. When the front desk learned about this they were very apologetic and said that it would be discussed with the manager.

Overall a great place to stay in downtown Santa Fe and the hotel staff is a-one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Inn of the Governors is a wonderful hotel. Front desk workers were all helpful. They have 2 computers in the lobby and one in the hall we were on so that people who do not carry a laptop with them can use computers anytime. Very close to the plaza - easy to walk anywhere. Great breakfasts. Bar/restaurant is very popular at night with both tourists and locals. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: One side with balconies had a good view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.